2023-2025

Noncommercial Driver License Manual Class D



Parent, if your child is under the age of 18, please read pages 1 through 6 and pages 40 through 45.

Greetings from the Office of the Governor!

It's my privilege to welcome you as a North Dakota driver. Whether you are operating a car, truck, motorcycle or RV, or enjoying our communities as a bicyclist or pedestrian, everyone who uses our roads shares a responsibility to make transportation safe and enjoyable. This booklet contains important information outlining the state's rules and regulations for keeping you and other drivers safe on North Dakota's roadways.

Please review this information and make the personal commitment to adhere to the rules of the road and to be aware of new laws that affect the motoring public, including distracted driving laws. We want to help you stay safe – as a driver and valued community member.

Sincerely,

Governor

Introduction:

The privilege of driving a motor vehicle in the state of North Dakota must first be earned. This manual will help you earn and keep this privilege.

The manual is designed as a basic reference for all drivers, and should be used to prepare for the written driver's examination. It does not include some of the information needed to qualify for driving passenger buses, school buses, motorcycles, and heavy trucks. Such additional information is contained in separate manuals available at all driver license offices.

This manual will introduce you to North Dakota traffic laws, rules of the road, and other safe driving practices. You owe it to yourself to develop all the skills and knowledge needed to become a safe driver.

Driver License Division North Dakota Department of Transportation 608 East Boulevard Avenue Bismarck, ND 58505-0750



www.dot.nd.gov

TABLE OF CONTENTS

| YOUR OPERATOR'S LICENSE | 2 |
|----------------------------------------------|------|
| SIGNS, SIGNALS, AND ROAD MARKINGS | 9 |
| RULES OF THE ROAD | . 19 |
| DRIVING SKILLS AND EMERGENCY SITUATIONS | . 27 |
| DRINKING, DRUGS, AND DRIVING | . 35 |
| PEDESTRIAN TRAFFIC AND RECREATIONAL VEHICLES | . 37 |
| PARENT/GUARDIAN DRIVER COACHING TIPS | . 40 |
| SUPERVISED DRIVING LOG | . 45 |

North Dakota Driver License and Testing Locations

To obtain a North Dakota operator's license, you must visit one of the Driver License offices, or you may take your knowledge test immediately at <u>nd.knowtodrive.com</u>. An appointment is required. Please visit our website to book an appointment or obtain appointment information at <u>dot.nd.gov</u>.

Please note: You will receive a **failed** test score if you leave the testing area while your test is in progress.

The knowledge test fee is \$5. The road test fee is \$5. The fee for a Class D permit/license is \$15. The fee for a duplicate Class D permit/license is \$8.

Lunch Hour Schedule: All sites closed from 12:00-1:00 p.m. except Bismarck, Minot, Grand Forks, and Fargo.

Holiday Schedule: Offices are closed on the following holidays:

New Years Day, January 1 - Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, the third Monday in January Presidents' Day, third Monday in February Good Friday, the Friday preceding Easter Sunday Memorial Day, the last Monday in May - Independence Day, July 4 Labor Day, the first Monday in September - Veteran's Day, November 11 Thanksgiving Day, the fourth Thursday in November Christmas Eve, December 24 (offices close at noon) Christmas Day, December 25

If January 1st, July 4th, November 11th, or December 25th fall on a Sunday, the following Monday shall be the holiday. If these holidays fall on a Saturday, the preceding Friday is the holiday.

Take your Driver License Knowledge Test ATHOME

using the KnswTo DRIVE online testing program



Transportation

Get started at ND.KnowToDrive.com



Driver License Offices

For current office locations and hours, go to <u>www.dot.nd.gov</u>. Click on Driver.

For **road test appointments** visit our website at <u>www.dot.nd.gov</u> or dial toll-free at 1-855-633-6835.

For online knowledge testing visit <u>nd.knowtodrive.com</u>.

TTY users may call: Relay North Dakota at 711. For services that can be done online, go to <u>www.dot.nd.gov</u>, click on Driver.

General Information

All drivers license offices are ADA accessible.

Language interpretation for general business is provided for people with limited English proficiency (LEP).

Additionally, the Request For Reasonable Accommodations (SFN 60135) can be accessed at the following NDDOT website location: <u>http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60135.pdf</u>

The noncommercial (Class D) knowledge test is offered in English, Arabic, Spanish, Somali, Russian, Vietnamese, Turkish, Swahili, Nepali, Serbo-Croatian, French, Pashto, Dari and Chinese. Automated American Sign Language and Audio testing is available at the Fargo, Jamestown, Bismarck, Dickinson, Williston, Minot, Devils Lake, and Grand Forks driver license offices.

The motorcycle (Class M) knowledge test is offered in English and Spanish. Automated American Sign Language and Audio testing is available at the Fargo, Jamestown, Bismarck, Dickinson, Williston, Minot, Devils Lake, and Grand Forks driver license offices. The commercial (CDL) knowledge tests are offered in English only. Audio testing is available at the Fargo, Jamestown, Bismarck, Dickinson, Williston, Minot, Devils Lake, and Grand Forks driver license offices.

CHECK LIST FOR TESTING

You will not be allowed to test without proper identification.

1. Knowledge test items:

- Proof of legal presence, current name and date of birth. See list of acceptable forms of identification on page 5.
- Proof of North Dakota resident address.
 See list of acceptable documents on page 6.
- As authorized by NDCC 39-06-07 and NDCC 39-06-03.1, all applications for permit, license, or identification card must contain the **social security number** of the applicant.
- All applicants less than 18 years of age must have a parent, legal guardian, or designated person sign approval and sponsorship on the application. Legal guardian must present guardianship papers.
- Arrive no later than one hour prior to noon, if testing at an office that closes for lunch, and no later than one hour prior to closing. You may not be allowed to test otherwise.
- □ Children, pets (except medical alert/ service animals), backpacks, purses, paper, pen, pencil, markers, cell phones, notebooks and any other electronic devices are not allowed in the knowledge testing area.

IMPORTANT: You will receive a failed test score if you bring any of these items into the testing area. You are responsible for securing these items in a safe place prior to testing. You will also receive a failed test score if you leave the knowledge testing area before your test is completed.

2. Road Test Items:

- □ Valid North Dakota operator's permit.
- □ Applicants less than 16 years of age are required to present a driver's education *Certificate of Training*.
- □ See page 4, **Road Test Waiver** details. Applies to ages 15 and older.
- □ Applicants under 16 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
- Applicant must provide current vehicle registration for vehicle used during road test.
- Applicant must provide current proof of insurance for vehicle used during road test.
- □ All road test vehicles must pass an equipment inspection prior to road test.
- □ Arrive early for your appointment to ensure everything is in order for your scheduled test.
- Pets (except medical alert/service animals), passengers, and electronic devices such as cell phones, ipods, etc., will not be allowed in the vehicle during the road test.

Self-parking vehicles are not allowed. The applicant must test in a different vehicle or deactivate the self-parking feature.

VEHICLE INSPECTION

Part of your responsibility as a driver is to keep your vehicle in safe running condition. You must allow driver examiner personnel to inspect your vehicle.

Before you take your road test, your vehicle will be inspected. In order to pass inspection, your vehicle must be currently registered and have the following equipment in proper working order:

- Brakes—for stopping and parking.
- Headlights—with high and low beams.

- Brake lights and taillights.
- Turn signals.
- A leak-free exhaust system, including a muffler.
- Doors function from inside and outside of vehicle
- A horn clearly audible for 200 feet.
- Mirrors—one or more so that you can see the road 200 feet behind you.
- Seat belts.
- A windshield and windows—all made of safety glass. If tinted, a light transmittance of 70 percent for the windshield and at least 50 percent for other windows is required.
- Windshield wipers.

NOTE: The road test will not be administered if the above items or any other factors lend themselves to an unsafe vehicle or unsafe working environment.

YOUR OPERATOR'S LICENSE

Any person other than a nonresident student, a tourist, or a nonresident member of the Armed Forces who has lived in this state for 90 consecutive days, shall be deemed a resident of North Dakota for the purpose of driver licensing. You may operate a Class D or M vehicle with an operator's license from another state for a period of 60 days after you become a resident of North Dakota. Then you are required to take the necessary tests to obtain a North Dakota operator's license. Class A, B, or C vehicle operators have 30 days in which to acquire a North Dakota Commercial Driver License. Proof of North Dakota resident address is required.

By knowing and understanding the rules of the road, and by demonstrating your ability to operate your vehicle, you will earn the privilege of driving in North Dakota.

Except for the exemptions listed, all North Dakota residents must have a valid North Dakota operator's license or permit in order to drive in North Dakota. For your operator's license or permit to be valid, it must be signed by you. You must have this license or permit in your possession every time you drive.

EXEMPTIONS

- 1. Non-residents at least 16 years of age who have in their possession valid licenses from their home state or country, including members of the Armed Forces while stationed in North Dakota. A non-resident must be at least 16 years of age to drive in North Dakota.
- 2. Employees of the United States government or North Dakota National Guard while operating a government vehicle on official business.
- 3. North Dakota residents on active duty in the Armed Forces outside North Dakota. If these people held a valid operator's license when they left the state, it will remain valid until 30 days after discharge or separation from the service.

PEOPLE WHO CANNOT GET A LICENSE

- 1. Those under 16 years of age unless eligible for a restricted license.
- 2. People whose licenses are revoked or suspended in this or any other state.
- Applicants who have been determined to be addicted to drugs or alcohol, or those considered to be a hazard to public safety on our roadways because of mental or physical disability.
- 4. Persons who have a history of epilepsy, blackouts, seizures, fainting spells, or other lapse of consciousness.

Exception to #4: The person in question has had no seizures for at least six consecutive months, and is willing to submit to the required medical examination.

PERMITS

Instruction Permits allow you to legally practice driving. Any time you operate with an instruction permit, a person with a valid license for the class of vehicle being driven, who is at least 18 years of age and has had at least three years of driving experience, must ride in the seat beside you. An individual other than the supervising driver and the permit holder may not be in the front seat unless the vehicle has only a front seat, in which case, the supervising driver must be seated next to the permit holder.

To receive a permit you must first pass the knowledge examination at a Driver License office or at nd.knowtodrive.com and the visual screen test. All applicants must be at least 14 years of age. Applicants under 18 years of age must have parent or legal guardian approval and sponsorship. The sponsorship must be signed by the father, mother, or legal guardian (guardianship papers required). If the father, mother, or legal guardian is unable to appear, they may designate, through a notarized document, an individual temporarily authorized to sign; financial liability remains with the father, mother, or legal guardian. If there is no living parent or legal guardian, another adult swearing responsibility for the minor may sign the sponsorship.

Individuals who are 14 or 15 years old must hold the instruction permit for 12 months or to the age of 16, whichever comes first, but no less than six months, prior to completing the road test or waiving the road test for an operator's license.

Individuals who are 16 or 17 must hold the instruction permit for six months or to the age of 18, whichever comes first, prior to completing the road test or waiving the road test for an operator's license.

Individuals under 16 must complete a minimum of 50 hours of supervised practice driving in variable conditions. Your parent/legal guardian must then accompany you to the test site on the day of your road test and sign that you have completed this requirement.

NOTE: This is in addition to the formal driver's education requirement.

Road Test Waiver

The Class D road test may be waived by presenting a North Dakota Driving School *Certificate of Course Completion* certifying you have completed a minimum of 30 hours of classroom driver training and a minimum of six hours of actual behind the wheel driver training that has been approved for waiver purposes by the director of the North Dakota Department of Transportation.

The Class D road test may also be waived by presenting a North Dakota Department of Public Instruction *Student Completion Certificate* certifying you have completed a minimum of 30 hours of classroom driver training and a minimum of six hours of actual behind the wheel driver training that has been approved for waiver purposes by the director of the North Dakota Department of Transportation.

It is a two-point penalty on your driving record for driving in violation of the conditions of an instruction permit.

Additional penalties and statutory fees are listed in the North Dakota Century Code (NDCC), Chapter 39-06.1 Disposition of Traffic Offenses.

A student enrolled in the high school driver education program may operate the driver education vehicle without an operator's license or permit while under the supervision of a certified operator training instructor, if the school district sponsoring the training program has appropriate insurance coverage for the student operator. To be eligible for behind-the-wheel training, an applicant must be at least 14 years of age.

Motorcycle: If you are 14 or 15 years old, you may receive a license to operate a motorcycle by successfully completing an approved motorcycle safety course and passing the motorcycle knowledge test. You must present a motorcycle safety course completion certificate to obtain a license.

Motorized Bicycle Permits: To operate a motorized bicycle, you must be at least 14 years of age or older and have in your immediate possession a valid operator's license, motorized bicycle permit, temporary permit, instruction permit, or motorcycle permit.

APPLYING FOR A LICENSE OR PERMIT

Applications for an operator's license or permit are made with the Driver License Division of the Department of Transportation.

