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Advertising

NDDOT District Office Addresses
Bismarck District Office 
ND Department of Transportation 
218 Airport Road 
Bismarck, ND 58504-6003

Valley City District Office 
ND Department of Transportation 
1524 Eighth Avenue SW 
Valley City, ND 58072-4200

Devils Lake District Office 
ND Department of Transportation 
316 Sixth Street South 
Devils Lake, ND 58301-0817

Minot District Office 
ND Department of Transportation 
1305 Hwy. 2 Bypass East 
Minot, ND 58702-1396

Dickinson District Office 
ND Department of Transportation 
1700 Third Ave. West, Ste. 101 
Dickinson, ND 58601-3009

Grand Forks District Office 
ND Department of Transportation 
1951 North Washington 
P.O. Box 13077 
Grand Forks, ND 58208-3077

Williston District Office 
ND Department of Transportation 
605 Dakota Parkway West 
P.O. Box 698 
Williston, ND 58802-0698

Fargo District Office 
ND Department of Transportation 
503 38th Street South 
Fargo, ND 58103-1198

District Map
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ND Department of Transportation 
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Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0700
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What Does State Law Say?
Signs may not be erected anywhere within or ex-
tending over state highway right-of-way. A state 
outdoor advertising permit is required for all com-
mercial off-premise signs that can be seen from 
the edge of the right-of-way of an Interstate high-
way or a federal-aid primary route. In general, an 
off-premise sign is one that advertises a business, 
activity, service, goods sold, stored, produced, or 
mined, or the name of an enterprise that is lo-
cated on property other than where the advertis-
ing sign itself is located. To be eligible for a state 
permit, the location proposed for an off-premise 
sign must be comprehensively zoned either for 
commercial or industrial use. (See Example 1)
If the desired location is unzoned, but is within 
600 feet of on-going, unzoned commercial or 
industrial business activity adjacent to the high-
way, the location may qualify for a state permit as 
an unzoned commercial or industrial area, subject 
to certain restrictions.  In a qualifying unzoned 
commercial or industrial location, an off-premise 
sign may be placed within 600 feet in either direc-
tion of the unzoned business, on either side of 
the highway.  Measurements begin from the used 
portion of the business, including parking and 
storage areas. (See Example 2)
Cities that use their extra territorial zoning juris-
diction to zone beyond corporate limits must use 
comprehensive zoning and not simply spot-zone 
a location next to the highway for the sole pur-
pose of allowing off-premise advertising signs. 
The area must be comprehensively zoned for 
commercial or industrial activities; not just for the 
purpose of allowing outdoor advertising signs.
In addition to zoning, there are minimum spacing 
requirements between signs:

Example 1: Zoned Commercial or Industrial

Example 2: Unzoned Commercial or Industrial

Size limitations and special legal provisions may 
also apply, depending upon the sign category 
(e.g. official, directional, off-premise, farm di-
rectional, or on-premise).  The addition of new 
off-premise advertising signs along a highway 
designated as a Scenic Byway is also specifically 
prohibited.  If there are questions, please contact 
NDDOT. 
With the exception of off-premise commercial 
advertising signs, all other signs are exempt from 
the permit, permit fee, and strict zoning require-
ments.
This is only a basic overview of rules for outdoor 
advertising in North Dakota. Signs may not be 
erected or maintained unless state billboard laws 
are followed; these can be explained further by 
the North Dakota Department of Transportation 
(NDDOT).

How Do I Get a Permit for a 
Commercial Advertising Sign?
If you have an existing sign or plan to erect one, 
here’s what you need to do.
1.	 Contact the NDDOT district office. They can 

determine if the location you want is legally 
permitable. If it is,  you’ll be given a permit 
application.

2.	 Contact the landowner to get a verbal or 

Location		           Spacing of Signs
Interstate Highways. . . . . . . . . . . . . .               	At least 500 feet apart

Federal and Primary Highways 
(outside incorporated city limits). . .    	At least 300 feet apart

Federal and Primary Highways 
(inside incorporated city limits). . . .     	At least 100 feet apart

written lease. The landowner can simply sign 
the permit application or write a simple lease 
agreement:

	 (name of person erecting sign) has the right to 
erect a sign on my land at        (location)          .

	    (landowner’s signature)           (date signed)  
3.	 Complete the permit application and return 

it to the district office with a one-time permit 
fee of $50 for the life of the sign. (See reverse 
side for district office addresses.)

	 NOTE: Zoning status must be completed and 
signed by proper zoning authority.

4.	 The district office will mail permit and fee re-
ceipt to sign owner after approval is made.

5.	 Contact your local city or county officials to 
see if they have any regulations in regards to 
erecting your sign.

6.	 The department will accept a conditional 
second party permit and will retain the permit 
until such time a permitted sign is installed or 
the initial permit installation period expires. 
Upon expiration of the initial one-year time 
period, if no sign is installed under the initial 
sign permit, the first party will be notified of 
the revocation of the sign permit, and the 
second party will be notified of the accep-
tance of the conditional sign permit pending 
the submission of the sign permit fee. Should 
the first party install the sign in accordance to 
the initial permit and within the required time 
frame, the second party conditional permit will 
be returned with notification of the reasoning 
i.e. sign spacing etc.


