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The Bismarck Central Office will review the title work. Once the review process is complete, the title will 
be mailed. 

  
If a North Dakota resident owns a vehicle that is more than 40 years old for which they are unable to obtain a 
proper certificate of title, MCO or signed bill of sale, the Motor Vehicle Division will use the following forms 
and procedures to determine ownership of a vehicle and issue a certificate of title. All applicants applying for 
a title through this process must be North Dakota residents. 

1) Complete an NMVTIS Vehicle History Check to verify no certificate of title or ownership record exists 
in this database. 

a. An NMVTIS Vehicle History Check may be purchased through an approved provider 
at www.vehiclehistory.gov 

 
b. If a North Dakota record exists and information to obtain a duplicate title or title transfer is needed, a 

Request for Vehicle Information form SFN 51269 will need to be filled out, with the number eleven 
exception initialed, and submitted with payment of the $3 fee. The Administrative Rules Chapter 37- 
12-04-01(4) is the law that allows the release of this information. This should be notated on the 
required document with detailed explanation outlining the qualifications for access under this exception 
that must be attached to the SFN 51269 form. 

2) Upon receipt of the following, North Dakota Motor Vehicle will start the title process. All vehicles will be 
reviewed. A record check of all states will be conducted to verify that no certificate of title or ownership 
record exists, as well as a check of the National Crime Information Center, before issuing a North Dakota 
Certificate of Title. 

 
All forms must be completed in full, printed or typed, with legible information and signed as 
indicated. Fillable PDF forms are available online at dot.nd.gov under Forms. 

a. Results of the NMVTIS Vehicle History Check. 
 

b. Photo of the VIN plate. 
 

c. SFN 62624 Affidavit of Ownership 
 

i. You must be detailed in your explanation regarding how you came into possession of this vehicle 
and why you are unable to obtain a title, MCO or bill of sale. 

d. SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Vehicle. 
 

e. $5 title fee, $1.50 Abandoned Vehicle Disposal Fee and 5% Motor Vehicle Excise Tax. 

i. Tax is calculated based on the current Fair Market Value of the Vehicle. Dealer appraisal may be 
requested. 

 
 
 

http://www.vehiclehistory.gov/
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn51269.pdf
https://www.legis.nd.gov/information/acdata/pdf/37-12-04.pdf
https://www.legis.nd.gov/information/acdata/pdf/37-12-04.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/
http://www.dot.nd.gov/dotnet2/view/forms.aspx?category=yes%23title&registration
https://dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn62624.pdf
https://dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn62624.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
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f. Registration Fees. 

g. SFN 60689 Statement of Fact is required if the vehicle will not be registered. 
 

ii. A vehicle inspection utilizing SFN 2486 Certificate of Vehicle Inspection may be required prior 
to registration if the vehicle is rebuilt, modified, antique or homemade. 

 
i. Current photos of the front, side, and rear of the vehicle. 

j. Proof of North Dakota residency is required for all owners. 
 

i. All individuals must provide a North Dakota Driver’s License/State ID number. 

ii. Businesses must provide a current North Dakota Secretary of State filing indicating the State of 
Origin as North Dakota, which can be obtained directly from the Secretary of State’s 
website. 

 
k. Any other information required by the department per NDCC 39-05-05 and 39-05-20. 

https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60689.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02486.pdf
https://firststop.sos.nd.gov/search/business
https://firststop.sos.nd.gov/search/business