1. PROOF OF IDENTIFICATION IS REQUIRED.

All applicants must present proof of current name, date of birth, and legal presence in the United States. **Acceptable forms of identification** are:

- U.S. Birth Certificate (state certified; Government issued)
- U.S. Territory Birth Certificate (certified by issuing authority)
- Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or valid, unexpired U.S. passport card
- Report of Birth Abroad issued by the U.S. Department of State
- Certificate of Naturalization
- Certificate of Citizenship
- Valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card
- Valid, unexpired Employment Authorization Card (Temporary Status)
- Valid, unexpired Foreign Passport with I-94 (Temporary Status)
- Valid I-94 Card Stamped Refugee, Parole, or Asylee (Temporary Status)

No photocopies. No hospital certificates. All documents must be original or certified copies only.

If your current name is different than the name on your identity document, you will need to bring additional proof of your legal name. Acceptable documents for **proof of name change** are a certified marriage certificate, a certified adoption document, or a certified court order authorizing a name change (*no photocopies, court seal required*).

You will not be allowed to test or obtain a North Dakota permit, license, or non- driver identification card without proper identification. Applicants born in North Dakota may obtain a copy of their certified birth certificate by contacting Vital Records at the North Dakota Department of Health (visit <u>www.ndhealth.gov/</u> <u>vital</u> for details).

2. PROOF OF SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

As authorized by NDCC 39-06-07 and 39-06-03.1, all applications for permit, license, or identification card must contain the individual's social security number. The document must contain name and full social security number. Proof is required by presenting **one** of the following documents:

- Social Security Card (actual blue and white card)
- W-2 Form
- SSA 1099 Form
- Non-SSA 1099 Form
- · Pay stub
- 3. PROOF OF NORTH DAKOTA RESI-DENCE ADDRESS

Proof of North Dakota residence address (place of domicile) is required by presenting **two** documents from the list below. All documents presented for satisfactory proof of resident address must be the most currently issued document.

Acceptable documents for proof of address are:

- Most current government issued property tax
 statement
- Current mortgage/lease/rental document
- Current homeowners/renter's insurance policy
- Current utility bill (electricity, gas, water, sewer, cable, recycle)
- School/College Transcript issued within 6
 months
- Current financial statement (issued by financial institution, government entity, government regulated entity)

- Current pay stub or statement from employer
- · Current vehicle insurance policy/statement
- Non-expired current resident certificate or identification card with physical address issued by a North Dakota Tribal Agency
- Current formal resident statement issued by property owner/renter
- Current Relief Agency or Shelter Certification

All documents must contain your **name** and **physical** residence address. Post Office boxes are NOT acceptable for residence address.

EXAMINATIONS

You must make an appointment to visit one of the Driver License offices, or you may take your knowledge test immediately at <u>nd.knowtodrive.com.</u>

Cooperation With the Examiner

- The applicant must at all times cooperate with the examiners by following their instructions.
- License applicants must furnish their own vehicle for the road test. The vehicle equipment will be inspected. All equipment must be in good working order and display current registration.
- Pets (except medical alert/service animals), passengers, and electronic devices will not be allowed in the vehicle during the road test.
- In order to pass, you must: follow instructions, keep in the proper lane, give the proper signals, parallel park your vehicle, demonstrate good driving posture, and obey all traffic signs and traffic laws. If you fail any of the tests, you will not be allowed to retake the examination the same day.
- All applicants less than 16 years of age must be accompanied by one of their parents or a legal guardian when they appear before the examiner for the road test. The parent or legal guardian will be required to sign an authorization stating the need for the child

to operate a vehicle without being accompanied by an adult.

 If you are 14 or 15 years old, you may be issued a permit to operate your parent's, guardian's, grandparent's, sibling's, aunt's or uncle's Class D noncommercial vehicle. You may operate a vehicle that is not your parent's or guardian's to take the road test. You must present a driver education Certificate of Training when you report for the road test. To obtain the certificate, you must complete 30 hours of classroom and six hours of behind-the-wheel training through the Department of Public Instruction or complete six hours of behind-the-wheel training through a commercial driver training school approved by the North Dakota Department of Transportation. Go to www.dot.nd.gov for a list of approved driving schools.

See page 4 **Road Test Waiver** for *Certificate* of *Course Completion* and *Student Completion Certificate* requirements.

ORGAN, TISSUE, AND EYE DONATION

Thousands of people are waiting for a lifesaving or life enhancing organ, tissue or cornea transplant. Licensed drivers, or those at least 14 years of age and applying for their driver license permit in the state of North Dakota, can make a personal commitment to organ, tissue and eye donation by checking the "Yes" box on the application form. You may also register online at <u>www.dot.nd.gov</u>. This donor indication serves as your consent. It is important to discuss your decision with your family members and make them aware of your wishes.

Organs and tissues that can be donated include heart, lungs, liver, kidney, pancreas, intestines, skin, heart valves, bone, and tendons and ligaments. Organs are allocated to recipients based upon medical urgency, length of time waiting, genetic matching, and geography.

Anyone can be a donor, regardless of age and health conditions. The donation process does not prevent an open-casket funeral. Donors are treated with great care and dignity and there is no charge for donation to the donor's family. If you are under the age of 18, your parents will be asked to affirm your decision.

For more information about organ, tissue, and eye donation, contact LifeSource at 1-888-536-6283 or visit <u>www.DonateLifeND.org</u>

MINORS DRIVER LICENSE

- 1. Upon successful completion of the road test, a 15 year old will be issued a restricted Class D operator's license. While in possession of a restricted Class D operator's license, the driver is restricted to operating his or her parent's, guardian's, grandparent's, sibling's, aunt's or uncle's vehicles.
- 2. At age 15, when in possession of a restricted Class D operator's license, the individual is not allowed to operate a vehicle without his or her parent, legal guardian, or an individual at least 18 years of age between the later of sunset or 9:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. The only exception to this is driving directly to or from work, an official school activity or a religious activity.
- 3. At age 16 the restricted Class D Operator's License transitions to an unrestricted license.
- 4. Anyone, regardless of age who is operating a vehicle with an instruction permit and licensed drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using electronic communication devices while driving. This includes a device to talk, compose, read or send electronic messages. The only exception is to obtain emergency assistance, to prevent a crime that appears about to be committed, or in the reasonable belief that an individual's life or safety is in danger.
- 5. The director shall **cancel** the permit or license of a minor under 18 years of age who accumulates six or more points on their driving record or commits an alcoholrelated offense or a drug related offense while operating a motor vehicle. This includes minor in possession or minor in consumption of alcoholic beverage.
- 6. A minor, under 18, whose permit or license has been **cancelled** in this manner will be considered as never having had a permit

or license before. An Instruction permit will be issued after successful completion of the knowledge and vision tests. A road test will be administered after successful completion of driver's education and the required holding period of the permit (see page 1). In the event of a cancellation. driver's education requirements may be met by completing 30 hours of classroom and six hours of behind-the-wheel training through the Department of Public Instruction or six hours of behind-the-wheel training through a commercial driver training school approved by the North Dakota Department of Transportation or by completing an approved Internet driver education course and 30 hours of driving supervised by a parent or legal guardian.

7. The points total does not automatically go back to zero when the **cancellation** requirements are fulfilled. **See page 39 for point reduction.**

RESTRICTIONS

Depending upon your particular capabilities as a driver, your permit or license may be restricted.

Standard Restrictions:

- 1 Corrective Lenses
- 2 Outside Mirrors
- 3 Automatic Transmission
- 4 Special Hand Controls
- 5 Daylight Driving Only
- 6 Proof of Financial Responsibility

9 Other (explanation of restriction will be printed on reverse side of permit or license)

If you permanently lose the use of a hand, arm, foot, leg, or eye, you must report it to: Driver License Division, North Dakota Department of Transportation, 608 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0750 (NDCC 39-06-14).

RENEWALS

You may be eligible to renew your license online. To determine your eligibility please visit <u>www.dot.nd.gov.</u>

Your present license is valid for a certain period of time depending on the date on which you apply. The license expires on midnight of your birthday or the "duration of stay" date if an immigration document is presented for proof of identity, not to exceed the usual licensing cycle period. You may renew your license 10 months prior to expiration without losing any time remaining on the old license.

All renewal applicants must submit to a vision test at the time of renewal or present a certificate of vision obtained from a physician or optometrist. The certificate must not be more than six months old.

For more information, contact any driver's license office or the Driver License Division, North Dakota Department of Transportation, 608 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0750.

DUPLICATE LICENSES/PERMITS

You must apply for a duplicate operator's license or permit if your license or permit is lost, contains any wrong information, or is mutilated so that it cannot be read. This is done by visiting a driver's license office. You must present proof of identity and documentary evidence for a name or date of birth change such as a certified or amended birth certificate, certified marriage certificate, divorce decree, or legal name change through the court.

You may be eligible for an online duplicate license. To determine your eligibility please visit <u>www.dot.nd.gov</u>.

CHANGE OF NAME OR ADDRESS

If you change your name or address, you must notify the Driver License Division within 10 days. You must provide documentary evidence of the change. Please visit our website at <u>www.dot.nd.gov</u> for a list of acceptable documents.

REGISTERING YOUR MOTOR VEHICLE

North Dakota law requires that a motor vehicle be registered immediately in North Dakota, when the owner or operator becomes a resident of the state or becomes gainfully employed in this state.

Two registration options are available:

- 1. Obtain a North Dakota title and purchase a vehicle license valid through the end of the registration period. We recommend this option if your present registration will expire during the time you expect to be in North Dakota. All vehicles must have liability insurance. Vehicle owners shall not permit a vehicle to be driven without a policy of liability insurance. As a driver, you should be sure that the vehicle you are driving is properly insured.
- Purchase a temporary registration permit if the vehicle license from another state is still current and if you plan to be in North Dakota only a short time. The permits are available for six months or 12 months; a \$10 service fee is charged in addition to the registration fee each time a permit is purchased or renewed. The vehicle registration card must be carried in the vehicle at all times.

Contact the NDDOT Motor Vehicle Division at (701) 328-2725 for all vehicle questions.

CLASSES OF LICENSES

North Dakota has five classes of operator's licenses. Each class requires its own written exam and a demonstration of driving skill for that class of license. This manual prepares you for the Class D License only.

Class A: Any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or gross vehicle weight of 26,001 pounds or more, whichever is greater, provided the vehicle being towed has a GVWR or gross vehicle weight of 10,001 pounds or more, whichever is greater. (May also operate Class B, C, and D vehicle groups, but not a Class M, unless endorsed.)

Class B: Any single vehicle with a GVWR or

gross vehicle weight of 26,001 pounds or more, whichever is greater. May tow a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds. (May also operate Class C and D vehicle groups, but not Class M, unless endorsed.)

Class C: Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,000 pounds or less that is designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver **or** is transporting hazardous materials under 49 CFR Part 172 (placarded material) and 42 CFR part 73. May tow a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds. (May also operated a Class D vehicle, but not a Class M, unless endorsed).

Class D: Any single vehicle less than 26,001 pounds GVWR may tow trailers not over 10,000 pounds GVWR.

NOTE: Must be 18 years of age or under farm exemption if combined weight exceeds 26,000 pounds. Trucks towing trailers over 10,000 pounds, provided the combined weight does not exceed 26,000 gross combination weight rating. Not valid for Class A, B, C, or M, unless endorsed.

An emergency vehicle, RV, camper, vehicle driven by active duty member for military purposes, or a vehicle towing a travel trailer being used solely for personal purposes may be driven with a Class D license.

The following may also be operated on a Class D License (farm exemption):

- 1. Age 15 may drive a farm vehicle within 150 miles of driver's farm, having a gross weight of not more than 50,000 pounds, when transporting agricultural products or farm supplies.
- 2. Any two-axle, tandem axle, or triple axle, or truck-tractor farm vehicle controlled and operated by a farmer transporting agricultural products, farm machines, or farm supplies to or from a farm within 150 miles of the person's farm. Farm vehicle may tow a trailer, semi-trailer, or farm trailer **except** double or triple trailers, or if under 18 years of age, a truck-tractor.
- 3. Any farm vehicle operated by a farmer may

transport hazardous material within 150 miles of the farm without a hazardous material endorsement on the operator's license.

4. Covered Farm Vehicles may also be operated on a Class D License. These are vehicles used for farm or ranch purposes that display either farm registration plates or are identified by a designation that clearly identifies the vehicle as a farm vehicle (in North Dakota, form SFN 60860 available on our website at <u>www.dot.nd.gov</u>).

A covered farm vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) or Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR), whichever is greater, of 26,001 pounds or less may be operated anywhere in the United States.

A covered farm vehicle with a GVW or GVWR, whichever is greater, of more than 26,001 pounds may be operated within the state where it is registered, or if travelling outside of the state, within 150 air miles of the owner or operator's farm or ranch.

Class M: Any two- or three-wheeled motor-cycle.

SIGNS, SIGNALS, AND ROAD MARKINGS

SIGNS

We use three basic kinds of signs on our streets and highways: Regulatory signs, Warning signs, and Guide signs. Some, but not all, of the signs you will see are shown here.

REGULATORY SIGNS

Regulatory signs control and regulate traffic. They give mandatory instructions to the driver. Most are white with black letters or red with white letters.



The Stop sign is the only eightsided sign. The Stop sign tells you that you must come to a complete stop before the stop line or crosswalk area. If there is no stop line or crosswalk, stop as near as possible before the intersection where you can safely see traffic approaching from all directions.



