<< All News Sunday, February 11, 2024 - 09:20am

BISMARCK, N.D. – The North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) will induct three new members into the North Dakota Transportation Hall of Honor during a ceremony at the annual North Dakota Transportation Conference March 5 at the Bismarck Event Center.

Inductees include former NDDOT Director Grant Levi, President of Industrial Builders Inc. Paul Diederich, and highway safety trailblazer Anna Keedy.

The Transportation Hall of Honor was created to recognize those who have had a major role and made a lasting contribution to the development of the highway system on the state, county, or local level. It also honors those who participate in highway safety programs or help promote the vital function roadways provide the state and its citizens.

“The incredible advancement of the transportation industry is only because of the dedication and remarkable work of individuals like our award winners,” said NDDOT Director Ron Henke. “We’re honored to welcome them into the Transportation Hall of Honor.”

Levi worked more than 37 years improving the state highway system at the NDDOT. As director, he guided the state's transportation agency through historic infrastructure investments to help support the energy and agriculture industries.

Diederich began working in the contracting industry in 1972. Throughout his career he has been an advocate of public policy to advance transportation and infrastructure. He has also been instrumental in the development of several key transportation projects in North Dakota.

Keedy, receiving the award posthumously, was a trailblazer in safety education. Working for the Minot Public School system in the 1920s, she developed a unique curriculum to promote and educate students on highway safety. There she was presented with a national award from the Highway Education Board.

The Hall of Honor was established in 1974 and currently has 53 members.

For more information on this program and to see a list of previous Transportation Hall of Honor inductees visit www.dot.nd.gov/transportation-hall-honor. New members will be inducted into the Transportation Hall of Honor at an event being held at the North Dakota Transportation Conference on Wednesday, March 5, 4:30 p.m. at the Bismarck Event Center. Register for the full conference at www.dot.nd.gov/ndtranspoconference. Media members who would like to attend should reach out to NDDOT Communications to RSVP.

<< All News