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Contact information

MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION (Central Office)
NORTH DAKOTA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

608 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0780

Telephone: 701-328-2725 • Fax: 701-328-1487
mv@nd.gov 

for Motor Vehicle Branch sites hours and locations go to: 
https://www.dot.nd.gov/dotnet2/view/mvsites.aspx

Registration Manual Disclosure

This manual provides information on how certain activities are performed and is designed to 
guide and assist individuals in performing registration and titling functions. When appropriate, 
there may be deviations from these written procedures due to changes in policies, interpretation, 
law, or evolution of vehicle types. This manual may be changed at any time. 

mailto:mv%40nd.gov?subject=
https://www.dot.nd.gov/dotnet2/view/mvsites.aspx
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SECTION I 
CERT IF ICATE OF T IT LE 
AND REGISTRATION
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Abandoned Motor Vehicle Disposal Fee: 23.1-15-11 (NDCC)
A. Fee of $1.50 applies to all new and out-of-state vehicles except mobile homes, motorcycles, snowmobiles, off-

highway vehicles, travel trailers, and all other trailers.
B. Fee applies only upon initial application for North Dakota Certificate of Title for a Vehicle.

NOTE: For more information contact the North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality, 918 E.Divde Ave, 
4th Floor, Bismarck, North Dakota 58501; phone: 701-328-5150.

Air Bags:
Contact the following administration for rules on air bags:

 Attention: Air Bag Switch Requests 
 National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
 400 7th Street, Southwest 
 Washington, DC 20590-1000

Amateur Radio Operator: 39-04-10 (NDCC)
A. License as a passenger vehicle using passenger fee schedule or as a truck using the truck fee schedule.
B. Certificate of title fee is $5.
C. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of 

title.
D. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
E. Amateur radio plates bearing the owner’s call letters are issued.
F. Copy of current FCC card must be submitted or on file with the Motor Vehicle Division.
G. No service charge first time plates are issued; however, a service charge of $5 is due each time plates are 

transferred to another vehicle.
H. Amateur radio license plates must be transferred to a replacement vehicle upon selling or trading the vehicle.
I. Duplicate amateur radio plates are $5.

Ambulance: 39-04-19 Subsection 2(a), 39-10-26 (NDCC)
A. GOVERNMENT OWNED: 39-04-18 Subsection 2(d) (NDCC)

1. License fee is $5.
3. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate 

of title.
4. Motor vehicle excise tax is NOT due.
5. Government plates are issued.
6. Current year plates can be transferred to replacement vehicle at no additional cost. Plate number being 

transferred must be listed on the application.
B. PRIVATELY OWNED:

1. License as passenger vehicle using the passenger fee schedule.
2. Certificate of title fee is $5. 
3. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate 

of title.
4. Effective for purchases made on or after April 18, 2007, motor vehicle excise tax is NOT due provided the 

motor vehicle was originally manufactured for use as an ambulance when purchased by the operator of an 
emergency medical services operation.
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Antique: 39-04-10.4 (NDCC)
A. Vehicle must be 40 years old or older. (Cars, trucks, motorcycles, and motor homes.)
B. License fee is $10. Antique plates are issued.
C. Certificate of title fee is $5. 
D. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of 

title.
E. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
F. Seller’s Certificate and Vehicle Bill of Sale (SFN 2888) and Certificate of Vehicle Inspection (SFN 2486) may 

be used as proof of ownership if no certificate of title is available.
G. License is valid for life of vehicle.
H. Personalized plates may be purchased for a one-time fee of $100.
I. License plates from the year of manufacture of the vehicle or in the case of military vehicles, military 

identification numbers may be displayed in lieu of the antique plates issued by the division. The license plates 
from the year of manufacture or military identification numbers must be clean and legible and must be restored 
and approved by the division. 

J. The plate number from the year of manufacture or military identification numbers may not be used in lieu of a 
distinctive number plate when it would create a duplication of a number in the record keeping system of the 
department.

K. A vehicle registered as an antique may not be used in the routine functions of a business or farming 
operations.

Boat License: 
Obtained from the North Dakota Game and Fish Department, 100 North Bismarck Expressway, Bismarck, North 
Dakota 58501-5095; phone: (701) 328-6300; Web site: http://gf.nd.gov (See Trailers, Boat Trailer)

Buses: 39-01-01 Subsection 4 (NDCC)
A. BUS CONVERTED TO A MOTOR HOME. (See Motor Home)
B. GOVERNMENT BUS: 39-04-19 Subsection 2(a) (NDCC)

1. Out of state Registered Bus coming into North Dakota. Each bus should have a sticker from the 
manufacturer located on the bus that lists the VIN number and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR). 
We will accept a photo of the sticker to obtain the Gross Vehicle Weight.
a. If the sticker is illegible, the process would be to require a weight ticket, and add the weight of the 

passengers (adults: 175 lbs, children: 150 lbs.) multiplied by the number of passengers (we would have 
to ask for this information) rounded off to the next ton.

2. Certificate of title fee is $5.
3. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate 

of title.
4. Motor vehicle excise tax is NOT due.
5. Government plates are issued.

C. INTERSTATE BUS: Multi-State Use, 39-04-19 Subsection 2(b) (NDCC)
1. Interstate bus pays a percentage of license fees to each state in which they operate.
2. License fees are computed and collected ONLY by the Motor Carrier Section of the Motor Vehicle Division, 

North Dakota Department of Transportation, Bismarck, North Dakota 58505. Phone: (701) 328-2725.

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02888.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02486.pdf
http://gf.nd.gov
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D. INTRASTATE BUS: 39-04-19 Subsection 2(b) (NDCC)
1. License fees are based on the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR). The truck fee schedule is used.
2. Out of state Registered Bus coming into North Dakota. Each bus should have a sticker from the 

manufacturer located on the bus that lists the VIN number and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR). 
We will accept a photo of the sticker to obtain the Gross Vehicle Weight.
a. If the sticker is illegible, the process would be to require a weight ticket, and add the weight of the 

passengers (adults: 175 lbs, children: 150 lbs.) multiplied by the number of passengers (we would have 
to ask for this information) rounded off to the next ton.

3. Certificate of title fee is $5.
4. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate 

of title.
5. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.

E. MOBILITY IMPAIRED AND SENIOR CITIZENS BUS: 39-04-19 Subsection 2(b) (NDCC)
1. License fees are based on the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR). The truck fee schedule is used.
2. Out of state Registered Bus coming into North Dakota. Each bus should have a sticker from the 

manufacturer located on the bus that lists the VIN number and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR). 
We will accept a photo of the sticker to obtain the Gross Vehicle Weight.
a. If the sticker is illegible, the process would be to require a weight ticket, and add the weight of the 

passengers (adults: 175 lbs, children: 150 lbs.) multiplied by the number of passengers (we would have 
to ask for this information) rounded off to the next ton.

3. Certificate of title fee is $5.
4. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate 

of title.
5. Motor vehicle excise tax is NOT due.

F. NONPROFIT ORGANIZATION BUS: (Religious, Charitable, or Fraternal) 39-04-19 Subsection 2(b) (NDCC)
1. License fees are based on the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR). The truck fee schedule is used. 

Vehicle may not be used for commercial activity.
2. Out of state Registered Bus coming into North Dakota. Each bus should have a sticker from the 

manufacturer located on the bus that lists the VIN number and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR). 
We will accept a photo of the sticker to obtain the Gross Vehicle Weight.
a. If the sticker is illegible, the process would be to require a weight ticket, and add the weight of the 

passengers (adults: 175 lbs, children: 150 lbs.) multiplied by the number of passengers (we would have 
to ask for this information) rounded off to the next ton.

3. Certificate of title fee is $5.
4. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate 

of title.
5. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.

G. SCHOOL BUS: 39-04-19 Subsection 2(b) (NDCC)
1. GOVERNMENT SCHOOL BUS: 39-04-18 Subsection 2(b) (NDCC)

a. License fee is $5, plus.
b. Certificate of title fee is $5. 
c. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota 

certificate of title. 
d. Motor vehicle excise tax is NOT due.
e. Government plates are issued.
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f. Current year plates can be transferred to a replacement vehicle at no additional cost. Plate number 
being transferred must be listed on the application.

2. PRIVATELY-OWNED SCHOOL BUS: 39-04-19 Subsection 2(b) (NDCC)
a. License fees are based on the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR). The truck fee schedule is used.
b. An out of state registered bus coming into North Dakota. Each bus should have a sticker from 

the manufacturer located on the bus that lists the VIN number and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating 
(GVWR). We will accept a photo of the sticker to obtain the Gross Vehicle Weight.
(1) If the sticker is illegible, the process would be to require a weight ticket, and add the weight of the 

passengers (adults: 175 lbs, children: 150 lbs.) multiplied by the number of passengers (we would 
have to ask for this information) rounded off to the next ton.

c. Certificate of title fee is $5. 
d. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota 

certificate of title. 
e. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
f. Bus may not be used for purposes other than transporting school children to school-related activities.

3. PAROCHIAL OR PRIVATE NONPROFIT SCHOOL BUS: 39-04-19 Subsection 2(b) (NDCC)
a. License fees are based on the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR). The truck fee schedule is used.
b. Out of state Registered Bus coming into North Dakota. Each bus should have a sticker from 

the manufacturer located on the bus that lists the VIN number and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating 
(GVWR). We will accept a photo of the sticker to obtain the Gross Vehicle Weight.
(1) If the sticker is illegible, the process would be to require a weight ticket, and add the weight of the 

passengers (adults: 175 lbs, children: 150 lbs.) multiplied by the number of passengers (we would 
have to ask for this information) rounded off to the next ton.

c. Certificate of title fee is $5. 
d. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota 

certificate of title.
e. Motor vehicle excise tax is NOT due.
f. Bus may not be used for purposes other than transporting school children to school-related activities.
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Collector Vehicle: 39-04-10.6 (NDCC)
A. Vehicle must be 25 years old or older. A collector vehicle can only be operated on public streets and highways 

for the purpose of driving the vehicle to and from active entry and participation in parades, car shows, car 
rallies, other public gatherings held for the purpose of displaying or selling the vehicle, and to and from service 
or storage facilities.

B. License fee is $60. (See Personalized Plate). A set of personalized plates is available for a one-time fee of 
$160. A set of collector plates is issued. 