The Yield sign means that you must yield the right of way. The sign tells you to slow down and stop if necessary so you can yield the right of way.



The Speed Limit sign is an example of a regulatory sign showing the maximum speed permitted under ideal conditions. These signs will normally be found on the right-hand side of streets and highways.



The One Way sign tells you that traffic on that particular road flows in the direction of the arrow only.





The Wrong Way sign tells you that you are going the wrong way on a street, freeway, or ramp.



The Do Not Enter sign prohibits the driver from entering a restricted road section.



Some regulatory signs prohibit certain actions. These signs are square with black lettering on a white background. A red circle with a red slash indicates the action that is forbidden. (Above signs are: No U-turn, No right turn, No trucks, No left turn.)



Some states use the yellow pennant-shaped warning sign in addition to the rectangle "Do Not Pass." The rectangular "Do Not Pass" sign is placed on the right side of the road while the pennant-shaped sign is found on the left-hand side.



This sign prohibits a right turn on a red light at selected intersections. Some intersections display this sign electronically.



Two-way Left Turn Only signs are used when a lane in the center of the roadway is to be used only by left turning vehicles in either direction. The center lane is not intended to be used for passing or overtaking.



These signs tell you how to interpret traffic signals when you want to make a left turn. Pay close attention to the message on each one to make the turn safely.

WARNING SIGNS

Warning signs are used to warn you of potentially hazardous conditions ahead so that you will proceed with extra caution. These signs are yellow with a black legend.



These warning signs indicate curves or turns in the road. They give you time to reduce your speed before you enter the curve or turn. They are often supplemented with an advisory speed sign showing the maximum recommended speed to negotiate the curve or turn.



These signs warn you of a reduction in the number of traffic lanes ahead. Be sure to move safely into the proper lane.



These warning signs indicate intersections on the road. Be aware of vehicles entering the flow of traffic.

Pedestrian Signs

May be fluorescent yellow-green or standard yellow in color.



Watch out for pedestrians crossing the road. (Pedestrian crosswalk.)

School Signs

May be fluorescent yellow-green or standard yellow in color.



This sign tells you a school or a marked school crossing is ahead. (School ahead.)



This sign warns you of a crosswalk for school children. (School crosswalk.

Special Warning Signs





Watch for bicyclists when you see this sign.

Slow down because this road is slippery when wet.



The Railroad Advance Warning sign is round with black lettering on a yellow background. The sign indicates that you are nearing a railroad crossing. You should slow down so that you can safely stop if a train is coming.



Slow-moving vehicle signs are shaped like a triangle. They are orange with a red, reflective border. This sign is mounted on the rear of vehicles or equipment being towed at a speed of 25 miles per hour or less. Slow down and use caution.

CONSTRUCTION AND MAINTENANCE DEVICES

Special signs and traffic control devices are used in highway work zones. Most signs in work areas are diamond shaped. A few signs are rectangular. These signs are orange with a black legend. You may also see electronic signs that display changing messages. Slow down through construction and maintenance zones! Failure to comply with work zone speed limits carries an \$80 minimum fee when work is in progress and workers are present.



CHANNELIZING DEVICES

Barricades, vertical panels, drums, cones, and tubes are the most commonly used devices to alert drivers of conditions in highway and street work areas and to guide drivers safely through the work zone.



The diagonal stripes on the barricade or vertical panel guide the driver towards the direction to which traffic is to pass. Stripes sloping downward to the right mean the driver shouldkeep to the right. Conversely, stripes sloping downward to the left mean keep to the left.

FLASHING ARROW PANELS

Large flashing or sequencing arrow panels may be used in work zones both day and night to direct drivers into certain traffic lanes and to inform them that part of the road or street ahead of them is closed. The arrow panel may also be used in a caution mode.





Caution

FLAGPERSONS

Flagpersons are often provided in highway and street work zones to stop, slow, or guide traffic safely through the area. Flagpersons wear orange, yellow, strong yellow-green, or fluorescent vests, shirts, or jackets and use red flags or stop/slow paddles to direct traffic through work zones.



WORK ZONE SAFETY TIPS

- Pay attention. Work Zones contain many hazards such as uneven pavement, narrow lanes, heavy equipment, and loose gravel.
- Slow down. Most crashes in the summer months are related to excessive speeds. Remember, workers are just inches away from traffic.
- Watch for signs. Over 25,000 serious injuries occur nationally in work zones each year. See Orange signs.
- 98 percent of Work Zone fatalities are travelers. Motorists and passengers suffer most of the traffic casualties in work zones.
- Work Zones can appear at any time of day. Road crews work both night and day. Watch where you are going, especially at night.

GUIDE SIGNS

Guide signs provide information about directions, distances, available services, points of interest, and other geographical, recreational, or cultural information.

Guide signs are rectangular in shape, though their colors vary according to their message.



Signs which give direction are rectangular in shape. The letters are white on a green background. These signs give information about the direction of and distance to your destination. They give information about junctions and routes as well.



Milepost signs are long rectangles. The letters are white on a green background. The numbers on these signs tell you how many miles you are from the south or west border of the state or origin of the route within the state.

Service signs are rectangular. The symbols are white on a blue background.





Hospital

Telephone



Gas



This is a special sign. The symbol of access sign indicates that facilities such as rest areas are free of barriers to people with mobility impairments.

Recreational area signs are rectangular. The symbols are white on a brown background.



SIGNALS

Traffic Signals

Like signs, traffic signals can do their job only if everyone follows the rules.



A red indication means STOP. As with the stop sign, you must stop at a marked stop line or before a crosswalk. Remain stopped until the light changes and the intersection is clear of pedestrians and vehicles.



A yellow indication means WARNING or CAUTION. The light is changing from green to red.



Green means GO—but only if the intersection is clear.



A green arrow means you may enter the intersection to make the movement indicated by the arrow. If the green arrow comes on at a red light, you may turn in the direction of the arrow. You must yield the right of way to all pedestrians and vehicles already in the intersection.

Note: You may turn right on a red light **after stopping** when the intersection is clear of both pedestrians and vehicles, unless there is a sign prohibiting a right turn on a red light. You may turn left on a red light from a oneway street onto a one-way street, unless there is a sign prohibiting this. If the traffic signals are dark, for example in the event of a power outage, the driver of a vehicle shall **stop** and yield the right of way to any vehicle in the intersection.

Flashing Indications

Some traffic signals are operated like flashing beacons late at night or when traffic volumes are light.



Flashing red means the same thing as a stop sign—STOP. Proceed when the intersection is clear of pedestrians and vehicles.

7 Flashing yellow at an intersection meansproceed with CAUTION.Left

Turn Indications



| | – – |
|--------|------------|
| Steady | Red |

Steady Yellow

Flashing Yellow

Steady Green

What Drivers Should Know



STOP. Left-turning drivers must stop and wait.



WARNING CAUTION. The left turn signal is changing to red.



CAUTION. You may cautiously turn left **after** yielding to oncoming traffic and to pedestrians. Oncoming traffic will typically have a green light.



GO. Left-turning drivers have the right-of-way.



Pavement markings are like traffic signs and signals. They direct and control the smooth and orderly movement of traffic.



Broken yellow center lines are used on two-lane, two-way roads. You may cross them only to turn left or to pass another vehicle.



One solid line with one broken line means no passing when you are in the lane with the solid line. The solid line may be crossed only to turn left.



Two solid yellow lines on a two-lane road means no passing in either direction. Crossing the centerline is permitted only as part of a left-turn maneuver.



Undivided Roadway

Multi-lane, two-way roadway, crossing the centerline is permitted only as part of a left-turn maneuver.



Divided Roadways

This is a multi-lane roadway with a divider separating the traffic flow.



Two-Way Left Turn Lane

The center lane is reserved only for left-turning vehicles in either direction. Passing or overtaking is not permitted in the center lane.



At many busy intersections there are specially designated left- and right-turn lanes. If you wish to turn left, you must use the special leftturn lane. If you wish to turn right, you must use the special right-turn lane. Some intersections have more than one turn lane.

STOP INTERSECTIONS

At an intersection where a stop is required, you must follow these pavement markings-

STOP LINES are wide, white lines that show you where to stop your vehicle before entering an intersection.

UNMARKED CROSSWALK: Where there are no lines at an intersection, you must stop your vehicle before entering the crosswalk (sidewalk area) or, if there is no crosswalk, you must stop before your vehicle enters the intersection.



CROSSWALK LINES are a pair of white lines or longitudinal lines that mark where pedestrians will walk. Do not block the crosswalk with your vehicle.

When stop lines and crosswalk lines are used together, you must stop your vehicle before crossing the stop line.

RAILROAD CROSSINGS

Railroad crossings can be marked with several different types of devices: warning signs, pavement markings, crossbucks, and signal lights. Some railroad crossings are marked by all four of these devices, and some crossings are marked by only one or a combination of devices.

Watch for these warning devices. And when you see them, look, listen, and slow down. You may have to stop.



These advance-warning signs warn you that a railroad crossing is ahead. Begin to slow down and be prepared to stop.



This is a crossbuck. It is found at railroad crossings. If there is more than one track, the sign below tells you the number of tracks. Make sure all the tracks are clear and no trains are approaching before you cross. For safety, never stop or park on railroad tracks for any reason. If

a stop is required, make sure you stop your vehicle prior to the railroad crossing. When approching multiple tracks please remember that an additional train can be approaching from the opposite direction that the previous train has cleared.

If your vehicle is trapped or stuck on the tracks, evacuate your vehicle and walk in the direction of the oncoming train and away from the tracks at a 45 dregree angle. If your vehicle is struck by a moving train, the debris will spread out from the tracks in the same direction the train is moving. Then call the "Emercency Notification System (ENS) number to report the emergency and then call 911.



Pavement markings may be used with the crossbuck at railroad crossings. When a train is crossing, stop at least 15 feet before the crossing. At some crossings, gates and red flashing lights are used. Do not cross the tracks when the red lights are flashing. And never drive around the gates when they are down.

School buses, vehicles carrying explosives or flammable liquids such as gasoline trucks, and buses carrying passengers must stop at railroad crossings. These vehicles must stop within 50 feet and not less than 15 feet from the tracks. Watch out for them and do not pass them when they are stopped at the crossing. Remember, railroad crossings are always dangerous. Every crossing must be approached with the expectation that a train is coming.

TYPES OF CROSSINGS

Passive Crossings. This type of crossing does not have any type of traffic control device. The decision to stop or proceed rests entirely in your hands. Passive crossing require you to recognize the crossing, search for any train using the tracks and decide if there is sufficient clear space to cross safely. Passive crossings have a yellow circular advance warning signs, pavement markings and crossbuck to assist you in recognizing a crossing.

Active Crossings. This type of crossing has a traffic control device installed at the crossing to regulate traffic at the crossing. These active devices include flashing red lights, with or without bells and flashing red lights with bells and gates.

Emergency Notification System (ENS). The Federal Railroad Administration posts emergency phone numbers on railroad crossing posts or the metal control boxes near the tracks. Call this number if you see an obstruction on the railroad tracks or any other problems at a railroad crossing such as the lights or gates are not working properly. Current ENS phone numbers are:

| Amtrak | 1-800-331-0008 |
|------------------|----------------|
| BNSF Railway | 1-800-832-5452 |
| Canadian Pacific | 1-800-716-9132 |



HAND SIGNALS

Even though vehicles are equipped with electrical turn and brake lights, you should know the basic hand signals as well. All turn signals of intention to turn must be given continuously during the last 100 feet before the turn. Motorists must also be able to recognize hand signals given by motorcyclists and bicyclists and give them sufficient space to execute their signaled maneuvers as they would another vehicle.



RULES OF THE ROAD

RIGHT OF WAY

Right-of-way rules are a means of establishing orderly traffic movement. If everyone follows these rules, crashes can be reduced. Unfortunately, there are many operators who ignore the rules. For this reason, you must drive defensively. Always be ready to yield to those who do not follow the right-of-way rules.

 When two vehicles approach an unsigned intersection at approximately the same time, the vehicle on the left side must yield to the vehicle on the right. When entering an intersection,



it is recommended to look first to your left, then to your right and then left again. Be prepared to yield.

- At an uncontrolled T-intersection, the vehicle on the terminating street must yield to vehicles on the continuing street.
- Vehicles turning left must yield to oncoming traffic. Watch for vehicles passing on the right side of a vehicle turning left.



 At a four-way stop, the vehicle that stops first goes first. If one vehicle goes out of turn, yield to that vehicle so that you do not cause a crash.





- Pedestrians in marked or unmarked crosswalks have the right of way. Drivers must yield when pedestrians are in the driver's lane of travel.
- Pedestrians carrying white canes or with guide dogs are blind or have greatly reduced vision. Just as in other pedestrian situations, motorists are required to yield or stop for anyone who may have begun crossing a street. When stopping at an intersection, be sure to stop behind the crosswalk to allow the visually-impaired traveler an unobstructed path. At times the person who is blind may choose to wait for optimal traffic conditions. The key to safety is based on careful observance of the pedestrian and common courtesy. Motorists and pedestrians should not distract a guide dog in any way. These friendly, intelligent dogs must

focus on the commands of their owner.

