Wetlands are transitional areas between land and water. Wetlands are saturated with water or covered by shallow water at least part of most years. Only specially adapted plants can thrive in these wet, saturated soil conditions.

Wetlands include, but not limited to, swamps, marshes, bogs, prairie potholes, sloughs, and wetland fringe adjacent to streams. Less obvious wetlands may only hold water for a few weeks in the spring. The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers provide a more technical definition for wetlands they regulate Federal, state and local authorities regulate wetlands.

As a public works agency, NDDOT must obtain appropriate approvals and permits from regulatory agencies when projects will have unavoidable adverse impacts to wetlands. The goal of the Wetlands Program is to ensure that wetland and water resources are accurately identified during project development and that appropriate measures are taken to avoid and minimize impacts whenever feasible, then compensate if needed.

Goose on Water

Contact Staff

Phone: (701) 328-3736
Email: Wetland Mitigation Section

NDDOT References

2014 Workshops & Presentations
Plan Preparation Guide
Contains a collection of reoccurring plan sheets and notes.
CADD Standards
NDDOT CADD Standards and associated resource files.
Environmental Permitting Page
Design Manual
Chapter II Section IV: Wetlands, Vegetation and Environmental Permitting
Reference and Forms (Appendix Files)
Environmental Information
Appendix A Wetland Report Examples
Appendix B Wetland Resources
Appendix C Permit Examples
Appendix D Checklists
Appendix E Miscellaneous Resources
Appendix F Forms

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Wetlands - Technical Definition
National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA)


United States Fish and Wildlife Service

National Wetlands Inventory
Wetlands Mapper


Natural Resource Conservation Services (NRCS)

Web Soil Survey Information
Web soil survey provides soil data and information provided by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the future.


Developing and establishing mitigation banks provide an efficient and effective way to offset unavoidable natural resource impacts, improve environmental compliance efforts, and create ecologically sustainable mitigation and conservation projects. The banking program allows NDDOT to efficiently mitigate for unavoidable wetland and natural resource impacts from highway construction and maintenance projects.

The banking program aims to meet NDDOT’s mitigation needs for highway construction and maintenance projects, address resource and regulatory agency statutes and regulations, and increase efficiency in the mitigation/conservation permitting and approval process by:

Improving project delivery by increasing certainty and removing mitigation and associated permitting issues from the critical path of project development;
Meeting or exceeding state and federal compensatory mitigation and conservation requirements;
Ensuring banking program projects optimize mitigation investment by addressing ecological priorities on a watershed and landscape level and implementing long-term protection, stewardship and adaptive management for bank sites.

Wetland mitigation Banks for unavoidable impacts to jurisdictional wetlands are regulated by the United States Army Corps of Engineers and by the Federal Highway Administration for Executive Order 11990 impacts. The interagency review team is comprised of the following additional resource agencies:

Federal Highway Administration
United States Army Corps of Engineers
Natural Resources Conservation Service
Environmental Protection Agency
North Dakota Game and Fish Department
United States Fish and Wildlife Service

Wetland Mitigation Bank Projects

Wetland Mitigation Bank Regional Service Area for North Dakota

North Dakota is divided into six Resource Service Areas (RSA) for USACE jurisdictional wetland mitigation purposes. RSAs define the maximum geographic applicability for wetland mitigation banks in North Dakota. Following are the RSAs located in North Dakota.

Southwest Slope
Missouri River Basin/Northern Zone
Souris River Basin
Devils Lake Basin
Red River Basin
Missouri River Basin/Southern Zone