C. Certificate of title fee is $5. 
D. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of 

title. (See Abandoned Motor Vehicle Disposal Fee)
E. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title. 
F. When registering a collector vehicle the applicant shall file an Affidavit of Use for a Collector Motor Vehicle 

(SFN 16783) with the division which stating the owner’s name and address, the make, year, and the 
manufacturer’s identification number of the vehicle, and a statement that the vehicle is owned and operated 
solely as a collector’s item and not for general transportation purposes.

G. License plates from the year of manufacture of the vehicle may be displayed in lieu of the collector plates 
issued by the division. The license plates from the year of manufacture must be clean and legible and must be 
restored and approved by the division. The plate number may not be duplicated.

H. PENALTY: Any person violating this section or a department rule regarding this section forfeits the right to the 
registration provided in this section and any registration fees that have been paid.

Damage Disclosure: 39-05-17.2 (NDCC) (See Damaged Vehicle and Salvage Certificate of 
Title)
A. The damage disclosure law includes passenger cars, trucks, pickup trucks, motorcycles, motor homes and 

unconventional vehicles that are less than nine years old. It EXCLUDES all trailers, off-highway vehicles, and 
snowmobiles. A Damage/Salvage Disclosure Statement (SFN 18609) must be completed.

B. Motor vehicle body damage disclosure requirements apply only to the transfer of certificate of title on vehicles 
of a model year released in the current calendar year and those vehicles of a model year manufactured in 
the seven years before the current calendar year. When a motor vehicle has been subject to this disclosure 
requirement and more than eight years have elapsed since the date of manufacture, the holder of the 
certificate of title with the damage disclosure may have the disclosure removed and a new certificate of title 
issued for a fee of $5. The disclosure can only be removed if the vehicle has no prior “SALVAGE” history.

C. As used in this section, “motor vehicle body damage” means a change in the body or structure of a motor 
vehicle, generally resulting from a vehicular crash or accident, including loss by fire, vandalism, weather, or 
submersion in water, resulting in damage to the motor vehicle which equals or exceeds the greater of $10,000 
or 25 percent of the pre-damage retail value of the motor vehicle as determined by the National Automobile 
Dealers Association Official Used Car Guide. The term does not include body or structural modifications, 
normal wear and tear, glass damage, hail damage, or items of normal maintenance and repair.

D. A person repairing, replacing parts, or performing body work on a motor vehicle that is less than nine years 
old shall provide a statement to the owner of the motor vehicle when the motor vehicle has sustained motor 
vehicle body damage requiring disclosure under this section. The owner shall disclose this damage when 
ownership of the motor vehicle is transferred. When a vehicle is damaged in excess of 75 percent of its retail 
value, as determined by the National Automobile Dealers Association Official Used Car Guide, the person 
repairing, replacing parts, or performing body work on the motor vehicle that is less than nine (9) years old 
shall also advise the owner of the motor vehicle that the owner of the vehicle must comply with section 
39-05-20.2.

E. The amount of damage to a motor vehicle is determined by adding the retail value of all labor, parts, and 
material used in repairing the damage. When the retail value of labor has not been determined by a purchase 
in the ordinary course of business, for example, when the labor is performed by the owner of the vehicle, the 
retail value of the labor is presumed to be the product of the repair time, as provided in a generally accepted 
auto body repair flat rate manual, multiplied by $35.

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn16783.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn18609.pdf
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F. DAMAGE DISCLOSURE will not be required on the following transactions:
1. Certificate of title transfer into North Dakota from out-of-state if there is no ownership change.
2. Certificate of title transfer when one existing owner is retained.
3. Repossession if the ownership is being transferred to the lien holder.
4. Change of a name by marriage.

G. A person who violates this section or rules adopted pursuant to this section is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.

 DAMAGE DISCLOSURE
YEAR     YEAR MODEL
2022      2015 and newer
2023      2016 and newer
2024      2017 and newer
2025      2018 and newer
2026      2019 and newer
2027      2020 and newer

                                                   DAMAGE DISCLOSURE FORMULA

1.  Calculate 25% of the retail value of the vehicle at the time the vehicle was damaged.

2.  Which is the higher amount - 25% of the retail value of the vehicle or $10,000?

3.  What is the amount of the assessed damage?
4.  The assessed damage amount must be greater than the higher amount from step 2 to be 

damaged vehicle.

EXAMPLE 1 EXAMPLE 2

1.  $15,000 (retail value) * 25% = $3,750 1.  $50,000 (retail value) * 25% = $12,500

2.  $3,750 OR $10,000 = $10,000 is higher 2.  $12,500 OR $10,000 = $12,500 is higher

3.  Assessed damage is $7,000 3.  Assessed damage is $13,000

4.  Check NO on damage disclosure form 4.  Check YES on damage disclosure form
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Damaged Vehicle: 39-05-17.2, 39-05-20.1, 39-05-20.2 (NDCC) 
A. A vehicle being transferred into North Dakota with a branded certificate of title will be issued a branded North 

Dakota certificate of title.
B. North Dakota will not accept a certificate of title for a vehicle from any other state or foreign country that is 

branded “CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION,” “DISMANTLED,” “JUNK,” “NON-REBUILDABLE,” “PARTS 
ONLY,” “UNREPAIRABLE,” or any other similar notation.

C. A certificate of title branded as salvage will be accepted.
D. A certificate of title issued for a damaged vehicle will have one of the following brands:

1. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN PREVIOUSLY DAMAGED. IF YOU REQUIRE FURTHER INFORMATION, 
PLEASE CONTACT THE DOT.

2. SALVAGE VEHICLE - VEHICLE INSPECTION REQUIRED PRIOR TO REGISTRATION.
3. PREVIOUSLY SALVAGED - THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN PREVIOUSLY DAMAGED. IF YOU REQUIRE 

FURTHER INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT THE DOT.

Defacement: 39-05-09.1, 39-15-11 (NDCC)
A. When a part of a certificate of title or application for a certificate of title has been defaced or altered, a 

notarized affidavit must be submitted. The affidavit must state a reason for the defacement or alteration. 
Statement of Error, Correction, or Alteration (SFN 2964) must be completed.

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02964.pdf
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Disabled American Veteran (DAV): 39-01-15 (NDCC), 39-04-18 Subsection 2(j) (NDCC) 
and 57-40-3-04(1) (NDCC)
A. Letter from the Veterans Affairs office attesting eligibility under Public Law 663 of the 79th Congress, as 

amended, or a 100 percent service-connected disability, or having an extra-schedular rating to include 
unemployability to a rating of 100 percent service-connected disability, as verified by the Department of 
Veterans Affairs, is required when first applying for DAV license.

B. A qualified veteran is eligible for no more than two vehicles at any one time. A passenger, truck, motorcycle, 
or any motor home not exceeding 26,000 pounds [11793.40 kilograms] registered gross weight may be 
registered with DAV plates.

C. No license fee is required. License is renewed January 1 each year.
D. Certificate of title fee is $5. 
E. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of 

title.
F. Motor vehicle excise tax is NOT due. A qualified veteran may lease a vehicle and remain exempt from motor 

vehicle excise tax.
G. DAV plates are issued. A vehicle with DAV plates may park in a mobility-impaired zone; in addition, mobility-

impaired DAV license plates are also available. Plates must be transferred to the replacement vehicle. No 
plate transfer fee is assessed.

H. When a DAV vehicle is resold, applicable registration fees are due from date of sale.
I. A surviving spouse may apply or retain retain the DAV excise tax exemption and registration exemption for 

one vehicle. The surviving spouse can apply or retain the DAV, standard, vanity, or any other distinctive plate 
purchased from the department. A letter from the Veterans Affairs office attesting eligibility is required.

J. A Disabled American Veteran may choose to receive standard, vanity, or any other distinctive plates instead of 
DAV plates. They receive the DAV tax and registration exemptions.

Driver Education Vehicle: 39-04-18 Subsection 2(b) (NDCC)
A. Vehicle is to be used for Drivers’ Education and training program only and must be titled in the name of the 

school district. Government license plates are issued.
B. License fee is $5.
C. Certificate of title fee is $5. 
D. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of 

title.
E. Motor vehicle excise tax is NOT due.
F. Current year plates must be transferred to replacement vehicle. Plate number being transferred must be on 

the application.
G. Any violations are a Class B misdemeanor.

Duplicate Decal: 39-04-13 (NDCC)
A. Fee is $3.
B. Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872) must indicate appropriate duplicate, 

the reason for the duplicate, and must be signed by the registered owner.
C. Decals and a registration card will be issued.

Duplicate Plate: 39-04-13 (NDCC)
A. Fee is $5.
B. Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872) must indicate appropriate duplicate, 

the reason for the duplicate, and must be signed by the registered owner.
C. A set of license plates, decals, and registration card will be issued.

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
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Duplicate Registration Card: 39-04-13 (NDCC)
A. Fee is $2.
B. Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872) must indicate appropriate duplicate, 

the reason for the duplicate, and must be signed by the registered owner.
C. Registration card will be issued.

Duplicate Certificate of Title: 39-05-09.1 (NDCC)
A. Fee is $5.
B. Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872) must indicate appropriate duplicate, 

the reason for the duplicate, and must be signed by the registered owner or legal owner.
C. A duplicate certificate of title will contain the following legend: “This is a duplicate certificate and may be 

subject to the rights of a person under the original certificate.”
D. A duplicate certificate of title will be mailed to the lien holder named. If there is no lien holder, a duplicate 

certificate of title will be mailed to the owner.
E. If the Motor Vehicle Division record shows a lien, the certificate of title must be mailed to the lien holder unless 

a lien release is provided, Release of Lien by Legal Owner (SFN 2876).

Electric and Plug-in Hybrid Vehicle Road Use Fee: 39-04-19.2 (NDCC)
A. An electric vehicle road use fee is $120 for each electric vehicle registered will be in addition to the annual 

registration fee. “Electric vehicle” means a vehicle propelled by an electric motor powered by a battery or other 
electric device incorporated into the vehicle and not propelled by an engine powered by the combustion of a 
hydrocarbon fuel, including gasoline, diesel, propane, or liquid natural gas.

B.  A plug-in hybrid vehicle road use fee is $50 for each plug-in hybrid vehicle registered. “Plug-in hybrid vehicle” 
means a vehicle drawing propulsion energy from an internal combustion engine, an energy storage device, 
and a receptacle to accept grid electricity.

C. An electric motorcycle road use fee is $20 for each electric motorcycle registered. “Electric motorcycle” 
means a motor vehicle that has a seat or saddle for the use of the rider, is designed to travel on not more than 
three wheels in contact with the ground, and is propelled by an electric motor powered by a battery or other 
electric device incorporated into the vehicle and not propelled by an engine powered by the combustion of a 
hydrocarbon fuel, including gasoline, diesel, propane, or liquid natural gas.