- Vehicles entering or crossing a roadway from a private drive must yield to all oncoming traffic.
- Vehicles emerging from a driveway, alley, private road, or building within a business or residential district must come to a complete stop immediately prior to crossing a sidewalk area and, if no sidewalk, vehicles must stop before entering the roadway.
- You may not make a U-turn near the crest of a hill or any curve where the driver cannot see 500 feet or more.
- Emergency vehicles always have the right of way.
- When an emergency or law enforcement vehicle is flashing its red, white, or blue lights or using its siren, you must immediately come to a stop along the right-hand curb or edge of the road. You must remain stopped until the emergency or law enforcement vehicle has passed. Do not stop in the middle of the intersection.
- When an emergency or law enforcement vehicle is parked at the scene of a crash with its emergency lights flashing, you must drive to the right-hand side of the roadway and stop. Once stopped, you may pass at your risk when the roadway is clear. If there is a police officer directing traffic at the scene, you must obey the officer's instructions. If an emergency vehicle, law enforcement vehicle, or North Dakota Department of Transportation maintenance vehicle is parked on the Interstate system or a multilane highway with its emergency or work lights flashing, **move over** to the opposite lane and proceed with due caution.
- The yellow-flashing light is used mostly on tow trucks and slow moving vehicles. These lights warn you to slow down.
- When a school bus is stopped and flashing its red lights, drivers approaching from both directions must stop. This is because children are being loaded or unloaded. The drivers cannot proceed until 1) the bus be-

gins moving; or 2) the bus driver signals to let vehicles pass; or 3) the red lights are no longer flashing. When a school bus is equipped with yellow caution lights, these lights may be used as a warning that the school bus is about to stop and that the red flashing lights will soon come on. Be especially alert every time you see a school bus.

SPEED LIMITS

Speed limits are maximum limits to be traveled only when driving conditions are ideal. Sometimes conditions may require you to drive slower than the posted speed limit allows. Never drive faster than the posted speed limit or conditions allow. Authorities may also post minimum speed limits if deemed necessary for the safe movement of traffic.

Maximum speed limits in North Dakota have been established as follows:

- 20 miles per hour when approaching any railway crossing when your view of the track is obstructed, unless otherwise posted.
- 20 miles per hour when approaching an intersection when your view of the intersection is in any way obstructed, unless otherwise posted.
- 20 miles per hour when you pass by a school during school recess or while children are going to or leaving school during opening or closing hours of school, unless otherwise posted.
- 25 miles per hour in a business or residential district, unless otherwise posted.
- 55 miles per hour on gravel, dirt, or loose surface roads unless otherwise posted, and on paved two-lane county and township highways if there is no speed limit posted.
- 65 miles per hour on rural paved 2-lane highways if posted for that speed.
- 70 miles per hour on paved and divided multi-lane highways, unless otherwise posted.
- 75 miles per hour on rural Interstate highways, unless otherwise posted.

PASSING

On two-way roads you must drive on the righthand side of the roadway; when you pass you are driving against the flow of the oncoming traffic.

Before you pass another vehicle, ask yourself these questions:

- Is the pass necessary?
- Am I in or approaching a no passing zone? (Whenever there is a hill or a curve ahead, you must treat it as if there is oncoming traffic just beyond it.)
- Can I return to my lane before meeting an approaching vehicle?
- Can I see the road ahead clearly?

Some Guidelines for Passing

• Give yourself enough time to get completely beyond the vehicle that you are passing, and return to your proper lane at least 200 feet before meeting an approaching vehicle.



- Do not return to your lane until you can see the image of the entire front of the vehicle you passed within the inside rear-view mirror.
- When passing, never leave the main-traveled roadway.
- When being passed, do not speed up.
- Do not follow too closely.
- Obey all regulatory and warning signs.

Never Pass:

- While approaching the top of a hill or a curve.
- Within 100 feet of an intersection, a railroad crossing, or a tunnel.

- When you see any pavement marking orsign indicating NO PASSING.
- When your view of the road is reduced or obstructed by fog, snow, or rain.

Many head-on collisions occur while one vehicle is passing another. Even while driving in the left lane of a four-lane highway, be aware that you might collide with a vehicle going the wrong way.

LANE CHANGES

If you must change lanes, make sure the lane is clear and signal your movement. If possible, avoid changing lanes within an intersection. Be sure to keep a safe following distance (safe space) from the vehicle ahead of you. Check your mirrors and look over your shoulder for vehicles behind you and already in the other lane. Be aware of "blind spots" or areas where mirrors fail to pick up approaching traffic. Signal prior to making the lane change. Change only one lane at a time and be sure to cancel your signal when you complete the lane change.



Remember: The driver of the vehicle making the lane change is responsible for safely changing lanes.

FOLLOWING AND STOPPING DISTANCES

If you drive too fast or follow too close, you will not have enough time to stop in an emergency. At 55 miles per hour, it takes approximately 300 feet or one city block on dry pavement to stop.

When one vehicle follows another, there must be enough distance between them to allow for a passing vehicle to come into that space without any danger. If the vehicle in front of you suddenly stops, you should be far enough behind so that you can come to a stop safely.

The "**three-second rule**" is a way to measure the distance that you should use as a cushion when following another vehicle. Here is how it works:

- Pick a shadow, mark, or object on or near the road ahead.
- When the rear bumper of the vehicle ahead of you passes the mark, start counting the seconds it takes you to reach the same spot. Count "one-thousand-and-one, one-thousand-and-two, one-thousand-and-three."
- If you reach the spot before you count "onethousand-and-three," you are following too closely.



Sometimes you need even more following distance, as much as four or more seconds. This is especially true when:

- The roads are slippery.
- Following motorcycles.
- You have a heavy load or are pulling a trailer.
- Following large vehicles that block your view ahead.
- The driver behind you wants to pass.
- Following drivers whose view to the rear is blocked.

TURNING

When making any turn, you should check both ways for traffic and pedestrians. You must also signal continuously for the last 100 feet before the turn.



When approaching an intersection to make a right turn, stay as far to the right as possible. Make the turn close to the right curb.



To turn left from a one-way road onto a two-way road, begin in the left turn lane and complete the turn as indicated in the picture.



To turn left from a one-way to a one-way, begin the turn from the left lane. Make the turn close to the left curb.



When turning left from a two-way road onto a two-way road, begin as close to the centerline as possible and complete the turn as indicated in the picture.



To turn left from a two-way road onto a oneway road, approach the turn with your left wheels close to the centerline of the road. Make the turn before reaching the center of the intersection, and enter the left lane of the one-way road.



To turn left from a two-way road onto a fourlane highway, approach the turn with your left wheels close to the centerline of the road. Make the turn so that you enter the passing lane of the four-lane highway. When traffic permits, move to the right, out of the passing lane.

ROUNDABOUTS

A roundabout is a circular intersection where vehicles travel around a center island in a counter-clockwise direction. These intersections are designed to reduce the number and severity of collisions, as well as provide operational efficiencies in the flow of traffic. When approaching a roundabout, perform the following steps:

- 1. Reduce your speed.
- 2. If more than one lane exists, use the left lane to turn left, the right lane to turn right, and all lanes to go through unless directed otherwise by signs and pavement markings.



- 3. Yield to pedestrians and bicyclists.
- 4. Yield to circulating traffic when entering the roundabout.
- 5. Stay in your lane within the roundabout and use your right-turn signal when exiting.
- 6. Always assume trucks need all available space—do not pass them!
- 7. Clear the roundabout to allow emergency vehicles to pass and do not enter the roundabout if one is approaching.
- 8. Signal when you are changing direction to exit the roundabout.

Large Vehicles

Roundabouts are designed to accommodate all vehicle types, including truck and trailer combinations. To assist large trucks, the center island includes an apron to accommodate the rear wheels of the vehicle.

INTERSTATE DRIVING

Speeds are higher on the Interstate than on city streets. Because of this, your vehicle will travel further during your reaction time. To drive safely on the Interstate, you should:

- Be alert. Use your mirrors so that you know what is behind you as well as what is in front of you.
- When changing lanes, use your turn signals and make sure the lane is clear. When passing, do not cut back into the right lane too quickly.
- Keep to the right if you are traveling slowly.
- Never stop on the traveled part of the roadway. In an emergency, stop on the shoulder, and raise your hood to show difficulty.
- Avoid driving when you are tired.
- Dim your lights when following another vehicle.

INTERCHANGES

Different states use different names for the ramps used for getting on and off the interstate highway. For convenience, we call them interchanges. The two most common types of interchanges are the diamond and the cloverleaf.



For all interchanges, you must remember:

- Highway guide signs tell you the location of interchanges well in advance. Watch for these signs. Move into the proper lane before you reach your interchange.
- Never back up on the Interstate. If you miss your interchange, go on to the next one. Do not use median crossovers. These are for

authorized vehicles only such as emergency and maintenance vehicles.

• Never back up on a ramp. If you exit at the wrong interchange, you must follow it out. Return to the highway by the "on" ramp.

Entrance ramps allow you to adjust your speed to merge safely with the flow of traffic on the highway. Stopping on these ramps should be avoided. Only stop when there is no opening in the traffic flow.

Unless posted signs indicate otherwise, any vehicle entering a freeway from an entrance ramp must yield the right of way to vehicles on the main roadway.

Exit ramps are for leaving or exiting from the highway. You should never stop or back up on these ramps.

NIGHT DRIVING

Night driving tends to be more difficult than daytime driving. You can only see as far as your headlights, and this cuts down on your time to react. Be mindful not to overdrive your headlights. You should:

- Use your headlights from sunset to sunrise, and at any other time necessary for safe driving.
- Use your headlights during inclement weather when visibility is less than 1,000 feet due to rain, snow, sleet, hail, smoke, or fog.
- Slow down. You should be able to stop in the distance covered by your headlights even if you come up on a vehicle without taillights, or a parked vehicle with its lights on.
- Clean your windshield inside and out; this will reduce the amount of glare from oncoming vehicles. Clean the headlights on your vehicle; this will naturally give more light



and help you see vehicles and other night hazards better.

- Eyestrain, fatigue, and lack of concentration can be the result of staring at the spot created by your headlights. Keep your eyes moving, especially at night. Scan for animals, pedestrians, and bicycle riders. Pay close attention at dawn and dusk for animals. especially for deer. Drive at slower speeds in areas where deer crossing signs are posted. Do not swerve to avoid an animal because this could result in a more serious crash like hitting a tree or another vehicle, or possibly rolling over. Check to the sides for lights from other vehicles that might be crossing or entering the roadway ahead of you. Constantly check the taillights of vehicles ahead for any indication that they are changing speed or lane position.
- Dim your headlights at least 500 feet before meeting traffic and within 300 feet when following another vehicle. If you meet a vehicle that does not dim its lights, look to the right edge of the road to avoid being blinded. Remember, it takes time for your eyes to adjust after meeting a vehicle at night.
- Watch carefully for pedestrians. They may be wearing dark clothing and be difficult to see.
- Stop and rest if you are tired.



YOUR BRIGHT LIGHTS COULD BLIND AN APPROACHING DRIVER

PARKING

Parking on a Hill



Parallel Parking

When parallel parking your vehicle, your wheels should be parallel to the right-hand curb and within one foot of the right-hand curb.

Here are some parallel parking hints:

 Signal your movement and stop even with the vehicle ahead and about two feet away from it.



- 2. Turn your wheel to the right and back slowly toward the vehicle behind.
- 3. When clear of the vehicle ahead, turn your wheel to the left and back slowly toward the vehicle behind you.
- 4. Turn your wheel to the right and pull ahead toward the curb. Stop in the center of the parking space. Put your vehicle in park.







Leaving a Parking Space

When you leave a parking space:

- 1. Look to the rear over your shoulder as well as in the rear-view mirror.
- 2. Signal before you start to move.
- 3. Yield the right of way to oncoming vehicles.
- 4. Enter traffic in the nearest lane, and remain in that lane until safe to change to another lane.

Emergency Parking

When you have to make an emergency stop, park with all four wheels off the traveled pavement, if possible.

Between one-half hour after sunset and onehalf hour before sunrise, your vehicle must display at least one white or amber lamp in front and a red light on the rear, both visible for a distance of 1,000 feet when parked on a public highway.

Do Not Park:

- On a sidewalk or in front of a driveway.
- On or within 10 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection.
- Within 10 feet of a fire hydrant.
- Within an intersection.
- On the street side of a parked vehicle. This violation is called double parking.
- On a bridge, overpass, or in a tunnel or underpass.
- Within 15 feet of a flashing beacon, a stop sign, or a traffic control signal placed on the side of the roadway.
- Between a safety zone and the curb next to it or within 15 feet of points on the curb immediately opposite the ends of a safety zone. Safety zones are marked areas set aside for pedestrians.
- Alongside or opposite street excavation when parking would obstruct traffic.

- Anywhere there is an official "No Parking" sign.
- In a designated Accessible Parking space unless in possession of the appropriate placard or 'Accessible' license plate. Do not park on the diagonal lines next to the space.

TOWING

Whether you are towing a camping trailer, a utility trailer, or a boat trailer, the increased weight from the trailer will lengthen the distance necessary to stop your vehicle.

