Print Friendly Version
Bismarck, ND – Starting September 4 through the end of the month, law enforcement
agencies in North Dakota will participate in the statewide U Drive. U Text.
U Pay. campaign to make our roads safer by enforcing the ban on texting
while driving. Texting drivers are six-times more likely to crash than a drunk
reading or sending any electronic message or using a communications device to
access the Internet while driving is illegal and punishable with a fine of
$100. The law applies to any driver of a vehicle in a traffic lane, even while
stopped at a red light or in a construction zone.
under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any electronic communications
device, including cell phone. For 14- and 15-year-olds, this law carries
a $20 fine and 4 points on a driver’s record. For 16-and 17-year-olds, this law
carries a $20 fine and no points on the driver’s record.
phone operating systems Apple and Android have “do not disturb while driving”
settings available to help limit distractions while driving. To learn more
about how to enable these features for your phone, search “how to enable do not
disturb while driving” in your internet browser.
your phone on silent when you drive,” says Bismarck Police Lt. Jeff Solemsaas.
“The less you hear it, the less likely you are to use it. Texting multiplies
your chance of a crash 23 times, so it’s time to turn off the noise and focus
campaign is part of the Vision Zero strategy to eliminate motor vehicle crash
fatalities and serious injuries on North Dakota roads.
North Dakota Crash Memorial wall to
view memorials built on the hope of preventing another death on North Dakota