D. The road use fees will be collected at the beginning of each annual registration period, non-transferrable, and 
deposited into the highway tax distribution fund.

Estate: 30.1-23-01 (NDCC)
A. An estate under $50,000 may require an Affidavit for Collection of Personal Property of the Decedent (SFN 

2916).
B. If certificate of title is in Joint Tenants with Right of Survivorship (JTWROS), the survivor must present a copy 

of the death certificate along with the certificate of title for transfer.
C. If A or B do not apply, a copy of the letter of administration, letter of testamentary, or an order of the court must 

accompany the certificate of title for transfer. 
D. A last will and testament cannot be accepted for certificate of title transfer.

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02876.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02916.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02916.pdf
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Farm Truck: 39-04-19 Subsection 5, 39-04-26 (NDCC)
A. A truck with a gross weight of 22,000 pounds through 105,500 pounds, owned or leased by a resident farmer 

to transport their own property, is eligible for a farm license. If the vehicle is leased, it must be leased for one 
year or longer. 

B. If the truck is used commercially, the unused portion of the farm fee will be credited toward any additional fee 
to be collected. New plates and decals will be issued. 

C. License as farm truck using farm truck fee schedule. A set of personalized license plates cannot be issued.
D. Certificate of title fee is $5.
E. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of 

title.
F. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
G. A resident beekeeper qualifies for a farm license.

FFA Foundation Number Plate: 39-04-10.12 (NDCC)
A. There are no restrictions on who may apply for or display FFA license plates.
B. Plates cannot be issued to an owner of a passenger vehicle or truck when the registered gross weight 

exceeds 20,000 pounds [9071.84 kilograms].
C. License fees are based on the type of vehicle being registered, plus a one time fee of $10 for the FFA license 

plates.
D. Personalized plates may be issued. An annual fee of $25 is due. (See Personalized Plates)
E. Certificate of title fee is $5.
F. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of 

title.
G. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.

Firefighter’s Association License Plate: 39-04-10.11 (NDCC)
A. Eligibility: A registrant is eligible for distinctive number plates under this section if the registrant is a member of 

the North Dakota Firefighter’s Association. Application for North Dakota Firefighter’s Plate (SFN 52908) must 
be completed.

B. Plates cannot be issued to an owner of a passenger motor vehicle or truck when the registered gross weight 
exceeds 20,000 pounds [9071.84 kilograms].

C. License fees are based on the type of vehicle being registered, plus additional annual fee of $15 for the 
Firefighter’s license plate.

D. Personalized plates may be issued. An annual fee of $25 is due. (See Personalized Plates)
E. Certificate of title fee is $5.
F. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title.
G. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
H. On termination of the registrant’s eligibility, the registrant shall return the decals and plates to the director, who 

shall reissue for a fee of not more than $5 another number plate to which the registrant is entitled under this 
chapter.

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn52908.pdf
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Fleet Registration: 39-04-12 Subsection 2 (NDCC) (See Trailers)
A. Fleet registration is available to an owner of 100 or more vehicles (includes passenger, truck, and trailers). The 

registrant shall file with the division a corporate surety bond in the amount of $10,000.
B. License fees apply. Fleet plates are issued. 
C. Registration for all vehicles expires in December of the current year.
D. Certificate of title fee is $5.
E. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon application for North Dakota certificate of title.
F. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title. Plates must be 

transferred to a replacement vehicle. Registration fees will be prorated from the date of sale for the balance of 
the current year.

Gold Star Number Plate: 39-04-10.14 (NDCC) 
A. A Gold Star Number plate is issued to a surviving spouse, parent, including stepmother, stepfather, parent 

through adoption, and foster parent who stands or stood in loco parentis, grandparents, child, including 
stepchild and child through adoption, and sibling, including half-brother and half-sister, of a member of the 
armed forces of the United States who died while serving on active duty during a time of military conflict.

B. Application for North Dakota Gold Star Plate (SFN 59183) must be completed by the North Dakota State 
Veteran Affairs office. www.nd.gov/veterans.

C. Gold Star Number plates are issued with a distinctive gold star insignia symbolizing Honor and Courage. The 
lettering GS precedes the plate number. Qualified applicants are eligible for one set of plates.

D. Once a plate number is issued to an eligible family member, the department may not assign the plate to 
another eligible person.

E. Plates cannot be issued to an owner of a passenger motor vehicle or truck when the registered gross weight 
exceeds 20,000 pounds [9071.74 kilograms]. 

F. License fees are due upon initial plate request and thereafter.
G. Personalized plates with up to five characters may be issued. (See Personalized Plates)
H. Certificate of title fee is $5.
I. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title.
J. Motor Vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.

Government: 39-04-18 Subsection 2(d) (NDCC)
A. DRIVER EDUCATION VEHICLE: (See Driver Education Vehicle)
B. GOVERNMENT AMBULANCE: (See Ambulance)
C. GOVERNMENT BUSES: (See Buses; School Bus)
D. POLICE: 39-04-10.9 (NDCC) 

1. Plates with the word “POLICE” will be issued upon request for vehicles used and owned by a city’s 
police department. A vehicle that displays a plate under this section must have a clearly visible distinctive 
identification number on the rear of the vehicle assigned by the appropriate law enforcement agency.

2. License fees are $5. Plates may be transferred to a replacement vehicle at no additional cost.
3. Certificate of title fee is $5.
4. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate 

of title. 
5. Motor vehicle excise tax is NOT due.

E. SHERIFF: 39-04-10.9 (NDCC)
1. Plates with the word “SHERIFF” will be issued upon request for vehicles used and owned by a sheriff’s 

department. A vehicle that displays a plate under this section must have a clearly visible distinctive 
identification number on the rear of the vehicle assigned by the appropriate law enforcement agency.

2. License fees are $5. Plates may be transferred to a replacement vehicle at no additional cost.

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn59183.pdf
http://www.nd.gov/veterans/
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3. Certificate of title fee is $5.
4. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title.
5. Motor Vehicle excise tax is NOT due.

F. STATE AGENCY OR POLITICAL SUBDIVISION: 39-04-18 Subsection 2(d) (NDCC)
1. Government plates will be issued to vehicles used, owned, or leased by a state agency or political 

subdivision.
2. License fee is $5. Plates may be transferred to a replacement vehicle at no additional cost.
3. Certificate of title fee is $5.
4. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial applications for North Dakota certificate of title.
5. Motor vehicle excise tax is NOT due.
6. See Buses (Government Bus) and Driver Education Vehicle.

Hearse: 39-04-19 Subsection 2(a) (NDCC)
A. License as a passenger vehicle using the passenger fee schedule.
B. Certificate of title fee is $5.
C. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title. 
D. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.

Heavy Vehicle Use Tax: 39-04-05 Subsection 8 (NDCC)
A. An owner of a truck with a gross weight of 55,000 pounds or more must file each year with the Internal
Revenue Service a Form 2290 Schedule 1.
B. FORM 2290 SCHEDULE 1, stamped by the Internal Revenue Service or the printed electronically filed receipt, 

must be sent in with the application for registration before the division will issue a license.
C. Upon purchasing a truck, registered with a gross weight of 55,000 pounds or more, the Form 2290 Schedule 1 

is not required if certificate of title and registration are applied for within 60 days from the date of purchase.
D. The Motor Vehicle Division is not responsible for the collection of the Heavy Vehicle Use Tax. Contact the 

Internal Revenue Service for the forms and any further information. Telephone 1-866-699-4096.
E. A vehicle owned by state agency or political subdivision and tribal government are exempt from the IRS 2290 

requirements.

                                              INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE OFFICES
        City         Street Address                Days/Hours of Service   Telephone*

Bismarck
4503 N Coleman St, 
Ste 101 
Bismarck ND 50503

Monday-Friday - 8:30 am - 4:30 pm 
(Closed for lunch 11:00 am - 12:00 noon) 701-221-5834

Fargo 657 2nd Ave N  
Fargo ND 58102 Monday-Friday - 8:30 am - 4:30 pm 701-232-4710

Grand Forks 102 N 4th St 
Grand Forks ND 58203

Monday-Friday - 8:30 am - 4:30 pm 
(Closed for lunch 11:00 am - 12:00 noon) 701-746-5283

Minot 315 S Main St, Ste 316 
Minot ND 58701

Monday-Friday - 8:30 am - 4:30 pm 
(Closed for lunch 11:00 am - 12:00 noon) 701-839-7741

 * These phone lines are answered by a recorded business message with information about office hours and locations. Leave a 
message to schedule an Everyday Tax Solutions appointment or to reschedule an existing IRS appointment. 
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House Mover: 39-04-18 Subsection 2(l) (NDCC)
A. Vehicle may be used only for moving buildings or building moving equipment.
B. The following fees are charged:

1. $25 for single axle truck. (25,000 pounds is printed on registration card.)
2. $50 for single axle tractor and tandem axle truck. (50,000 pounds is printed on registration card.)
3. $75 for tandem axle tractor. (75,000 pounds is printed on registration card.)

C. Certificate of title fee is $5.
D. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title.
E. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.

Imported Vehicle:
A. The following documents are required to title and register imported vehicles:

1. The original registration, a copy of the registration, or a letter of verification from the foreign government 
agency.

2. Proper chain of ownership from the registered owner to the purchaser. A Bill of Sale that transfers 
ownership from each seller to the next buyer must be provided.

3. US Customs documentation is required to meet Federal Government Regulations covering the vehicle 
being imported. Acceptable forms include: 368, 7523, 3299, 3311, 7501, 7533, 6059B or 3461. If documents 
are written in a language other than English, documents translated to English must be included.

4. If the odometer has been converted from kilometers to miles, certification is required from the business and 
from the individual responsible for the change.

5. Secure Odometer Disclosure form, if applicable.
6. An Indemnifying Affidavit (SFN 60662) must be completed by the owner releasing the State of North 

Dakota and its agencies from any and all liability.
7. If you need to know if a document is acceptable, please call the Motor Vehicle Division.

Insurance Requirements:
https://www.insurance.nd.gov/consumers/insurance/auto

A. LIABILITY INSURANCE: 26.1-41-02, 39-08-20, 39-16.1-11 (NDCC)
1. Insurance protection for a third-party claim resulting from bodily injury or property damage you may cause 

to someone else.
2. State law requires each motor vehicle to carry a minimum of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for 

bodily injury, and $25,000 per accident for property damage.
3. MOTORCYCLE AND MOPED

a. A motorcycle and a moped is required to have liability insurance. A motorcycles does not meet the no-
fault definition of a motor vehicle and; therefore, is not required to carry no-fault insurance.

4. OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE
a. An off-highway vehicle is required to have liability insurance when the vehicle leaves the owner’s 

property and is operated on the highway shoulder or right of way. Please contact your insurance agent 
for further information.

5. SNOWMOBILE: 39-24-09 Subsection 11 (NDCC)
a. A person may not operate a snowmobile on any state snowmobile trails without liability insurance. 

The liability insurance insures the snowmobile owner named on the policy and any operator of that 
snowmobile, with permission of the owner. Upon request of a law enforcement officer, a person 
operating a snowmobile shall provide proof of liability insurance to that officer within 20 days.

6. LOW SPEED VEHICLE
a. A low-speed vehicles is required to have liability insurance when the vehicle leaves the owner’s 

property and is operated on a highway on which the designated speed limit does not exceed 35 mph. 

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60662.pdf
https://www.insurance.nd.gov/consumers/insurance/auto
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NOTE: When using the term “LIABILITY INSURANCE,” it is common practice to automatically include all 
mandatory coverage as listed below in its meaning.

B. UNINSURED MOTORIST: 26.1-40-15.2, 39-16.1-11 (NDCC)
1. Insurance that provides bodily injury protection for you if the other party causing the injury has no insurance.
2. State law requires each motor vehicle to carry a minimum of $25,000 per person for bodily injury and 

$50,000 per accident for bodily injury.
C. UNDERINSURED MOTORIST: 26.1-40-15.3 (NDCC)

1. Insurance that provides bodily injury protection for you if the other party causing the injury had bodily injury 
liability coverage less than the amount of your uninsured motorist coverage.

2. State law requires each motor vehicle to carry underinsured limits equal to the uninsured motorist limit.
D. BASIC NO-FAULT (PERSONAL INJURY PROTECTION): 26.1-40-16 (NDCC)

1. Insurance that provides protection for economic loss as a result of accidental injury regardless of fault.
2. Basic limit required by state law is $30,000.
3. Payment for medical expenses and rehabilitation expenses plus: work loss not to exceed $150 per week; 

survivor income loss not to exceed $150 per week; funeral, cremation, and burial expense of $3,500. 
Replacement service loss not to exceed $15 per day.

Leased Motor Vehicle: 39-04-19, 57-40.3 (NDCC)
A. A lease is subject to the following:

1. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) is imposed on the lease price of a vehicle which is operated and required to 
be registered in North Dakota.

2. A qualifying vehicle (including a trailer) must have an actual weight of 10,000 pounds or less.
3. A lease must be for a period of 12 months or more.
4. SFN 60399, Lease Tax Worksheet, must be submitted to show the calculation of tax due.
 Note to Dealers: Additional Charges: Tax will apply on additional charges that may apply after the 

inception of the leases, such as excess mileage charges, excess wear charges, damage or repair charges, 
lease cancellation charges, option to renew charges, and end-of-the lease payments. The additional tax 
must be computed and paid directly to the North Dakota State Tax Commissioner.

5. If a vehicle is leased and later sold to the lessee (buyout), the motor vehicle excise tax will be due on the 
purchase price at the time the lessee registers the vehicle.

6. A leased vehicle entering North Dakota from another state is subject to tax on the remaining lease period 
from the date the vehicle enters North Dakota.

B. Credit for tax paid to another state will be allowed if one of the following conditions exist:
1. Tax was paid to another state for the lease period remaining after the vehicle entered North Dakota, up to 5 

percent. (If less than 5 percent, the remaining lease periods are taxed based on the difference in tax rates.)
2. The owner of the vehicle paid sales, use, or motor vehicle excise tax to another state on the purchase 

price of the vehicle.
3. A vehicle leased by a non-resident military personnel transferring into North Dakota may be titled and 

registered without the payment of any motor vehicle excise tax. This exemption applies only to a vehicle 
that is titled outside of North Dakota by the applicant in the name of the lease company, but is now being 
titled in North Dakota.

C. License fees are based on type of vehicle being leased. Use proper fee schedule.
D. Certificate of title fee is $5.
E. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of 

title. 

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60399.pdf
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F. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted or proof of tax paid on an out-of-state vehicle entering North 
Dakota.
1. Exemptions

a. A motor vehicle leased to the following is not subject to tax: 
(1) Federal or state government and political subdivisions. (See Government)
(2) A disabled veteran (maximum – two vehicles).
(3) A prisoner of war (maximum – two vehicles).
(4) A nonprofit senior citizen or mobility-impaired person’s corporation.
(5) A parochial or private nonprofit school (for use in transporting students).

G. Miscellaneous:
1. New motor vehicle leases: A licensed motor vehicle dealer who leases a vehicle they do not have a 

franchise for will continue to be subject to the motor vehicle excise tax on the purchase price and must also 
collect the tax on the total consideration of a qualifying lease agreement.

2. Re-lease: Where a lease ends and the owner of the vehicle initiates a second lease agreement for a period 
of 12 months or more, the tax must again be computed at the inception of the second lease. Tax must be 
paid directly to the North Dakota Tax Department.

3. Sale of Lease: When the owner (lessor) sells a vehicle currently being leased, the transfer of ownership 
will not be taxable if the lessee remains the same and the conditions of the lease do not change.

H. Tax credit on a stolen or totally destroyed leased vehicle may not exceed the total amount of motor vehicle 
excise tax paid.

Legal Name: 39-04-02 Subsection 1, 39-05-05 Subsection 1(f) (NDCC)
A. An application for certificate of title must be made by the owner using their legal name evidenced by a valid 

state-issued driver’s license, non-driver identification card, or any other document confirming the true identity 
of the owner.

B. Non-residents and military personnel must provide a paper copy of their current driver’s license card or non-
driver identification card with their certificate of title application.

C. A business, trust, partnership, or corporation must provide a paper copy document confirming the legal name.

Lemon Law: 51-07-16, 51-07-17, 51-07-18, 51-07-18.1, 51-07-19, 51-07-20, 51-07-21, and 
51-07-22 (NDCC)
A. If a new passenger vehicle or truck with a registered gross weight of 10,000 pounds or less does not conform 

to all applicable warranties, the manufacturer or dealer shall make the necessary repairs to conform the 
vehicle to the express warranties. 

B. If the manufacturer or dealer is unable to repair or correct the defects after a reasonable number of attempts, 
they shall replace the vehicle or refund the consumer the full purchase price less a reasonable allowance for 
the consumer’s use of the vehicle not exceeding ten cents per mile driven or ten percent of the purchase price, 
whichever is less.

C. If a leased vehicle does not conform to all applicable warranties, the manufacturer shall provide to the lessee 
the sum of all payments previously paid to the lessor. Payments include all cash payments, security deposits, 
and trade-in allowance, if any. The lease agreement is terminated and no penalty for early termination may be 
assessed.
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Low-Speed Vehicle: 39-29.1 (NDCC)
A. “Low-speed vehicle” means a four-wheeled vehicle that is able to attain a speed, upon a paved surface, of 

more than 20 mph (32 kilometers) in one mile (1.6 kilometers) and not more than 25 mph (40 kilometers) in 
one mile (1.6 kilometers) and may not exceed 3,000 pounds (1361 kilograms) in weight when fully loaded with 
passengers and any cargo.

B. A low-speed vehicle must be equipped with head lamps, front and rear turn signal lamps, tail lamps, stop 
lamps, red reflex reflectors on each side as far to the rear of the vehicle as practicable and one red reflector on 
the rear, brakes, a parking brake, a windshield, a vehicle identification number, a safety belt installed at each 
designated seating position, an exterior mirror mounted on the operator’s side of the vehicle, and either an 
exterior mirror mounted on the passenger’s side of the vehicle or an interior rear view mirror.

C. A person may not operate a low-speed vehicle on a highway on which the speed limit exceeds 35 mph (56.33 
kilometers). The operator of a low-speed vehicle may make a direct crossing of a highway on which the speed 
limit exceeds 35 mph (56.33 kilometers) if the crossing is made so the operator can continue on the highway 
on which the speed limit doesn’t exceed 35 mph (56.33 kilometers).

D. License fee is $20 for a two-year period ending March 31 of each odd numbered year.
E. Certificate of title fee is $5.
F. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee is NOT due.
G. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for certificate of title.
H. No odometer or damage disclosure required.
I. Liability insurance required. (See Insurance Requirements)

Manufactured Home: 39-05-35 (NDCC)
A. A manufactured home is a home that is sold as real property and can qualify for Federal Home Loan Mortgage 

Corporation (FHLMC) financing.
B. The Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872) must be submitted along with a 

fee of $5.
C. Affidavit of Use for a Manufactured Home (SFN 53658) must be completed by the applicant certifying the 

manufactured home is real property.
D. A copy of the Affidavit of Affixation, as recorded with the county recorder’s office in the county where the real 

property is affixed, must be submitted with the certificate of title application. This affidavit is not provided by the 
Motor Vehicle Division. The following can assist with this affidavit:
1. If financed, it is likely the form is available through the creditor.
2. If no financing, it is the owner’s responsibility to make certain the form is completed and sent to the county 

recorder’s office.
3. One can be prepared by an attorney. A fee is likely associated with this assistance.

E. The Motor Vehicle Division will process the application and create a record. NO CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 
WILL BE ISSUED. Effective August 1, 2017, a Manufactured Home Conversion Confirmation will be issued. 

F. The only time NDDOT will be required to complete these requests is when the owner has a manufacturer’s 
certificate of origin or title and the manufactured home is affixed to real property for the first time.

G. The online title search is also available to check the status of a record at:  
https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/titleStatus.htm

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn53658.pdf


18

Mobile Home: 39-01-01 Subsection 45, 39-05-01, 39-18-03 (NDCC)
A. A mobile home MUST be titled. Certificate of title fee is $5. 
B. Tax on a mobile home is as follows:

1. A new mobile home purchased from a North Dakota or out-of-state dealer is 3 percent.
2. A used mobile home purchased from a North Dakota or out-of-state dealer—no tax. 
3. A used mobile home purchased from private individuals in North Dakota or out-of-state—no tax.

C. Tax collected by a dealer on a mobile home sale must be remitted on the sales tax report to the North Dakota 
Tax Department, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505.

D. North Dakota State Board of Equalization Statement of Mobile Home Full Consideration (SFN 3004) must be 
submitted with the certificate of title application when the transfer of ownership involves a sale.

