Is DISTRACTED DRIVING worth $100?
Learn about the new ND Distracted Driving Law

Safety

One of NDDOT’s main goals is to enhance safety on North Dakota roads to reduce motor vehicle fatalities and injuries. This is accomplished through applying strategies in the 4E areas of education, enforcement, engineering and emergency medical services.

Every driver and vehicle occupant can play a role in reducing motor vehicle fatalities and injuries by wearing seat belts at all times, transporting children in child passenger safety (CPS) seats appropriate for the child’s age and height, not driving while distracted by cell phones or any other form of distraction, driving only when sober (not under the influence of alcohol or drugs) and obeying all posted speed limits.

Safety Programs and Education

Resources

  • Manuals for: Non-commercial Drivers License (Class D), Motorcycle Operator, Non-commercial Drivers License (Class D)

External Links

North Dakota Traffic Safety Laws

The information below are laws that were put in place by the North Dakota Legislature to protect the citizens of the State of North Dakota.

Distracted Driving Laws

  • Text messaging is prohibited for all drivers, and drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any electronic communications devices, including cell phones.
  • The law was expanded to include distracted driving to mean any distraction that impairs the ability to safely operate the vehicle.
    • If you're distracted while driving and commit a traffic violation, you can be given a $100 citation for distracted driving. This new expanded part of the law is effective August 1, 2017.
    • For more detailed information, view the North Dakota Century Code 39-08-25

More Distracted Driving Information

Seat Belt and Child Passenger Safety Laws

Drinking and Driving Laws

Teens Drivers & Parents

Driver Information/Education

Driver Education/Information

Traffic Safety

Street Skills