- When traveling faster than 25 miles per hour, you need safety chains or brakes capable of holding the trailer if the coupling breaks.
- You need turn signals, stop lights, two red reflectors, and two red taillights mounted on the rear of the trailer and visible for a distance of 1,000 feet. For more details, see the Motor Vehicle Registrar, North Dakota Department of Transportation, 608 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0700, phone 328-2725.
- You need two amber clearance lamps on the front and two red clearance lights on the back of your trailer if it is 80 inches or more in width.
- Every vehicle must have a mirror allowing you to see at least 200 feet to the rear.
- If you are towing another vehicle, the drawbar or connection between any two vehicles, one of which is towing or drawing the others on a highway, shall be of such design, strength, and construction to prevent the unintentional uncoupling of the vehicles.
- For your safety, it is better to slow down when you are towing a trailer in a strong wind.

COASTING PROHIBITED

- The driver of any motor vehicle, when traveling upon a downgrade, may not coast with the gears or transmission of such vehicle in neutral.
- The driver of a truck or bus, when traveling upon

a downgrade, may not coast with the clutch disengaged.

BACKING

When backing your vehicle is necessary, it must be done without interfering with other traffic. You are responsible for backing onto a lane of traffic safely.

You must also be careful so that you do not back into children or other obstacles. To be safe, before backing you should walk around your vehicle to check for clearance.

LITTERING

If you throw or deposit any litter on any public highway, you are subject to a \$500 fine.

CRASH REPORTS

If you are involved in a crash that results in the combined damage of \$4,000 or more, or results in personal injury or death, you must:

- Immediately report it to the local police if you are in a city.
- Immediately report it to the Highway Patrol or the County Sheriff's Office if you are outside city limits.

In all crashes involving injury or damage, the drivers must exchange the following information: driver's name, address, motor vehicle insurance company, and policy number.

Whenever the driver is physically incapable of giving notice of a crash and also is not the owner of the vehicle, then the owner of the vehicle involved shall, within five days after learning of the crash, give notice and insurance information not given by the driver.

Any driver who hits an unattended vehicle must immediately locate and notify the owner. If the owner cannot be found, the driver must leave a note at a conspicuous place on the unattended vehicle. The note must list the driver's name, address, and motor vehicle insurance company.

LIABILITY INSURANCE

No person shall drive a motor vehicle in the state of North Dakota without a valid policy of liability insurance in effect. The name of the motor vehicle insurance policy carrier and the policy number of the driver must be furnished to a law enforcement officer upon request. The fine for operating an uninsured motor vehicle is \$150 for a first violation and \$300 for a second or subsequent violation in three years and may result in a license suspension. If a person is convicted of "No Liability Insurance," that person will be required to provide proof of liability insurance to the division for one year. The person will also be required to purchase a duplicate driver's license with the "Proof of Liability Insurance" restriction. The cost of this duplicate license is \$50. There will also be a cost of \$50 to have the restriction removed at the end of the one-year period.

FOR EMERGENCY HIGHWAY ASSISTANCE DIAL 911

FOR WEATHER AND ROAD CONDITIONS DIAL 511

DRIVING SKILLS AND EMERGENCY SITUATIONS

Whenever you drive you must be alert. Always watch for and be prepared to react to a possible emergency situation. As a driver, there will be situations when you will need to reduce your speed immediately—sometimes to regain control of your vehicle and other times to come to a complete stop.

Remember: Brakes work best just before your tires start to skid or slide on the road surface.

WINTER DRIVING

Winter driving can create hazardous driving conditions. The driver must be prepared for these conditions, and follow additional safe driving practices.

- It is not legal to enter a road that is officially closed due to hazardous conditions. The penalty for doing this is a \$250 fine.
- Keep the windshield clear. Allow the defroster to warm up properly while scraping

the ice off windows. The windshield washing fluid should contain an anti-freeze solution; however, at high speeds in very cold temperatures, the fluid may freeze on the windshield and totally obscure your vision.

- Get the feel of the roadway. Try your brakes while driving slowly and adjust your speed to how much traction you have.
- Slow down. Snow tires or tire chains are helpful, but you should still double your distance for following other vehicles. Studded snow tires may be used from October 15 to April 15.
- Passing trucks may create snow fog. This greatly reduces your visibility. Look ahead for curves in the road, look behind for vehicles following, and slow down.
- Remember that on bridges and shaded spots, frost and ice form quicker and are retained longer than on the rest of the roadway.
- To stop on ice, you should pump the brakes when driving vehicles equipped with drumtype brakes on all four wheels. Vehicles equipped with disc brakes require a slow, intermittent braking action—fully on and then fully off—long enough to let the disc brakes release so that all wheels are rolling again. If you slam on your brakes, your wheels will lock and your tires will skid.
- Keep firm and continuous pressure on antilock brakes (ABS). Manually pumping antilock brakes, or letting up on them, decreases their effectiveness because it turns the system off and on.
- Carry a winter survival kit in your vehicle: warm clothing, footwear, shovel, energy food, etc.
- If your vehicle becomes stuck in a snowstorm, stay with the vehicle! Most deaths occur when people leave their vehicles and get lost. Open your windows slightly and run the vehicle and heater for only short periods of time to avoid carbon monoxide poisoning. Stay active and do not panic.

Meeting Snow Removal Equipment

Here are a few suggestions to help you recognize winter driving hazards while plow trucks are working:

- Stay well back from snowplows. Sometimes they have to stop and back up. Plow drivers can't see directly behind themselves, and plows also throw sanding material. Remember, don't crowd the plow!
- Know where the plow is on multi-lane roadways. The plow could be in either lane or on the shoulder.
- Be extremely cautious when passing a snowplow. They can be moved sideways by drifts and hard snow-pack.
- Never drive through "whiteouts" caused by crosswinds or plowing light snow. Snow-plows pull over and stop frequently to allow traffic to pass. Be patient and wait until you can see.
- Watch for plow trucks on Interstate ramps and turning around on "authorized vehicle only" cross-overs.
- Don't assume you'll have good traction because the road "looks" sanded. The sand can sink into the snow-pack, leaving a slick surface.
- Slow down and drive according to the conditions. Most winter crashes are caused by driving too fast for conditions.

SKIDS

Most skids are the result of driving too fast for the road conditions on slippery roadways. The key to safe vehicle operation is slower speeds.



In **rear-wheel** drive automobiles, you should stay off the brakes and gradually ease off the accelerator. Turn your wheels in the direction the rear end of your vehicle is skidding. If the rear end of the vehicle skids right, steer right. If the rear end of the vehicle skids left, steer left.

When **front-wheel** drive vehicles start to skid when traveling at moderate speeds, you should **accelerate slightly and steer in the direction you want to go**. If there is no room to accelerate, shift into neutral or push in the clutch. Remember, front-wheel drive vehicles have positive, accurate, and quick steering; the vehicle goes exactly where you point it.

Four-wheel drive vehicles have a tendency of giving the driver a false sense of security. Therefore, slower speeds on slippery surfaces are extremely important. When traveling at moderate speeds, you should **accelerate and steer into the direction of the skid**.

At higher speeds, or in the event there is no room to accelerate, you should push in the clutch or with automatic transmission vehicles, shift into neutral.

RAIN

A hard surface roadway is very slippery just

after it starts raining. Water combines with the road dirt and oil to form a slick film between your tires and the roadway surface.

When the water on the roadway becomes deeper, another hazardous situation occurs: hydroplaning. This occurs when your tires ride on the water and not on roadway surface.

Rain reduces visibility and increases the possibility of a dangerous skid. Slow down and be alert.

FLOODING

Flooding can occur when streams and rivers flow over their banks, when dams or levees break, when there is run-off from deep snow or any time there is heavy rainfall. Floodwaters can be found on roads, bridges and low areas. Flash floods can come rapidly and unexpectedly. They can occur within a few minutes or hours of excessive rainfall.

- It is not legal to enter a road that is officially closed due to hazardous conditions. The penalty for doing this is a \$250 fine.
- Do not drive through flooded areas. If you see a flooded roadway ahead, turn around and find another route to get to your destination.
- Be cautious, **especially at night**, when the visibility is limited.
- Remember, six inches of water will reach the bottom of most passenger cars, causing loss of control or possible stalling.
- Two feet of moving water can carry away most vehicles including sport utility vehicles and pick-up trucks.
- Even if the water appears shallow enough to cross, do not attempt to cross a flooded road. Water can hide dips, or worse, floodwaters can damage roadways by washing away the underlying road surface.
- If there is no other route, proceed to higher ground and wait for the water to subside.

FLAT TIRE OR BLOWOUTS

While you are driving, if one of your tires becomes flat or you have a blowout, you might lose control of your vehicle. The warning sign to listen for is a thumping sound. If a front tire blows out, your vehicle will pull in the direction of the blown tire. A flat rear tire will cause the vehicle to sway back and forth.

To regain control, grasp the steering wheel tightly and steer straight ahead. Ease up on the accelerator, but do not brake until you have regained full control. Turn onto the shoulder when your vehicle is almost stopped.

RUNNING OFF THE PAVEMENT

If your tire drops off the edge of the pavement onto the shoulder, do not try to swerve back onto the pavement because you may lose control of your vehicle.

Grip the steering wheel and ease up on the accelerator. If you brake hard, you may go into a skid. After you have slowed down and are in complete control, look for traffic behind you, signal, and turn gently back onto the pavement.

EQUIPMENT FAILURE

If your headlights suddenly fail, try your parking lights and turn signals and leave the roadway as soon as you have slowed down. Remember, without lights other drivers can no longer see you.

If your windshield wipers fail in rain or snow, slow down and stick your head out your side window in order to see as you leave the roadway.

If your accelerator pedal sticks, depress the clutch or shift it into neutral. You may also turn the engine off; however, this may result in the loss of power steering and power brakes. Never turn your vehicle's ignition to the "lock" position while it is still in motion. This will cause the steering to lock if you try to turn the steering wheel. When you can do so safely, steer to the side of the road.

Brakes do their best job just before the tires

lock and start to skid or slide on the road surface.

READING THE ROAD

As an operator, you must adjust your speed to fit the weather, traffic conditions, and the condition of the road. Slow down when you are driving where there are ruts, holes, broken pavement, or other objects on the road. Do not slam on your brakes or steer hard to avoid these obstacles.

Driving on loose gravel is harder than driving on pavement because your tires don't have the traction needed to give you stable control. Slow down and avoid sudden changes in direction.

Should an oncoming vehicle cross into your lane, slow down and try to warn the oncoming driver by flashing your headlights. If the vehicle keeps coming, pull as far to the right as possible. If there could be a collision, steer off the road to the right when conditions permit, or stop on the far right shoulder of the road.

DISTRACTED DRIVING

Driving requires your **full attention**. It is not legal for anyone to text (composing, reading, or sending an electronic message) while driving or fail to maintain control of a motor vehicle due to activity that is not necessary to the operation of the vehicle and actually impairs, or would reasonably be expected to impair, the ability of the individual to safely operate the vehicle. The penalty is a \$100 fine.

DRIVING POSTURE

Drive with both hands holding the steering wheel. You never know when evasive action may be needed. So be ready. Use one foot to operate both the gas pedal and brake pedal to avoid riding the brakes which can cause them to overheat.

FATIGUE

Fatigue (being tired) increases the chance of a crash. If you are sleepy, the only safe cure is to get some sleep. If you don't, you risk your life and the lives of others. Danger signs of fatigue are: difficulty in focusing or keeping eyes open, inability to recall the last few miles driven, having the sense of being detached or watching the vehicle being driven rather than driving it, crossing the centerline or dropping off the edge of the pavement, missing traffic signs or lights, tailgating or following other vehicles more closely than you normally would, forgetting to dim headlights, excessive yawning, and inability to hold head up (nodding off).

SHARING THE ROAD WITH TRUCKS

It may sound obvious, but trucks are not large cars. To reduce the chance of a crash with a large tractor-trailer, the so-called "18-wheeler," drivers must be familiar with a truck's physical capabilities and common maneuvers.

Braking

Tractor-trailers take longer to stop than a car traveling at the same speed. A fully-loaded tractor-trailer may take more than 400 feet on dry pavement to come to a complete stop, or more than the length of a football field.

Turning

With any turning vehicle, the rear wheels follow a shorter path than the front wheels. The longer the vehicle, the greater the difference. That's why the drivers of tractor-trailers must often swing out to the left as the first step in making a right turn. When following a tractortrailer, observe its turn signals before trying to pass. If it appears to be starting a left turn, wait a moment to check and see which way the driver is signaling he's going to turn before passing on the right.

A Trucker's Blind Spots (the "No-Zone")

It is important to be seen whenever you are driving. Many drivers falsely assume that a trucker can see the road better because they sit twice as high as the driver of a car. While truckers do enjoy a better forward view and have bigger mirrors, they still have serious blind spots or no-zones into which a car can disappear from view—up to 20 feet in front of the cab, on either side of the tractor-trailer, particularly alongside the cab, and up to 200 feet in the rear.



Drivers lingering in the blind spots on the sides and in the rear hamper a trucker's ability to take evasive action to avoid a dangerous situation—and the possibility of a crash is increased. An excellent rule of thumb for drivers sharing the road with a tractor-trailer is, "If you can't see the truck driver in his or her side mirror, he or she can't see you."