E. No license is required unless the mobile home is being moved on a public street or highway.
F. Landlord’s Mobile Home Lien: Section 35-20-17 (NDCC)

1. Complete Request for Vehicle Information (SFN 51269) processing fee is $3 to determine/verify current 
registered owner’s name, address, and lien holder information (if applicable).

2. A notice of lien must be posted on the primary entrance of the mobile home. Notice of lien must state/
include the following information.
a. The name and last-known address of the owner of the mobile home.
b. The name and post-office address of the lien claimant.
c.  The amount of the lien.
d. A description of the location and type of mobile home.
e.  A recitation of the penalty provisions of NDCC 35-20-17.

3. A copy of the notice of lien must be mailed, by certified mail, to registered owner and lien holder on record 
with the Motor Vehicle Division.

4. Contact the lien holder on record to obtain a lien release (SFN 2876) Release of Lien by Legal owner.
5. 30 days from the date the notice of lien was mailed and posted must have elapsed before title work can be 

submitted to the Motor Vehicle Division for the title. The follow documents would be required:
a. A copy of the results from the completed Request for Vehicle Information (SFN 51269).
b. Indemnifying Affidavit (SFN 60662) completed and signed by the mobile home park releasing the State 

of North Dakota and its agencies from any and all liability.
c. A copy of the notice of lien, the original certified mail form (to verify mail date) and the original certified 

mail return receipt. If the notice of lien is returned as undeliverable submit the entire letter / envelope 
with the title work.

d. Lien release (if applicable).
e. Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872) completed in full, signed, and 

dated.
f. North Dakota State Board of Equalization form (SFN 3004) completed in full, signed and dated.
g. Proof of legal name for the mobile home park as required by NDCC 39-05-05 Subsection 1(f).
h. $5 title fee 

Mobility-Impaired License Plate and Parking Permit: 39-01-15, 39-04-10.2 (NDCC)
A. Application for Mobility-Impaired Parking Permit (SFN 2886), either written or electronic must be completed 

and contain a certification by a qualified physician, physician assistant, chiropractor, or advanced practice 
registered nurse or physical therapist.
1. Applicant uses portable oxygen; or
2. Applicant has an orthopedic, neurological, or other medical condition that makes it impossible to walk 200 

feet without assistance or rest; or

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn03004.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn51269.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02876.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn51269.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60662.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn03004.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02886.pdf
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3. Applicant is restricted by cardiac, pulmonary, or vascular disease from walking 200 feet without rest; or
4. Applicant has a forced expiratory volume of less than one liter for one second or an arterial oxygen tension 

of less than 60 millimeter of mercury on room air while at rest and is classified III or IV by standards for 
cardiac disease set by the American Heart Association.

B. A mobility-impaired parking permit will be issued to a qualifying applicant. This permit must be hung from the 
inside rearview mirror of the motor vehicle whenever the vehicle is occupying a space reserved for the mobility 
impaired. The permit may be transferred from vehicle to vehicle. A permanent permit is free; a temporary 
permit is $3 each; a duplicate permanent or a temporary permit is $3 each.

C. The applicant may obtain one set of mobility-impaired license plates, provided they do not possess more 
than one parking permit. License plates bearing the wheelchair emblem will be issued to a mobility-impaired 
applicant. One set of plates per mobility-impaired individual may be issued to a vehicle where the mobility-
impaired individual is not listed as the owner and if the vehicle is designated for the exclusive use of 
transporting that mobility-impaired individual.  A mobility-impaired DAV license plate is available; however, a 
personalized license plates is not. The fee for replacing regular license plates with mobility-impaired license 
plates is $5.

D. License as a passenger vehicle, a truck, or a motorcycle using the appropriate fee schedule.
E. Certificate of title fee is $5.
F. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title. 
G. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
H. Mobility impaired parking permits may be issued for a vehicle owned and operated by care providers licensed 

by the state, veterans-related organizations, and other entities that regularly transport mobility impaired 
individuals. An application for Care Providers Mobility-Impaired Parking Permit(s) (SFN 54306) must be 
completed. 

I. Mobility-impaired license plates must be transferred to a replacement vehicle upon selling or trading the 
vehicle.

NOTE: If the mobility-impaired individual is a minor, please contact the Motor Vehicle Division for further 
information.

Moped: 39-01-01 Subsection 48, 39-10.2 (NDCC)
A. A moped is defined as a vehicle equipped with two or three wheels, foot pedals to permit muscular propulsion 

or footrests for use by the operator, a power source providing up to a maximum of two brake horsepower 
having a maximum piston or rotor displacement of 3.05 cubic inches (49.98 milliliters) if a combustion engine 
is used, which will propel the vehicle, unassisted, at a speed not to exceed 30 mph (48.28 kilometers) on 
a level road surface, and a power drive system that functions directly or automatically only, not requiring 
clutching or shifting by the operator after the drive system is engaged, and the vehicle may not have a width 
greater than 32 inches (81.28 centimeters).

B. License fee is $25. An electric motorcycle road fee is $20 for each electric motorcycle registered.
C. Certificate of title fee is $5.
D. A personalized plate may be issued. An annual fee of $25 is due. (See Personalized Plate)
E. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee is NOT due.
F. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
G. Odometer certification is required; damage disclosure certification is not required.
H. Liability insurance is required on a registered moped. (See Insurance Requirements)

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn54306.pdf
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Motor Home: 39-01-01 Subsection 31, 39-04-19 Subsection 2(a) (NDCC)
A. “Motor Home” or  “House Car” means a motor vehicle which has been reconstructed or manufactured primarily 

for private use as a temporary or recreational dwelling and having at least four of the following permanently 
installed systems:
1. Cooking facility.
2. Icebox or mechanical refrigerator. 
3. Potable water supply including plumbing and a sink with faucet either self-contained or with connections for 

an external source, or both.
4. Self-contained toilet or a toilet connected to a plumbing system with connection for external water disposal, 

or both.
5. Heating or air conditioning system or both, separate from the vehicle engine or the vehicle engine electrical 

system.
6. A 110-115 volt alternating current electrical system separate from the vehicle engine electrical system 

either within its own power supply or with a connection for an external source, or both, or a liquefied 
petroleum system and supply.

B. The license fee is based on 40 percent of the actual weight of the motor home, but not less than 4,000 
pounds. The passenger fee schedule is used.

C. Certificate of title fee is $5.
D. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of 

title. 
E. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
F. If a school bus is converted to a motor home, the purchaser must change the color of the vehicle and 

deactivate or remove the warning signal lights and the stop sign on the control arm.

NOTE: The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) identifying the completed vehicle, after a multi-stage 
manufacture, shall be the VIN on the incomplete chassis.

Motorcycle: 39-01-01 Subsection 48, 39-04-14.4, 39-04-10.3, 39-04-19 (NDCC)
A. A motorcycle must comply with provisions of Chapter 39-27 of the North Dakota Century Code (NDCC) 

relating to motorcycle equipment. If a motorcycle does not meet the equipment requirements, it cannot be 
titled or licensed and the dealer must collect sales tax and submit the tax to North Dakota Tax Department, 
600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, North Dakota 58505.

B. When a motorcycle has been modified, rebuilt, or homemade, an inspection is required. A Certificate of 
Vehicle Inspection (SFN 2486) must be completed by a business that is registered with the Secretary of State, 
is in good standing, and offers motor vehicle repair to the public. Submit (SFN 2486) with an Application for 
Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872).

C. License fee is $25. Motorcycle plates are issued. An electric motorcycle road fee is $20 for each electric 
motorcycle registered.

D. Personalized plates may be issued. An annual fee of $25 is due. (See Personalized Plate)
E. Certificate of title fee is $5.
F. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee is NOT due.
G. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
H. Odometer certification and damage disclosure certification are required.
I. Liability insurance is required on a registered motorcycle. (See Insurance Requirements)

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02486.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02486.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
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National Guard Plate: 39-04-10.8 (NDCC)
A. Eligibility: 

1. A registrant is eligible for a distinctive number plate under this section if the registrant is a member of the 
National Guard or if the registrant has retired from the National Guard after 20 years or more of service.

2. Registrant must contact the Adjutant General Office to obtain a National Guard license plate approval 
letter. A memorandum stating the individual is eligible will be issued.

3. A one-time fee of $5 is due to obtain a set of National Guard plates. Personalized plates may be issued as 
assigned by the Adjutant General. (See Personalized Plate)

B. A set of National Guard plates may be issued to the owner of a passenger motor vehicle, a motorcycle, or a 
truck in which the registered gross weight does not exceed 20,000 pounds [9071.84 kilograms]. License fees 
are based on the type of vehicle being registered.

C. Certificate of title fee is $5.
D. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for certificate of title. 
E. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
F. On termination of the registrant’s eligibility, the registrant shall return the distinctive number plates to the 

director who shall re-issue, for a fee of not more than $5, another number plate to which the registrant is 
entitled under this chapter.

New Vehicle: 39-04-02 Subsection 3, 39-05-05 Subsection 3 and 4  (NDCC)
A. Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) must be completed on the reverse side in addition to the odometer 

disclosure for retail sale. Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872) must be 
completed in full and signed on the reverse side. 

B. License fees are based on the type of vehicle being registered. Use proper fee schedule.
C. Certificate of title fee is $5.
D. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for certificate of title. 
E. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted. The tax is computed on the full purchase price less any trade-

in allowance. The vehicle traded must be identified by year, make, and vehicle identification number.
F. Odometer certification and damage disclosure certification are required. 

NOTE: See Passenger or Truck section(s) to determine the proper license type.

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
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Odometer Disclosure: 39-05-05 Subsection 1(g) (NDCC)
A. The Truth in Mileage Act (TIMA) is a federal law requiring the seller of a motor vehicle to make an odometer 

disclosure to the buyer at the time of sale or transfer of ownership. Under the federal law, the Motor Vehicle 
Division is required to refuse to transfer ownership of a motor vehicle unless the odometer disclosure is 
completed.

B. TIMA covers passenger vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles, pickup trucks, trucks, and unconventional 
vehicles if they are less than 10 years old. A truck with a manufacturer’s Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) 
over 16,000 pounds is exempt from the TIMA.

      ODOMETER DISCLOSURE
     Year     Year Model
 2020-2030 2011 and newer

2031 2012 and newer
2032 2013 and newer
2033 2014 and newer
2034 2015 and newer
2035 2016 and newer

C. If you acquire a motor vehicle, the seller or transferor must complete the odometer disclosure on the certificate 
of title for the vehicle. If you sell a motor vehicle, you must complete the odometer disclosure on the certificate 
of title for the vehicle. Reassignment/Odometer Disclosure (SFN 18773, contact MVD for form) may be used.

