North Dakota’s transportation system is divided into eight districts across the state with team members located at district offices and section shops. Each district is responsible for managing and maintaining state and federal highways in their district. District functions include:

  • Monitoring the conditions of the bridges and highways
  • Maintaining state roadways
  • Snow and ice control activities
  • Rest area/visitor center maintenance
  • Equipment and vehicle maintenance
  • Traffic engineering
  • Roadside advertising
  • Utility permits
  • Highway sign maintenance

Districts also work in partnership with cities and counties to work together on transportation issues. 

Group photo of Minot District Office employees in front of their buildiing.

District Contact Information

District Contact Information
Accordion Section Title

218 Airport Road
Bismarck, ND 58504-6003
Phone: 701-328-6950

Accordion Section Title
Devils Lake

316 Sixth Street SE
Devils Lake, ND 58301-3628
Phone: 701-665-5100

Accordion Section Title

1700 Third Avenue West, Suite 101
Dickinson, ND 58601-3009
Phone: 701-227-6500
Fax: 701-227-6505

Accordion Section Title

503 38th Street South
Fargo, ND 58103-1198
Phone: 701-239-8900
Fax: 701-239-8915

Accordion Section Title
Grand Forks

1951 N Washington St
Grand Forks, ND 58203-1420
Phone: 701-787-6500
Fax: 701-787-6515

Accordion Section Title

1305 Highway 2 Bypass East
Minot, ND 58701-7922
Phone: 701-857-6925
Fax: 701-837-7632

Accordion Section Title
Valley City

1524 Eighth Avenue SW
Valley City, ND 58072-4200
Phone: 701-845-8800

Accordion Section Title

605 Dakota Parkway West
Williston, ND 58801-4282
Phone: 701-774-2700
Fax: 701-774-2704