Maneuverability

Trucks are designed to carry many products to and from towns and cities; they are not designed to be as maneuverable as cars. Trucks have longer stopping and accelerating distances, wider turning radii, and weigh more. On multi-lane highways, tractor-trailers stay in the center lane to help the flow of local traffic on and off the highway. Staying in the middle lane also increases the truck driver's options if he or she has to switch lanes in order to avoid a dangerous situation or a crash.

Following is a list of some of the most common mistakes drivers must avoid when driving around trucks.

- Cutting off a truck in traffic or on the highway to reach your exit or turn. Cutting into the open space in front of a truck removes the truck driver's cushion of safety. Trying to beat a truck to a single-lane construction zone represents a particularly dangerous situation. Take a moment to slow down and exit behind a truck—it will only take you a few extra seconds.
- Don't linger alongside a truck when passing. Always pass a tractor-trailer completely and always on the left side. If you linger when passing any vehicle, your position makes it impossible for the trucker to take evasive action if an obstacle appears on the road ahead.
- Following too close or tailgating. When following behind a truck, if you can't see the truck driver's rearview mirrors, there is no way the truck driver can see you. Tailgating a truck or car is dangerous because you take away your own cushion of safety if the vehicle in front of you stops short—and if the vehicle you are following hits something on the road, you will have no time to react

before it hits the front of your car.

 Never underestimate the size and speed of an approaching tractor-trailer. Because of its large size, a tractor-trailer often appears to be traveling at a slower speed than it is. A substantial number of car-truck collisions take place at intersections because the driver of the car does not realize how close the truck is or how quickly it is approaching.

MOVE OVER

If a motor vehicle is stranded along the interstate or multilane highway outside city limits, with flashing hazard lights, a driver approaching or passing this vehicle should yield the right of way and move safely to the lane not adjacent to the stranded vehicle. If only lane available to move safely to is the adjacent lane to the stranded vehicle, proceed with caution and reduce speed.

SHARING THE ROAD WITH MOTORCYCLES

Motorcyclists have the same rights and responsibilities on public roadways as other drivers. Special conditions and situations often cause greater problems for motorcyclists. Drivers should be aware of these problems so they can more safely share the roadway with motorcyclists.

Special Hazards

- Allow the motorcyclist a full lane width. Although it may seem as though there is enough room in the traffic lane for an automobile and a motorcycle, remember the motorcycle needs the room to maneuver safely. Do not share the lane.
- Approximately one-half of all motorcycle crashes involve another motor vehicle. Nearly 40 percent were caused by the other vehicle turning left in front of the motorcyclist.
- Motorcycles are small and may be difficult to see. Motorcycles have a much smaller profile than other vehicles, which can make it more difficult to judge the speed and distance of an approaching motorcycle.
- Always signal your intentions before changing lanes or merging with traffic. This allows the motorcyclist to anticipate traffic flow and find a safe lane position.
- Remember that motorcyclists are often hidden in a vehicle's blind spot or missed in a quick look due to their smaller size. Always make a visual check for motorcycles by checking mirrors and blind spots before entering or leaving a lane of traffic and at intersections.
- Don't be fooled by a flashing turn signal on a motorcycle—motorcycle signals usually are not self cancelling and riders sometimes forget to turn them off. Wait to be sure the motorcycle is going to turn before you proceed.
- Remember that road conditions which are minor annoyances to you pose major hazards to motorcyclists. Motorcyclists may change speed or adjust their position within a lane suddenly in reaction to road and traffic conditions such as potholes, gravel, wet or slippery surfaces, pavement seams, railroad crossings, and grooved pavement.
- Allow more following distance, three or four seconds, following a motorcycle so the motorcyclist has enough time to maneuver or stop in an emergency. In dry conditions, motorcycles can stop more quickly than a car.

Being aware of these situations can help you as a driver share the road safely with motorcyclists.

SHARING THE ROAD WITH BICYCLES

Bicyclists generally travel at slower speeds than motorists which can create special considerations for sharing the road safely.

- Remember to reduce speed when encountering bicyclists.
- Recognize situations that may be potentially dangerous to bicyclists and give them space.
- When passing, maintain a safe operating

distance between your car and a bicyclist. The individual operating the motor vehicle is required to leave a minimum of three feet of passing space between the vehicle and bicycle. Pass a bicyclist only when road and traffic conditions dictate that it is safe to do so. Check over your shoulder after passing a bicyclist and before moving back t normal position. In inclement weather, give bicyclists extra room.

- Scan for bicyclists in traffic, particularly at intersections. Most crashes involving a motor vehicle and a bicyclist occur at intersections. Allow bicyclists extra time to cross intersections.
- When turning right, check your blind spot for bicyclists before initiating the turn.
- Avoid driving in designated bicycle lanes other than to make a right turn. Do so safely; signal and look before moving into the bicycle lane on approach to your turn.
- Children on bicycles are often unpredictable and may not have adequate knowledge of traffic laws. Children may be harder to see because they are typically smaller than adults. So, expect the unexpected and slow down!

SEAT BELTS

There is no good excuse for not wearing seat belts. Seat belts have been proven to be one of the most effective safety devices today. Most of the traffic deaths and serious injuries occur when the driver and passengers are ejected or are thrown onto the dashboard. Your chances of being killed are four times greater if you are thrown from the vehicle. Seat belts help keep vehicle occupants in place, reducing the chance of death or injury. This is not only for highway driving. In fact, crashes causing injury are most likely to occur at speeds less than 40 miles per hour and within 25 miles of home. At 30 miles per hour, the force is like hitting the ground from the top of a three-story building. Drivers have much to gain by taking a few seconds to fasten their seat belts. Not only do seat belts protect you, but seat belts help you maintain proper riding and driving posture making you feel less tired after a trip.

Belts must be worn correctly. Lap belts should lie snug and low across the hips, not across the abdomen. Shoulder belts should lie across the chest and over the collarbone with minimal, if any, slack.

Automatic seat belts automatically move into place around front-seat occupants when the car doors are closed. A separate lap belt must be fastened manually to provide sufficient protection with automatic shoulder belts.

Wear Your Belt Correctly

North Dakota's seat belt law requires all occupants to wear seat belts in all seating positions.



AIR BAGS

Air bags are designed to provide supplemental protection for belted front-seat occupants in a frontal crash. Lap/shoulder belts must always be used in conjunction with an airbag to protect occupants in side-impact and roll-over crashes. Air bags work best when everyone is buckled and children, especially those age 12 and younger, are properly restrained in the back seat. If you transport children, check the vehicle and child restraint manufacturers' recommendations for child restraint use in vehicles with side air bags.

CHILD RESTRAINTS (Car Safety Seats)

Motor vehicle crashes are a leading cause of death and injury for children in North Dakota.

Tragically, most deaths and injuries can be prevented with the proper use of car safety seats and seat belts.

North Dakota's child passenger safety law requires:

- Children under eight years of age must be properly secured in a child restraint (car seat or booster seat). A seat belt may be substituted for children who are at least 57 inches tall.
- Children ages eight through seventeen must be properly secured in a seat belt or child restraint.
- Child restraints and seat belts must be used correctly following the manufacturer's instructions.

The penalty for violation is \$25 and one point against the license of the driver.

Incorrectly-used car seats may not protect a child in a crash. Follow the manufacturer's instructions and vehicle owner's manual exactly. Correct use of a child restraint includes (1) installing the car seat tightly in the vehicle with the safety belt or LATCH system and (2) snugly securing the child in the car safety seat.

Other child passenger safety tips:

- Children under age 13 should ride in the back seat—even if the vehicle does not have an airbag.
- Never place a rear-facing infant car seat in front of an airbag.
- Children should be at least 40 pounds and at least 4 years of age to move from a car seat to a booster seat.
- Never allow children to ride in the cargo area of a pickup truck.
- Never buckle two children into one seat belt.

For more information, contact the North Dakota Department of Health at www.ndhealth. gov/injury/ or call 1-800-472-2286.

HEATSTROKE

Heatstroke is one of the leading causes of non-crash-related fatalities among children. Vehicle heatstroke occurs when a child is left in a vehicle, allowing for the child's body temperature to rise in a quick and deadly manner. Heatstroke begins when the core body temperature reaches about 104 degrees and the thermoregulatory system is overwhelmed. A core body temperature of about 107 degrees is lethal. Unfortunately, even great parents can forget a child in the back seat. Other risk factors include caregivers who are not used to driving kids, or whose routine suddenly changes. Whether you are a parent, caregiver, or bystander of a child left in a vehicle, it is vitally important to understand children are more vulnerable to heatstroke than adults are.

Even in cooler temperatures, your vehicle can heat up to dangerous temperatures very quickly. An outside temperature in the mid-60s can cause a vehicle's inside temperature to rise above 110 degrees Fahrenheit. The inside temperature of a vehicle can rise almost 20 degrees Fahrenheit within the first 10 minutes.

HEATSTROKE PREVENTION TIPS

- Look before you lock. Make it a habit to look in your back seat before you lock.
- Keep your vehicle locked and keep your keys out of reach. Nationally, nearly 3 in 10 heatstroke deaths happen when an unattended child gains access to a vehicle.
- Take action if you notice a child alone in a vehicle.

It is never okay to leave a child alone in a vehicle for any amount of time, as it can lead to tragedy. These deaths, while accidental, are always preventable.

DRINKING, DRUGS, AND DRIVING

ALCOHOL

More traffic deaths on the nation's highways

are caused by alcohol than any other single cause. In North Dakota, nearly half of the traffic deaths involve drivers who have been drinking prior to the crash. There is evidence proving that if you drink—even just a little your chances of a crash are seven times greater than if you were completely sober.

Alcohol is a drug that slows the activity of the brain. When alcohol enters the stomach, it goes directly into the blood and other parts of the body. It reduces the amount of oxygen that reaches the brain cells.

Alcohol directly affects a person's ability to drive. When a person drinks increasing amounts of alcohol, the degree of impairment and the intensity of the effect will rise rapidly.

The amount or concentration of alcohol in the blood or breath is known as Alcohol Concentration or AC. Three factors influence a person's AC:

- 1. THE ALCOHOL CONTENT. In the "average drink" the alcohol content is about the same whether it's a 12-ounce can of beer, a 4-ounce glass of wine, or a 1-ounce glass of scotch or whiskey. Remember that, in reality, mixed drinks at home or in a lounge VARY a great degree. Drinks at a private party tend to be quite a bit stronger.
- 2. THE PERIOD OF TIME OVER WHICH THE ALCOHOL WAS CONSUMED. The more alcohol you consume the longer it takes to sober up. Time is the only way to eliminate alcohol from the blood stream. This process is relatively slow and will not be quickened by drinking coffee, taking cold showers, or exercising.
- 3. THE PERSON'S LEAN BODY WEIGHT. Larger people have more blood and fluids which will dilute the alcohol consumed more than in a smaller person.

EFFECTS OF ALCOHOL

- 1. Alcohol slows down reactions.
- 2. Alcohol impairs vision.
- 3. Alcohol interferes with concentration.

- 4. Alcohol dulls judgment.
- 5. Alcohol creates a false sense of confidence.

Alcohol is a drug that **depresses** the central nervous system and slows down brain activity. Alcohol in the bloodstream slows reaction time, interferes with the driver's vision, and causes dangerous situations to appear "not so dangerous."

IMPLIED CONSENT

Upon receiving your license to operate a motor vehicle in North Dakota, you have given your consent to a chemical test to determine the level of alcohol and/or drug content in your blood, breath, urine, or saliva. If you refuse to take the test, your license will be revoked for 180 days to three years. *Remember: A chemical test can help you. If you are not legally intoxicated, the test will show it.*

DRIVING WHILE UNDER THE INFLUENCE

If a chemical test reveals that you have eight one-hundredths of one percent (.08%) or greater of alcohol in your blood, or .02% if under the age of 21, you are considered legally to be under the influence of alcohol. The penalties for driving in this dangerous condition are harsh.

What will happen to your driving privileges?

There are two separate penalties involved under the DUI law. One is an administrative license penalty, the other is a court conviction penalty. Your driving privileges may be suspended through either or both processes.

- If you have an alcohol concentration (AC) of .08 percent or more or .02 percent or more if you are under age 21, your license will be suspended for:
 - » 91 days, first offense in seven years
 - » 180 days, first offense, AC .18 or greater in seven years
 - » 365 days, second offense in seven years

- » two years, second offense, AC .18 or greater in seven years
- » two years, third and subsequent offense in seven years
- » three years, third and subsequent offense, AC .18 or greater in seven years
- If you refuse to take either an AC test or a roadside preliminary breath test (PBT), your license will be revoked for 180 days to three years.
- Temporary restricted license can be issued after serving at least 30 days of suspension or after serving at least 14 days if participating in the 24/7 Sobriety Program.
- Temporary restricted licenses can only be issued if within the past 7 years there has been a refusal or more than one alcohol/ drug related violation. Participation in the 24/7 Sobriety Program is required until one year violation free.

There are also harsh penalties for driving while your license is suspended or revoked after an alcohol-related violation—four days mandatory minimum jail sentence and a fine of up to \$1,000.

• The license plates and registration card for your vehicle may be impounded for the length of the suspension/revocation.