D. An odometer reading can be changed from kilometers to miles by multiplying the kilometers by .6214. When 
the odometer has been converted, the original certification is required from the business and individual 
responsible for the change. For example:

82,141
x .6214
 51,042 miles

E. Violation of this section is a Class C felony if the person has previously been convicted of violating this section, 
or if the person has violated this section with respect to more than one vehicle, and a Class B misdemeanor in 
all other cases.

Off-Highway: 39-29-01, 39-29-03, 39-29-09, 39-29-09.1 (NDCC)
A. DEFINITION: 

1. “Off-highway vehicle” means any motorized vehicle not designed for use on a highway and capable of 
cross-country travel on land, snow, ice, marsh, swampland, or other natural terrain. An off-highway vehicle 
must be classified into one of the following categories:
a. Class I off-highway vehicle is a vehicle that does not qualify as road capable under Chapters 39-21 and 

39-27, has a seat or saddle designed to be straddled by the operator, and has handlebars for steering 
control of two wheels.

b. Class II off-highway vehicle is fifty inches [1270 millimeters] or less in width, weighs one thousand two 
hundred pounds [544.31 kilograms] or less, and travels on three or more nonhighway tires, or is sixty-
five inches [1651 millimeters] or less in width, weighs two thousand pounds [907.19 kilograms] or less, 
and travels on four or more nonhighway tires.

c. Class III off-highway vehicle weighs less than eight thousand pounds [3628.74 kilograms]; travels 
on skis, runners, tracks, or four or more tires; has a seat; has a wheel, handlebars, or t steering for 
steering control; and is designated for or capable of cross-country on or over land, water, sand, snow, 
ice, marsh, swampland, or other natural terrain, but does not include a vehicle registered by the 
department under Chapter 39-04 or 39-24.
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B. TITLE AND REGISTRATION:
 1. License fee is $20 for a two-year period ending December 31 of each even numbered year.
 2. Certificate of title fee is $5.
 3. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee is NOT due.
 4. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
 5. One off-highway vehicle plate or decal is issued and must be securely affixed and displayed on the 

vehicle in a position as to provide clear legibility for identification.
 6. Personalized plates may be issued. A biannual fee of $25 is due. (See Personalized Plate)
 7. Fee for duplicate plate or decal is $5.
 8. An off-highway vehicle is required to be titled and registered if it is used on public or private property not 

owned or controlled by the off-highway owner.
 9. An off-highway vehicle is required to have liability insurance when it leaves the owner’s property and 

is operated on the highway shoulder or right of way. (See Insurance Requirement) Please contact your 
insurance agent for further information.

10. A motor-powered recreational vehicle dealer is required to collect a $5 safety fee on each new or used 
off-highway vehicle sold. This vehicle fee must be remitted quarterly to the North Dakota Parks and 
Recreation Department. This fee is NOT payable to the Motor Vehicle Division at the time of registration.

C. OPERATION REQUIREMENTS: 39-29-09 (NDCC)
1. An individual may not operate an off-highway vehicle on the roadway, shoulder, or inside bank or slope of 

any road, street, or highway except in emergencies.
2. An individual may operate a registered off-highway vehicle on a paved highway designated and posted at 

a speed not exceeding 55 miles [88.51 kilometers] per hour.
3. A licensed driver over 16 years of age may operate a registered Class III off-highway vehicle on a paved 

highway designated and posted at a speed not exceeding 65 miles [104.61 kilometers] per hour.
D. EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS: 39-27-09, 39-27-15, 39-27-16, 39-27-17.1, 39-29-09 (NDCC)

1. To operate an off-highway vehicle on a paved highway or gravel, dirt, or loose surface roadway, the off-
highway vehicle must be equipped with:
a. At least one mirror securely affixed to the handlebar and capable of adjustment within a range that 

will reflect an image that includes at least the horizon and the road surface to the rear, must have a 
minimum reflective surface of ten square inches, and shall not contain sharp edges or projections 
capable of producing injury.

b. Horn in good working order and must operate from a control device located on the left handlebar.
c. Speedometer and odometer calibrated in miles per hour respectively and must be fully illuminated 

when the headlamp is activated.
d. Brake light and lighted headlamp which may be either single or multiple beam type, must be sufficient 

intensity to reveal a person or vehicle at a distance of not less than 100 feet when operated at any 
speed less than 25 miles per hour, not less than 200 feet when operated at 25 miles per hour, and not 
less than 300 feet when operated at a speed of 35 miles per hour.

e. A motor of at least 350 cubic centimeters.
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Organizational Plate: 39-04-10.13 (NDCC)
A. ELIGIBILITY:
 A qualifying public or non-profit organization recognized by the Internal Revenue Service as tax exempt under 

26 USC 501(c)(3). The following organizations do not qualify:
1. An out-of-state college and university
2. A group within a high school, junior college, university, and technical school, including individual boosters, 

athletic boosters, and similar groups
3. Unions, political organizations, and religious organizations
4. Groups that promote racial or social disharmony
5. Public offices

B. Organization Plate Program Application (SFN 54340) must be completed and submitted with a design for 
approval by the director. 

C. Upon approval, a minimum of 50 applicants and a one-time payment of $1,500 must be submitted by the 
organization.

D. Organization plate may be issued to the owner of a passenger motor vehicle, or a truck, in which the 
registered gross weight does not exceed 20,000 pounds [9071.84 Kilograms]. License fees are based on the 
type of vehicle being registered, plus an additional annual fee of $25 for the organizational license plate.

E. Personalized plates may be issued. An annual fee of $25 is due. (See Personalized Plate)
F. Certificate of title fee is $5.
G. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for certificate of title.
H. Motor Vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for certificate of title.

Out-of-State Vehicle: 39-04-18 Subsection 2(c)(e), 39-04-21 (NDCC)
A. Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872) must be completed in full, signed 

on the front side, and submitted with the out-of-state certificate of title. 
B. License fees are based on type of vehicle being registered. Use proper fee schedule.
C. Certificate of title fee is $5.
D. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for certificate of title. 
E. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) is due on a vehicle purchased outside the state of North Dakota for use in this 

state. Tax is computed on the full purchase price less any trade-in allowance. The traded vehicle must be 
identified by year, make, and vehicle identification number.

F. A vehicle leased by a non-resident military personnel transferring into North Dakota may be titled and 
registered without the payment of any motor vehicle excise tax. This exemption applies only to a vehicle titled 
outside of North Dakota by the applicant in the name of the lease company, but is now being titled in North 
Dakota.

G. Any lien or mortgage on an out-of-state title must be released if ownership is being transferred at the time 
of applying for a North Dakota certificate of title. If ownership is not being transferred, any lien or mortgage 
shown and not released will be shown on the North Dakota certificate of title.

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn54340.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
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Park Model Trailer: 39-18-03.2, 57-55-10 Subsection 2 (NDCC)
A. Park Model trailer is a recreational vehicle not exceeding 40 feet (12.19 meters) in length primarily designed 

to provide temporary living quarters for recreation, camping, or seasonal use. A Park Model trailer is built on 
a single chassis, mounted on wheels, has a gross trailer area not exceeding 400 square feet (37.16 square 
meters) of enclosed living space in the setup mode, and is certified by the manufacturer as complying with 
American National Standards Institute, Standard A119.5.

B. The owner of a Park Model trailer may pay the Motor Vehicle Division a fee of $20 per calendar year to qualify 
for the exemption under Section 57-55-10 (NDCC). The Motor Vehicle Division will provide a receipt; Park 
Model Trailer Fee – Receipt (SFN 54098), to the owner. No certificate of title or license plate will be issued.

C. Statement of Use must be completed (SFN 59689).
D. Upon owner request, the Motor Vehicle Division shall register the Park Model trailer as a travel trailer. Payment      

of the registration fee qualifies the trailer for an exemption under Section 57-55-10 (NDCC) in lieu of issuing 
the receipt of payment.

E. License fee is $20.
F. Certificate of title fee is $5.
G. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee is NOT due.
H. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
I. If no source document is available, refer to Untitled Vehicle.

Passenger: 39-01-01 Subsection 59, 39-04-15, 39-04-18 Subsection 2(c)(e) (NDCC)
A. License fee is an annual fee, based on year first registered and weight of the vehicle.
B. Certificate of title fee is $5.
C. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title. 
D. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
E. A vehicle model such as: Blazer, Bronco, Envoy, Expedition, Navigator, Suburban, Tahoe, Yukon, etc., shall be 

registered as a passenger vehicle.

Patriotic Plate: NDCC 39-04-10.15
A. Complete SFN 54397 Application for Organization Plate.
B. Initial payment of $25 plus the annual registration fee.
C. Personalized Plate fee is $25.

1. Flag of the United States
2. Bald Eagle
3. Boonie Stomper

a. The Boonie cap signifies all veterans that have served in the Military and have fought the good fight for 
freedom.

b. The boots that are covered in mud, and blood of the ones who did not come home. The boots also 
represent the people who have gone on to walk with others who have walked in their shoes (boots). 
We do not want to forget that it takes a special person to fill the boots that we once walked in, no others 
can claim that they have walked the distance that a Veteran has.

c. The dog tags represent the Veteran that has returned home. There is only one dog tag.  The other one 
is now with a loved one when the Military/Veteran has returned. 

d. The torn dollar bill (that does not appear due to art being so small) is reminiscent that when a Military 
member went over, they gave their spouse, loved one or a good friend to hold onto the other half so 
when they return the dollar bill can be used to buy a toast that they are home.  From those who gave 
the sacrifice, the torn dollar bill was buried with their half and the rest was retained by the family or 
friend.

https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn59689.pdf
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Permits: 39-04-18.2, 39-04-18 Subsection 2(f), 39-04-21, 39-04-36 (NDCC)
A. NORTH DAKOTA RESIDENT 30-DAY TEMPORARY PERMIT

1. To be used for a North Dakota resident/business only.
2. This permit should be issued to a customer who will be handling the title and registration application -- 

paying tax, title, and license fees directly to MVD.
3. If for a business, a valid North Dakota driver’s license of a representative of the business must be used.
4. 30-day Registration Permit printed or typed on SFN 51429 is no longer valid.
5. Only available online at: https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/thirtyDayRegWelcome.htm
6. This permit may also be issued at the Motor Vehicle Central Office in Bismarck or any Contracted Motor 

Vehicle Service Office.
B. COMBINE PERMIT: 39-04-18 Subsection 2(h), 39-04-19 Subsection 6 (NDCC)

1. A nonresident custom combiner is issued a temporary license from June 1 through December 31 for a fee 
of $50.

2. A North Dakota resident custom combiner may purchase a $25 temporary license to be used in 
conjunction with a North Dakota farm truck registration.

