Driving after drinking is deadly. Yet it still continues to happen. If you drive while impaired, you could get arrested, or worse-- be involved in a motor vehicle crash that causes serious injury or death.
On average over the past ten years, nearly 48 percent of motor vehicle fatalities have been alcohol-related in North Dakota. That is 620 motor vehicle fatalities that were 100 percent preventable.
In every state, it’s illegal to drive with a BAC of .08 or higher; however, over the past ten years (2007-2016) one person has been killed in an alcohol-related crash approximately every 6 days in North Dakota.
Take steps to prevent drunk driving:
- If you will be drinking, plan on not driving. Plan your safe ride home before you start the party. Designate a sober driver ahead of time.
- If you become intoxicated, do not drive for any reason. Call a taxi, phone a sober friend or family member, use public transportation, etc. Also, try NHTSA’s SaferRide mobile app, which allows users to call a taxi or friend and identify their location so they can be picked up.
- If someone you know has been drinking, do not let that person get behind the wheel. Take their keys, take them home, or help them arrange a sober ride.
- If you see an impaired driver on the road, contact your local law enforcement. Your actions could help save someone’s life.
Sobering Facts on Impaired Driving in ND
- In 2016:
- There was an alcohol-related crash every 11 hours.
- Saturday had the highest number of alcohol-related crashes.
- The month of July had the highest number of alcohol-related crashes.
- Midnight showed to be the time of day with the most alcohol-related crashes.
- According to the North Dakota Highway Patrol, there was approximately 1200 DUI arrests.
- It is illegal for those under the age of 21 to possess or consume alcohol.
- Drivers with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher are considered alcohol-impaired by law.
- In North Dakota, sobriety checkpoints are allowed.
Prevent a tragedy and drive sober. And always wear your seat belt - it is your best defense against an impaired driver.