What happens if you're convicted?

If convicted through the court process, in addition to losing your driving privilege, you also face mandatory fines and jail sentences.

- First conviction—\$500 fine.
- First conviction if the AC is .16% or greater —at least \$750 fine and two days imprisonment. The term of imprisonment may be converted to community service.
- Second conviction within seven years —\$1,000 fine and 10 days in jail and at least 12 months in the 24/7 Sobriety Program as a mandatory condition of probation.
- Third conviction within seven years—\$2,000

fine and 120 days in jail and participation in the 24/7 Sobriety Program as a mandatory condition of probation.

• Fourth or subsequent offense—\$2,000 fine and one year and one day in jail and participation in the 24/7 Sobriety Program as a mandatory condition of probation.

In addition, all convicted offenders are required to submit to a mandatory alcohol addiction evaluation and complete any recommended treatment. These are just the minimum penalties. It could be worse!

What happens if you cause a serious injury or death?

In addition to the minimum penalties for DUI, if you are involved in a crash and cause a serious injury to another, you will spend an additional 90 days in jail. If you cause the death of another, your time in jail is extended by one year.

What happens to your insurance?

If you refuse to take an AC test, or if convicted of a DUI, the law requires you to show proof of financial responsibility (SR 22 insurance coverage).

Typically, motor vehicle insurance is obtained to satisfy this requirement. Chances are your annual motor vehicle insurance rates could double—or even triple!

REPORTING IMPAIRED DRIVING

If you exhibit or encounter out-of-the-ordinary driving that would indicate alcohol impairment, anyone can report this to law enforcement by dialing 911.

OPEN CONTAINER LAW

It is illegal for anyone, driver or passenger, to drink alcoholic beverages in or on a motor vehicle. You cannot legally have an open container in your vehicle. The seal cannot be broken. Any open containers must be placed in the trunk of the vehicle.

MINOR IN POSSESSION/CONSUMPTION LAW

Persons under 21 years of age are prohibited from purchasing, consuming, or possessing alcoholic beverages.

DRUGS

Drugs and driving do not mix. Even certain cold tablets and capsules can affect your driving ability by making you drowsy at the wheel. Read all directions carefully.

As with alcohol, operating while under the influence of a narcotic drug is especially dangerous. Not only do you endanger your life, but you also endanger the lives of others using the same road. The harsh penalties that deal with operating under the influence of alcohol also apply to narcotic drugs.

PEDESTRIAN TRAFFIC AND RECREATIONAL VEHICLES

PEDESTRIANS

Traffic rules apply to pedestrians as well as motorists. Some special rules for pedestrians are listed below.

Remember: Joggers are considered pedestrians and must also obey these rules.

Obey traffic signals. Walk in the crosswalks.

Do not start to cross the roadway on a flashing "Don't Walk" signal. If you are already in the intersection, move to the other side at a normal pace.

If you cross a road where there is no crosswalk, you must yield the right of way to all vehicles on the roadway.

Do not cross intersections diagonally unless an official traffic control device says you may.

Walk facing traffic. Use sidewalks when you can; if there are no sidewalks, get as far off the road as possible.

You have the right of way only in crosswalks. Yield to vehicles any place else. Use your common sense—yield if there is any danger. When you walk at night, walk facing traffic and wear light or white clothing. Make sure drivers can see you.

You are not allowed to stand on the traveled portion of the street or highway for the purpose of hitchhiking.

Drivers must always be on the lookout for pedestrians. Be alert for children at play. For instance, a ball rolling onto the street tells you a child might be chasing it. Your reactions might save a life.

RECREATIONAL VEHICLES

Bicycles and Motorized Bicycles

Traffic laws apply to everyone. Whether you are driving a car, truck, motorcycle, bicycle, or motorized bicycle, you must always obey the same basic rules of the road.

A motorized bicycle is a two- or three-wheeled vehicle no more than 32 inches wide. It must also have:

- 1. Foot pedals or footrests.
- 2. Maximum piston or rotor displacement of 49.98 cc. (3.05 cubic inches) enabling a speed not to exceed 30 miles per hour on a level surface.
- 3. An automatic drive system not requiring the use of a clutch.

To operate a motorized bicycle, you must be at least 14 years of age or older and have in your immediate possession a valid operator's license, motorized bicycle permit, operator permit, temporary permit, instruction permit, or motorcycle permit.

Rules and Guidelines

- · Obey all traffic laws.
- Ride not more than two abreast (single file is safest).
- Keep to the right side of the roadway.
- Give pedestrians the right of way.
- Use hand signals before turning and stop-

ping (see page 16).

- Do not carry more people on a bicycle or motorized bicycle than it was designed to carry.
- All bicycles and motorized bicycles must be equipped with a brake.
- If under 18, an approved safety helmet is required to operate a motorized bicycle. A good practice is to wear a safety helmet while riding a bicycle and motorized bicycle regardless of age.
- It is a good idea to wear brightly-colored clothing to increase your visibility in traffic.
- Only carry a package or bundle if it allows you to keep at least one hand on the handlebar.
- Do not hold on to other moving vehicles for the purpose of being towed.
- At night, all bicycles must be equipped with a headlight visible from a distance of 500 feet. The bicycle must also have a red reflector on the rear. If equipped with a taillight, it must be visible for 500 feet to the rear.

OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLES

The operator of an off-highway vehicle must be in possession of a valid driver's license, permit, or an off-highway vehicle safety certificate issued by the North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department. For complete information on minimum age requirements, call 328-5357 or visit <u>www.parkrec.nd.gov</u>

OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLES RULES

There are a number of rules regulating the operation of an off-highway vehicle. Here are some of them:

- Persons under the age of 18 must wear a safety helmet that meets United States Department of Transportation standards.
- Do not operate an off-highway vehicle on the roadway, shoulder, or inside bank or slope of any road, street, or highway except as provided in Chapter 39-29 of the North

Dakota Century Code. Review your owners manual before operating.

- Cross streets or highways at an angle of approximately 90 degrees to the direction of the highway and at a place where no obstruction prevents a quick and safe crossing. Come to a complete stop before crossing the shoulder or main-traveled roadway. You must yield the right of way to all roadway traffic. When crossing a divided highway, cross only at an intersection of the highway with another street or highway.
- Except in emergencies, you may not operate within the right of way of any controlledaccess highway.
- A person who is performing pest control or survey work for a political subdivision may operate an off-highway vehicle on the bottom, back slope, inside slope, and shoulder of a highway other than a controlled-access highway.
- A licensed driver may operate a registered off-highway vehicle:
 - » On a gravel, dirt, or loose surface roadway.
 - » On a paved highway designated and posted at a speed not exceeding 55 mph.
- A licensed driver over 16 years of age may operate a registered class III off-highway vehicle on a paved highway designated and posted at a speed not exceeding 65 mph.
- All off-highway vehicles operated on paved highways or gravel, dirt, or loose surface roadways must meet the equipment requirement in 39-29 of the North Dakota Century Code.

SNOWMOBILES

In order to operate a snowmobile on a highway right of way, you must have in your possession a valid driver's license or a snowmobile safety certificate issued by the North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department. For complete information on minimum age requirements, call 328-5357 or visit <u>www.</u> <u>parkrec.nd.gov</u>.

Equipment

Your snowmobile must have:

- A headlight.
- A taillight.
- Brakes.
- A leakproof exhaust system which includes a muffler.

Snowmobile Rules

There are a number of different rules regulating when and where you can operate a snowmobile. Here are some of them.

- Persons under the age of 18 must wear a safety helmet that meets United States Department of Transportation standards.
- Never operate a snowmobile on the roadway, shoulder, or inside bank of any road in North Dakota.
- Never operate on the right of way of any Interstate highway. The right of way includes the driving portion of the road, the median, the shoulders, and the ditches on either side.
- If you operate in any ditch alongside the roadway, move in the same direction as roadway traffic.
- Never operate on any right of way from April 1 to November 1 of any year.
- If you must cross a roadway, yield the right of way to all roadway traffic. Come to a complete stop before reaching the shoulder of the road; proceed at right angles to the road when it is clear.
- On a divided highway, cross only at intersections.
- When required for your safety and that of others, use your headlights and taillights.
- Never operate while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Do not harass any animals with your snowmobile. You are liable for damages.
- Never operate where your machine will damage trees and plants.
- Do not operate on private land without permission.

POINT SYSTEM

North Dakota uses a point system to improve safety on the roads. Under the North Dakota point system, each traffic violation is assigned a certain amount of points. The more serious the offense, the higher its point value. After each violation, the corresponding amount of points are added to the driver's record. This normally occurs within 10 days of conviction. When the record reveals a total of 12 or more points, the driver will be informed that the authorities intend to suspend his or her license. The driver will also be notified that he or she may have an administrative hearing. If it is found to be true that the driver in guestion has 12 or more points, the license will be suspended according to the following table:

| Accumulated Point Total | Period of Suspension |
|----------------------------|----------------------------------|
| 12 | 7 days |
| 13 and above | 7 days for each point over 11 |

The point total can be reduced:

- 1. ONE POINT—for every three-month period during which the driver has not had any points recorded against his/her record.
- 2. THREE POINTS—if the driver completes an approved driver improvement course such as a defensive driving course.
- 3. A person may elect to attend a driver improvement course in lieu of points on the driving record for violations assigned five or less points. This option is valid once every 12 months and may not be used in conjunction with item 2 above.

PARENT/GUARDIAN DRIVER COACHING TIPS

WITHDRAWAL OF PARENTAL CONSENT

Consent of a parent or legal guardian is required for a minor to get a permit or a license. The person who consented can withdraw the consent at any time and the permit or license will be cancelled. A teen can regain their permit or license with parental consent or when they reach the age of 18.

DRIVING RISKS — What Parents Need to Know

Driving can be a potentially dangerous endeavor for everyone; however, it is more dangerous for young drivers. Novice teen drivers crash more than any other age group. There are many reasons for this, including:

- Young Age/Lack of Maturity: Teenagers can make more errors in judgment than other age groups. Be aware your teen is likely to drive differently and take more risks when you are not in the vehicle.
- Brain Development: Teens should be the world's best drivers. Their muscles are well toned, their reaction time quick, their eyehand coordination at a peak. Yet car crashes kill more of them than any other cause — a problem, some researchers believe, that is rooted in the adolescent brain. A National Institutes of Health study suggests that the region of the brain that inhibits risky behavior is not fully formed until age 25.
- **Risky Driving Behaviors:** Teenagers may engage in risky driving behaviors. These include speeding, running red and yellow lights, running stop signs, tailgating, weaving in and out of traffic, not keeping a safe distance for merging or changing lanes, misjudging gaps in traffic, and misjudging the capability of their vehicle.
- **Distractions:** Any new or inexperienced driver is challenged when faced with driving distractions. Music, cell phones, pets, and passengers are best left at home while your teen is learning to drive.
- **Driving Inexperience:** Teenagers lack driving experience. It takes a LOT of practice to be able to safely maneuver in everyday situations and unexpected circumstances. Teens show the greatest improvement within the first year and 1,000 miles of driving. They continue to improve through their first 5,000 miles of driving.

HIGH-RISK DRIVING CONDITIONS

 Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs: Drinking any — yes, any — amount of alcohol produces impairment. Not only is the use of alcohol and illicit drugs illegal, the combination of alcohol or drugs and driving can be deadly.

- **High Speeds:** For teen drivers (especially males), most severe crashes occur at high speeds. Crash risk, severity, and force all increase as speed increases.
- **Passengers:** For teen drivers, as the number of passengers increase, teen crashes increase. Driving is a "new skill" for teens, and they need to pay close attention. Teen passengers can be a major distraction. Teen passengers may intentionally or unintentionally encourage friends to speed, show off, or not pay enough attention to driving.
- Night Driving: For teen drivers, the most severe crashes occur at night and on weekends. Night driving is challenging for all drivers, but novice teen drivers do not have the experience to anticipate and react to conditions at night when visibility is reduced. Make sure your teen gets extensive practice driving with you in varied types of weather. Be aware that teenagers driving at night usually include a lack of adult supervision, carrying passengers, and driving at high speeds, all of which increase risk exponentially.
- Seat Belt Non-Use: Seat belt non-use is a problem for both drivers and passengers. Seat belts are important because they keep the driver and passengers inside the vehicle where they are the safest.

Driver education is the beginning of the process of learning to drive, but teens need many, many hours of practice to become safe drivers.

TIPS FOR SUPERVISING TEEN DRIVING

PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!! Practice as much as possible, even after your teen gets their license.

• Who: Practice with *only* you and your teen in the vehicle. Other people, pets, etc., can distract both of you and increase stress. Remember: remain calm and focused; making mistakes is part of learning, and practice driving is serious, but it should also be interesting and engaging.

- What: Practice the driving skills yourself that your teen is learning. Begin with basic skills such as turning, parking, and backing up. Then, practice more complex skills such as changing lanes and merging.
- When: In the beginning, practice during daylight hours with good weather. As your teen's skills increase, *gradually* expose them to different roads, weather conditions, and times of day.
- Where: In the beginning, practice in safe, low-risk driving areas. Start out in empty parking lots or on remote roads. As your teen's skills increase, progress to quiet neighborhood streets and later to busier roads and highways.
- Why: Learning to drive is a complex, ongoing process requiring responsibility and dedication from both parents and teens. New drivers need a lot of practice to handle daily driving hazards and unexpected situations. Teens will show the greatest improvement in the first 1,000 to 5,000 miles of driving.