3. A permit must be obtained from the North Dakota Highway Patrol Motor Carrier Operations. Web site: 
www.nd.gov/ndhp/motor-carrier.

4. Personal and other vehicles used in conjunction with custom combine operations must be registered with a 
temporary license.

C. DEMONSTRATION PERMIT: 39-04-10.1 (NDCC)
1. Truck or Trailer Demo Permit (SFN 2383) may be used by new and used motor vehicle dealers and trailer 

dealer who have a customer that would like to demo a truck or trailer prior to purchase.  
2. Dealer plates should not be used on the permitted vehicle.
3. A permit may be used for any number of trips within the stated time limit.
4. A permit may be purchased online at: https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/thirtyDayRegWelcome.htm.

TRUCK OR TRAILER DEMO PERMIT 
North Dakota Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle 
SFN 2383 (6-2020)

MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION 
ND DEPT OF TRANSPORTATION 
608 E BOULEVARD AVE 
BISMARCK ND 58505-0780

Date Issued Date Expires Year Make Vehicle Identification Number Truck Gross Weight

Customer Final Destination

Address City State Zip Code

Dealer Dealer Number 

Zip CodeStateCity Address

30 day Trailer In-transit Permit - $5
72 Hour Demo Permit - $10
20 Day Demo Permit - $50

Valid for Trucks 24,000 Pounds G.V.W. & Over or Trailers

Permit No.

04/15/2021 04/18/2021 2021 PETERBILT 1XXX6EENXL1113XXX 55000

TEST PERMIT Test City

608 E BOULEVARD AVE BISMARCK ND 58505

TEST MV DEALER TST123

58505NDBismarck608 E Boulevard Ave

T2834101

VOID

http://www.nd.gov/ndhp/motor-carrier
https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/thirtyDayRegWelcome.htm
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D. DRIVE-OUT PERMIT: 39-04-21 (NDCC)
1. Drive-Out Permit (SFN 2940) is issued to a non-resident who purchases a vehicle in North Dakota and 

needs registration to return to their home state.
2. A permit is valid for 30 days.
3. Fee is $5 per permit.
5. A permit may be purchased online at: https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/thirtyDayRegWelcome.htm

E. NOTARY PUBLIC OR DEALER CERTIFICATE OF LICENSE APPLICATION: 39-04-17 (NDCC)
1. Notary Public or Dealer Certificate of License Application (SFN 59087) is issued by notary public or 

authorized agent of dealership if fees for license are collected by the notary public or dealership and 
mailed to the Motor Vehicle Division.

2. Certificate can be issued for a new or used vehicle application and is valid for 75 days from date of 
issuance.

3. A violation is punishable by a fine of not less than $50.

Drive Out Permit 
North Dakota Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle 
SFN 2940 (6-2020)

Purchase Date Permit Number

Issue To (Name)

City State

Address

Vehicle Identification Number

Destination

Year Make Style

A
TTA

C
H

 TO
 SID

E O
R

 R
EA

R
  W

IN
D

O
W

608 East Boulevard, Bismarck, ND 58505-0780  Phone (701) 328-2725

Not valid after 30 days! Not valid if erased or altered 
in any way.  Not valid for residents of North Dakota. 
(Section 39-04-21 of the North Dakota Century Code)

A
TT

A
C

H
 T

O
 S

ID
E 

O
R

 R
EA

R
  W

IN
D

O
W 04/15/2021 D2834001

TEST PERMIT

TEST CITY SD

100 MAIN STREET

1G1PF5S90B7164XXX

Test City

2021 CHEVROLET TEST VEHICLE

VOID

https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/thirtyDayRegWelcome.htm
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F. OVERSIZE AND OVERWEIGHT VEHICLE AND/OR LOAD contact the North Dakota Highway Patrol, Motor 
Carrier Permit Operations, phone: 701-328-2621

G. TEMPORARY REGISTRATION: Sections 39-04-18, 39-04-18.2, and 39-04-21 NDCC
 Available online or from North Dakota Highway Patrol, Contracted Motor Vehicle Service Offices, or the Motor 

Vehicle Division Bismarck office. 
 Register online at: www.dot.nd.gov and click on the Non-Resident Temporary Registration link or click on: 

https://secure.apps.state.nd.us/dot/mv/mvrenewal/tempRegWelcome.htm.
 Option 1: A nonresident gainfully employed or engaged in trade, profession, or occupation within this 

state and owns, leases, or rents a place of residence or otherwise lives within this state for the purposes of 
employment is considered a resident and must purchase a temporary registration; or

 Option 2: Regardless of domicile or any other circumstance remains in this state for a period of 90 
consecutive days is considered a resident and must purchase a temporary registration. Excludes a college 
student.

 An owner, lessee or operator of a motor vehicle employed in this state on a temporary or full-time basis must 
purchase a temporary permit in lieu of registering the vehicle permanently in this state. 

 Temporary registration must be displayed in vehicle rear window on driver’s side visible to law enforcement. 
Vehicle must also display valid registration and license plate from any jurisdiction and be properly insured. 

 A motor vehicle temporarily registered in this state must be furnished a permit as follows:
1. A passenger vehicle, pickup, van, and truck not exceeding 20,000 registered gross weight pounds 

[9071.84 kilograms] temporarily registered in this state must be furnished a permit upon payment of $60 for 
6 months or $120 for 12 months of required registration.

2. A truck or a combination of a truck and trailer weighing more than 20,000 registered gross weight pounds 
[9071.84 kilograms] temporarily registered in this state must be furnished a permit upon payment of the 
following fees:

Weight Six Month Fee Twelve Month Fee
20,001 -  42,000 $220 $  440
42,001 -  62,000 $380 $  760
62,001 -  82,000 $530 $1,060
82,001 - 105,000 $900 $1,800

3. A motorcycle temporarily registered in this state must be furnished a permit upon payment of $30 for 6 
months or $60 for 12 months.

4. An additional fee of $10 applies to each temporary registration permit.
5. A permit is non-transferable and no refunds will be issued.

 A temporary license can be obtained for an out-of-state snowmobile. Online Temporary Registration is 
available through North Dakota Parks and Recreation for $15 at their website: http://www.parkrec.nd.gov/ or 
call 701-328-5357 for more information.

http://www.dot.nd.gov
https://secure.apps.state.nd.us/dot/mv/mvrenewal/tempRegWelcome.htm
http://www.parkrec.nd.gov/
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Personalized Plate: 39-04-10.3 (NDCC)
A. A personalized plate is available for a passenger car, truck, motor home, motorcycle, trailer, travel trailer and 

off-highway. (See Antique and Collector Vehicles)
B. In addition to annual registration fees, $25 is due when a personalized plate is ordered. 
C. A plate can have a combination of up to seven characters including spaces (numbers and letters). 
D. All personalized plate requests must be made in writing, provide meaning of the plate, and be signed by the 

customer. Requests must be approved by the Motor Vehicle Division. Special Plate Request (SFN 53612) 
can be accessed online (www.dot.nd.gov), completed, and submitted to the Motor Vehicle Division with the 
appropriate fee(s). 

E. A set of duplicate personalized plates of the same characters may be obtained for $5.
F. A change of characters on a replacement personalized plate may be obtained for $25.

Antique plate up to 7 characters $100 one-time fee
Antique plate (motorcycle) up to 6 characters $100 one-time fee
Collector plate up to 7 characters $160 one-time fee
Firefighter plate up to 5 characters
FFA plate up to 5 characters
Gold Star plate up to 5 characters
Mobility Impaired plate up to 6 characters
Mobility Impaired Motorcycle plate up to 5 characters
Motorcycle plate up to 6 characters
National Guard plate & Motorcycle up to 4 characters
Off-Highway plate up to 5 characters
Official plate up to 6 characters
Organizational plate up to 5 characters
Prisoner of War (POW) up to 7 characters
Standard plate up to 7 characters
Trailer plate up to 7 characters
Unconventional plate up to 5 characters
Veteran non-branch of service plate up to 5 characters
Veteran logo plate up to 5 characters
a.   Army
b.   Air Force
c.   Navy
d.   Coast Guard
e.   Marine
f.    Purple Heart

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn53612.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov
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Plate With Owner: 39-04-36 (NDCC)
A. Plate with owner legislation applies to all vehicles except snowmobiles, off-highway, prorate trucks, and 

prorate trailers, antiques, collectors, DAVs (Disabled American Veterans), POWs (Former Prisoner of War), 
and government vehicles.

B. When the owner of a vehicle sells, trades, or otherwise transfers the ownership of the vehicle, the owner must 
remove the license plate(s) and the vehicle will be considered unlicensed. When the transferee (buyer) applies 
for a certificate of title transfer, a full-year license fee will be due on the vehicle, less any available credit. 

C. The transferee (buyer) may operate the vehicle for a maximum of five days from date of acquisition without 
displaying any visible evidence of registration. However, the transferee must have dated evidence of 
ownership in the vehicle during these five days. Dated evidence can be either a dated bill of sale or a dated 
copy of the certificate of title.

D. The Motor Vehicle Division has available a self-issuing temporary registration permit that can be used on 
vehicles for 30 days from date of acquisition, during which time the transferee must obtain proper registration 
and certificate of title for the vehicle. These permits are not intended to replace the notary certificates issued 
by dealerships and others who submit an application on behalf of their customer. Transferred plates may not 
be displayed on the replacement vehicle until the vehicle has been registered with the Motor Vehicle Division 
and a new registration card has been received by the owner.

E. The owner who has removed license plates from a vehicle at the time it was transferred will be allowed a 
credit towards the registration fees on a replacement vehicle based on the number of unused months left on 
the registration. The license plate number from which the credit is calculated must be noted on the application 
for certificate of title and registration. The owner must use the license plates regardless of whether there is 
credit remaining. Credits are calculated from the month after the plates are transferred. If the plates are lost, 
replacement plates are $5.

F. Available credit can be used towards only one replacement vehicle. If the available credit exceeds the 
registration fees, the balance of the credit will be lost. A credit transfer fee of $5 is due. There are no refunds 
available.

G. To transfer a license credit, the license type does not need to be the same. Example, motorcycle license credit 
can be transferred to a passenger vehicle. 

H. Only license fees are transferable. Special fees collected at the time of registration: public transportation fund, 
abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee, and motorcycle education fee are not transferable.