Do These Each Time You Practice

- Be in the "practicing mood." Practice when both of you are ready, in good moods, have sufficient time, and are well rested.
- Adjust mirrors, seat belts, seats, and steering wheel position before starting the vehicle.
- Always wear your seat belts and use your headlights day and night!
- Come to a complete stop at stop signs and for right turns at red lights.
- When proceeding from a stop look left, then front (straight ahead), then right before proceeding.
- Keep your eyes moving. Use your mirrors to check around and behind the vehicle every 6-8 seconds.

- Keep at least a 3-4 second space between your vehicle and others in traffic flow. Try to stay centered in your lane of travel.
- Avoid the "No-Zone" with trucks or buses. This is about 15 feet on all sides of the truck. If you cannot see truck drivers in their mirrors, they cannot see you either.
- Be aware—Speed increases braking distance. Doubling your speed will quadruple your braking distance. The faster you're going, the longer it takes to stop.
- Be aware—Vehicle weight increases braking distance. Doubling your vehicle weight will double your braking distance. If you are driving a large vehicle or towing a trailer it takes longer to stop.

North Dakota law sets requirements for teen driving, but families need to determine other rules and limits for their teen drivers. Make sure that family rules are very clear from the beginning. Talk to your teen about driving every chance you get.

USE A PARENT-TEEN DRIVING AGREEMENT

Use a Parent-Teen Driving Agreement to determine appropriate rules and guidelines for your teen driver, and to make sure everyone is clear about them! A sample agreement can be found on the internet at <u>www.dot.nd.gov/divisions/safety/teens-parents.htm</u> under "Education."

DRIVING RULES/GUIDELINES FOR YOUR FAMILY

- Require Seat Belt Use: This applies to your teen and all passengers at all times.
- **Prohibit Alcohol and/or Drug Use:** This applies to your teen as the driver of any vehicle.
- Prohibit Riding with Someone Who Has Used Alcohol or Drugs: This applies to your teen as the passenger in another vehicle.
- Require Compliance With Speed Limits: Stress that this applies to all roads at

all times because crash forces at higher speeds kill.

- **Prohibit Distractions While Driving:** Prohibit cell phone use, eating, drinking, pets or changing radio or CDs while driving.
- **Require a Full Report:** Require information about each trip before leaving, including where your teen is going, with whom, and when they will return so that you know where they are.

PROVIDE A SAFE, RELIABLE VEHICLE FOR YOUR TEEN

- Mid- to full-size sedans and station wagons with smaller engines and airbags are safest for teen drivers.
- Under certain conditions, small trucks and SUVs may be more prone to roll-overs than other types of vehicles.
- High-performance cars may encourage teens to drive beyond their experience level.

IMPOSE CONSEQUENCES FOR VIOLATING RULES/GUIDELINES

- Make consequences relate to losing driving privileges: for a day, weekend, week, month, etc., depending on the violation.
- Consequences not related to losing driving privileges will not be as effective in sending the messages: "You must be a responsible driver" and "I am serious about your following the rules and limits for driving."
- Consider requiring your teen to complete additional supervised practice.

Make consequences known: Set consequences for common violations *before they occur* so that your teen knows what to expect.

- Getting a speeding ticket.
- Coming home less than 30 minutes after curfew.
- Coming home more than 30 minutes after curfew.
- Lying about their whereabouts.

In North Dakota, teen drivers account for about 20 percent of fatal crashes. So, before you ever get into the car, make sure that both you and your teen understand the basics.

TEEN-DRIVER TRAINING ORIENTATION

Before you begin training, make sure you know common teen driving errors and ways you can help your teen be a better driver.

Top 11 Driving Errors

- 1. Not attending to the path of travel.
- 2. Driving five or more miles per hour too fast for conditions.
- 3. Driving too fast through a curve.
- 4. Inadequate search at an intersection and failing to yield to cross traffic.
- 5. Lack of attention at an intersection and being struck by another driver.
- Improper evasive action quick turn not executed properly.
- 7. Failure to maintain visual lead.
- 8. Failure to see action developing at side of the roadway.
- 9. Following too closely.
- 10. Willfully taking right-of-way.
- 11. Distracted.

AGGRESSIVE DRIVING

Drivers who routinely speed, run red lights and stop signs, tailgate, and otherwise disregard the safety of other motorists are turning streets and highways into high-risk arenas. Aggressive driving can easily escalate into road rage. We're all too familiar with stories of motorists who have killed or injured other drivers for seemingly trivial reasons.

When is it Aggressive Driving?

The following attitudes and behaviors indicate that problem driving behaviors are related to aggression rather than inexperience:

- Constant rushing, lane jumping, and the need to "get ahead."
- Ignoring road signs and regulations.
- Constantly ridiculing and criticizing other drivers.
- Denying entry into your lane or preventing passing.
- Speeding past another car, revving engine.
- Tailgating a driver to go faster or get out of their way.
- Honking, yelling, or making visible insulting gestures.

When Confronted by Aggressive Drivers:

- First and foremost, make every attempt to get out of their way.
- Put your pride in the back seat. Do not challenge them by speeding up or attempting to "hold-your-own" in your travel lane.
- Wear your seat belt. It will hold you in your seat and behind the wheel in case you need to make an abrupt driving maneuver and it will protect you in a crash.
- Avoid eye contact.
- Ignore gestures and refuse to return them.
- Report aggressive drivers to the appropriate authorities by providing a vehicle description, license number, location, and if possible, direction of travel.
- If you have a cell phone, and can do it safely, call 911.

AN EXERCISE TO BECOME FAMILIAR WITH BLIND SPOTS



The exercise above illustrates the area around the car the driver cannot see:

- While your teen is sitting in the driver's seat with the engine off, get out of the car and stand close to the front bumper facing the driver.
- Begin taking steps backward and have your teen tap the horn when he or she can see your feet.
- Place a cone or cup in that spot. This is the pavement area in front of the vehicle that cannot be seen when looking out of the windshield.

- Ask the driver to use the inside mirror and/ or to look over the right shoulder, and repeat this process to the rear of the vehicle.
- Walk backwards from the passenger doors on the left and right sides of the vehicle and place cups or cones to mark the side areas visible to the driver.
- Have your teen measure these distances and record them.

NOTES

SUPERVISED DRIVING LOG

Instruction permit holders under the age of 16 must complete a minimum of 50 hours of supervised, behind-the-wheel driving experience in various driving conditions that include:

- Driving in rural areas.
- Driving in urban areas.
- Driving on gravel, dirt, or aggregate surface roads.
- Night driving.
- Driving in winter conditions.

The log below will help you keep track of the hours required. **Please note that the 50 hours of supervised driving is in addition to the formal drivers education requirements.**

| Driving Log: Must practice driving in each of these conditions. When added together, must total a minimum of 50 hours. | Hours |
|-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|-------|-------|-------|-------|-------|-------|-------|
| Rural Areas | | | | | | | |
| Urban Areas | | | | | | | |
| Gravel/Dirt/Aggregate Road Surfaces | | | | | | | |
| Night Driving | | | | | | | |
| Winter Driving | | | | | | | |
| TOTAL HOURS | | | | | | | |
| Notes: | | | | | | | |

DOES YOUR LICENSE

Noth Datate Crever

Junique



May 7, 2025,

you may not be able to fly in the United States.

WHAT type of documentation is needed for REAL ID?

proof of age and identity

SUCH AS:

• U.S. Birth Certificate Passport (valid only).

*May need additional documentation if name varies from ID document.

proof of social security

SUCH AS:

 Original Social Security Card

- W-2 Form
- SSA-1099 Form

proofs of North Dakota residency

SUCH AS:

• Utility Bill

- Lease/Mortgage Document
- Homeowner's/Renter's
- Insurance

*For a full list of document options go to NDDOT website.

LEARN MORE: real-id.dot.nd.gov





YOU CAN'T ALWAYS BE IN THE CAR WITH THEM.

But you can give them the tools to be safer.



In-Person Courses Public Course (voluntary): \$60

Distance-Learning Courses Public Course (voluntary): \$80

10% Discount Use coupon code NDDOT

Defensive Driving course also available for experienced drivers. Alive at 25 is a highly interactive 4.5-hour program targeted toward drivers under the age of 25 that helps young drivers take greater responsibility for their driving. Whereas driver education teaches the mechanics of car and road handling and state law, Alive at 25 focuses on behavior, judgment, decision making and consequences, and provides tools for making positive choices.

Plus, courses are approved in ND for insurance discount and point reduction!

Vehicle crashes are the #I CAUSE OF DEATH

for young adults age 14 to 24





For more information, call 701-223-6372 or 800-932-8890

REGISTER TODAY!

www.ndsc.org

INDEX

| Aggressive Driving. | 43 |
|-------------------------------------------|----|
| Air Bags | 34 |
| Alcohol | 35 |
| Applying for a License or Permit | 4 |
| Backing | 27 |
| Bicycles - Sharing the Road | 33 |
| Blindspots - Become Familiar | 44 |
| Change of Name or Address | 7 |
| Child Restraints (Car Safety Seats). | 34 |
| Classes of Licenses. | 8 |
| Coasting Prohibited | 26 |
| Crash Reports | 27 |
| Distracted Driving | 30 |
| Driving Posture | 30 |
| Driving Risks - What Parents Need to Know | 40 |
| Driving Rules/Guidelines for Your Family | 42 |
| Driving While Under the Influence | 36 |
| Drugs | 37 |
| Duplicate Licenses/Permits | 7 |
| Equipment Failure | 30 |
| Examinations | 5 |
| Exemptions | 3 |
| Fatigue | 30 |
| Flat Tire or Blowouts | 30 |
| Flooding | 29 |
| Following & Stopping Distances | 21 |
| Hand Signals | 19 |
| High-Risk Driving Conditions. | 40 |
| Implied Consent. | 36 |
| | 42 |
| Interchanges | 24 |
| Interstate Driving | 23 |
| Lane Changes | 21 |

| Littering | 27 |
|------------------------------------------------|----|
| Minor in Possession/Consumption Law | 37 |
| Minors Driver License | 6 |
| Motorcycles - Sharing the Road | 32 |
| Special Hazards | 32 |
| Night Driving | 24 |
| Open Container Law | 37 |
| Organ, Tissue, and Eye Donation | 6 |
| Parent-Teen Driving Agreement | 42 |
| Parking | |
| Do Not Park | 26 |
| Emergency Parking | |
| Leaving a Parking Space | |
| Parallel Parking | |
| Parking on a Hill. | |
| Passing | |
| Pavement Markings | |
| Pedestrians | 37 |
| People Who Cannot Get a License | |
| Permits | |
| Point System | 40 |
| Provide a Safe, Reliable Vehicle for Your Teen | 42 |
| Railroad Crossings | 18 |
| Rain | 29 |
| Reading the Road | 30 |
| Recreational Vehicles | 38 |
| Bicycles and Motorized Bicycles | 38 |
| Off-Highway Vehicles | |
| Snowmobiles | 39 |
| Registering Your Motor Vehicle | 8 |
| Renewals | 7 |
| Reporting Impaired Driving | 37 |
| Restrictions | 7 |
| Right of Way | 19 |
| Roundabouts | 23 |

| Running off the Pavement | 30 |
|--------------------------------------------------------|----------|
| Seat Belts | 33 |
| Signals | |
| Flashing Indications | 15 |
| Left Turn Indications | 15 |
| Traffic Signals | 15 |
| Signs | |
| Guide | |
| Pedestrian | |
| Regulatory | |
| School | 12 12 |
| Warning | 11 |
| Skids | |
| Speed Limits | |
| Stop Intersections | 17 |
| | |
| Teen-Driver Training Orientation Top 11 Driving Errors | 43 43 |
| Teen Driving - Tips for Supervising | 41 |
| Do These Each Time You Practice | 41 |
| Towing | 26 |
| Trucks - Sharing the Road. | 31 |
| Blind Spots (the "No-Zone") | 31 |
| Braking | 31 |
| Maneuverability | |
| Turning | 31 |
| Turning | 22 |
| Wear Your Belt Correctly | 34 |
| Winter Driving | 27 |
| Meeting Snow Removal Equipment | 28 |
| Withdrawal of Parental Consent | 40 |
| Work Zone | |
| Channelizing Devices | 13 |
| Construction and Maintenance Devices. | 13 |
| Flagpersons | 14 |
| Flashing Arrow Panels | 13 |
| Safety Tips | 14 |

It is NDDOT's policy that all employees have the right to work in an environment free of harassment. An employee may discontinue service to a customer if the customer subjects the employee to conduct, communication, or sexually explicit paraphernalia which may interfere with the employee's work performance or create a hostile, intimidating, or offensive work environment.

Under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and its related statutes and regulations, no person or groups of persons shall, on the grounds of race, color, national origin, sex, age, disability, or income status, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be otherwise subjected to discrimination under any and all programs, services, or activities administered by the North Dakota Department of Transportation.







www.dot.nd.gov