I. A license fee credit can be transferred from the transferor (seller) to the transferee (buyer) if the transferor is 
the spouse, a sibling, or a lineal ancestor or descendant of the transferee.

J. A credit on a vehicle repossessed by a recorded lien holder is available only to the registered owner. 
K. A credit on a lease vehicle belongs to the lessee. A lessee(s) who has a personalized plate will be allowed to 

retain the plate and the $25 personalized plate fee.
L. If a corporation dissolves and a new corporation (business reorganization) is formed with the same 

stockholder(s), plates and registration fees can be retained.
M. A dealer must remove North Dakota license plates from any vehicle they have in their inventory.
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Power of Attorney (POA)
A. General POA

1. When a certificate of title or an application is signed by an individual for another and requires NO odometer 
certification, a general power of attorney may be used.

2. A copy of the original may be submitted. 
B. Secure POA

1. When a certificate of title or an application requiring a federal odometer certification is signed by an 
individual for another, a secure power of attorney must be submitted.

2. A secure power of attorney is effective only for vehicle transfers if the original certificate of title has become 
lost or is being held by a lien holder.

3. Original must be submitted.

Prisoner of War (POW): 39-04-10.5, 39-04-18 Subsection 2(o) (NDCC)
A. A letter from the Department of Veteran’s Affairs stating the applicant was a prisoner of war must accompany 

the Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872) when first applying for a POW 
license.

B. Passenger, truck, or motor home not exceeding 20,000 pounds gross weight may be registered with POW 
plates. License must be renewed by January 1 of each year. Plates may be transferred to a replacement 
vehicle.

C. Certificate of title fee is $5.
D. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title. 
E. Motor vehicle excise tax is NOT due. Eligibility for this exemption is two vehicles at a time.
F. Upon the death of a former prisoner of war, the surviving spouse may elect to retain the POW plates and 

retain exemption of deceased veteran for one vehicle for their own use until such time as the surviving spouse 
remarries. Within 30 days of remarriage, the surviving spouse must surrender the plates to the Motor Vehicle 
Division. If requested, a free commemorative plaque will be issued by the division as a keepsake for the family.

Purple Heart Plate: 39-04-18 Subsection 2 (NDCC)
A. A purple heart plate is issued to an individual eligible for interment in the North Dakota Veterans’s Cemetery 

and who have been awarded the Purple Heart. Application for North Dakota Veterans’s Number Plate (SFN 
51628) must be completed.

B. A passenger, truck, or any motor home not exceeding 26,000 pounds [11793.40 kilograms] registered gross 
weight may be registered with a set of purple heart plates.

C. Qualified veterans who have received a Purple Heart and display a Purple Heart plate are exempt from paying 
registration fees for one motor vehicle owned by that veteran. Any additional vehicles, full registration fees are 
due.

D. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
E. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title.
F. The initial $15 plate fee and subsequent $10 plate fee is not due for a motor vehicle owned by that veteran. 

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn51628.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn51628.pdf
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Rebuilt or Reconstructed Vehicle: 39-01-01 Subsection 70, 39-04-02 Subsection 2, 39-05-
05 Subsection 1(e), 39-05-20.2 Subsection 2, 39-21-45.1 (NDCC)
A. A rebuilt vehicle must be inspected by a business that is registered with the Secretary of State, is in good 

standing and offers motor vehicle repair to the public. The business must complete a Certificate of Vehicle 
Inspection (SFN 2486). The business completing the inspection may not be the same business that 
reconstructed the vehicle.

B. A bill of sale and/or a title for major parts must accompany Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle 
(SFN 2872). If a certificate of title is not available, procedures outlined in Chapter 37-12-04 of the North 
Dakota Administrative Code must be followed. (See Untitled Vehicle)

C. License fees are based on type of vehicle being rebuilt. Use the proper fee schedule.
D. Certificate of title fee is $5.
E. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title. 
F. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
G. A North Dakota vehicle identification number (VIN) may be issued by Motor Vehicle Division, NDDOT, to a 

rebuilt vehicle and must be stamped in a designated place.

Registration Renewal: 39-04-14, 39-04-14.1, 39-04-18 Subsection 1, 39-04-19 Subsection 2 
(NDCC)
A. A registration renewal invoice must be submitted by the registered owner(s).
B. Validation decals and a registration card are issued. 
C. The registration takes effect on the first day of the first month of the registration period.
D. North Dakota has no grace period.
E. A registration renewal can be done online at https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/renewal.htm. Possession 

of your receipt, using the online registration renewal process, will be evidence of compliance for current 
registration for a period of 15 days from the date of the printed receipt.

F. Military personnel, who have stored their vehicles during active duty, may be exempt from prior registration 
fees.
1. Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872) must be completed in full, 

provide induction date, date of discharge, or military leave.
2. Fees will be prorated upon the month of return from service.

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02486.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
http://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/renewal.htm
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
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Repairman’s Lien: 35-13, 39-05-19, 39-05-20 (NDCC)
A. Vehicle acquired through repair facility must follow the required steps to obtain a title.

1. Request for Vehicle Information.
a. Complete and submit Request for Vehicle Information (SFN 51269) with the $3 processing fee to 

determine/verify the current registered owner’s name, address, and any lienholder information.
2. Notice to existing lienholder(s) if the repair costs exceed $6,000 or 30% of the value of the property or 

$15,000 or 30% of the value of the property for agricultural or construction purposes.
a. A registered or certified letter must be mailed to the lienholders of record.
b. The registered or certified letter must include the following:

1. A list of the proposed repairs
2. Estimated cost of repairs
3. The estimated value of the property in its repaired condition. 

*Any associated storage fees may not begin to accrue until 15 days after the owner is requested to 
take possession of the property.

3.  Adding repair business as a lienholder on the title. 
Submit the following documentation to the North Dakota Motor Vehicle Division to be added as a lienholder 
on the title.
a. A copy of the Request for Vehicle Information (SFN 51269) stamped as processed and a copy of the 

registered owner information provided at the time the request was processed. 
b. Indemnifying Affidavit (SFN 60662) completed and signed by the repair business releasing the State of 

North Dakota and its agencies from any and all liability. The Indemnifying Affidavit must be very specific 
on how the person presenting the affidavit had consent of the registered owner of the vehicle to repair 
the vehicle.  Need to state that they will be added as second lienholder if they don’t meet repair costs to 
be listed as priority lien holder.

c. A copy of the certified letter or registered letter given to any lienholder(s) of record, the original certified 
or registered mail form (to verify ship date), and the original return receipt (to verify receipt date/date 
returned as undeliverable). 

d. If letter is returned as undeliverable, submit the entire letter/envelope with the title work.
e. Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle (SFN 2872) completed and 

signed.
f. Proof of legal name for the repair facility as required by NDCC 39-05-05 Subsection 1(f). Requirement 

may be satisfied by:
1. Print out of most recent Secretary of State filing.
2. Copy of the top section of the most recent state or federal tax return filed in the name of the repair 

facility name.
g. Applicable fees.

B. “Notice before foreclosure,” section 35-13-05 to foreclose on the vehicle. This process is provided below. 
1. Step One – (must be completed with step 3 above to receive title added as lienholder) 

a.  Send a registered or certified letter to both the owner and the lienholder on record, notifying the  
      intent to foreclose on the property. The letter shall give a 10-day notice to the parties of the intent  
      to sell the vehicle. The letter must include the following:

1.  The date/time frame by which the outstanding balance must be paid.
2.  You must allow a minimum of 30 days from the date the certified letter was received or returned 

as undeliverable.
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3. The certified letter notice to the lienholder must include:
a. A description of the property subject to the lien.
b. The grounds for the lien.
c. The name, address, and telephone number of the lienholder.
d. The amount owed.
e. The date after which the property subject to the lien will be offered for sale.
f. A statement that the lienholder of record or property owner may reclaim the property subject to 

the lien before the property is offered for sale by paying the amount owed.
2. Step Two 

The sale can now take place and the new buyer will need to submit the following documentation to the 
Motor Vehicle Division: 
a. Title for the vehicle, (if applicable) or will need to issue title with repair facility as lienholder.  
b. If applicable, documentation showing proof that all parties were notified of the foreclosure sale. This 

should include the letter and the registered or certified mailing confirmations.
c. If the repair lienholder purchases the vehicle at a sale, excise tax is owed and must be paid prior to 

putting the title into the name of the repair business as owner.
d. If selling a vehicle to a private party the following is required:  Release of Lien by Legal Owner (SFN 

2876), a current title reassigned or Part 1 Assignment and Warranty of Title (SFN 2877) (repair lien 
facility is eligible to sign off as seller), and a Bill of Sale from the repair lien facility.

Repossession: 39-05-19, 39-05-20.3 Subsection 3 (NDCC)
A. Repossession Affidavit (SFN 2880) is used when a vehicle is legally repossessed. The affidavit must be 

completed and signed by the lienholder. 
B. Part 1 of the North Dakota certificate of title must be signed by the repossessor as seller if certificate of title 

is being transferred to a new owner. In Part 1, the repossessor must sign as buyer and complete odometer 
information if certificate of title is being transferred into the repossessor’s name.

C. A lien release will be required from any additional lienholder(s) identified on the certificate of title.
D. A voluntary repossession requires a Repossession Affidavit (SFN 2880).

Salvage Certificate of Title: 39-04-44, 39-05-20.1, 39-05-20.2 (NDCC)
A. The owner of a vehicle damaged in excess of 75 percent of the vehicle’s retail value, as determined by the 

National Automobile Dealers Association official used car guide, shall forward the certificate of title for that 
vehicle to the Motor Vehicle Division within ten days and the division shall issue a salvage certificate of title.

B. Glass damage and hail damage must be excluded in the determination of whether a vehicle has been 
damaged in excess of 75 percent of the retail value.

C. Salvage requirements apply to all model year vehicles. All brands must be carried forward regardless of the 
age of the vehicle.

D. A trailer, travel trailer, off-highway, and snowmobile is covered by the salvage law requirements. No inspection 
required; however, the certificate of title for the vehicle will be branded as “Previously Salvaged.”

E. An owner who involuntarily and permanently destroys a vehicle may return the license plates, registration 
card, and the certificate of title to the Motor Vehicle Division. A refund for the unused portion of the license fee 
applies only if the vehicle is not replaced. License fee credit will be applied to the replacement vehicle. Affidavit 
for Refund of License Fee of a Permanently Destroyed Vehicle (SFN 2889) must be completed. A salvage 
certificate of title will be issued.

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02880.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02880.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02889.pdf
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F. If a vehicle for which a salvage certificate of title has been issued is reconstructed, a certificate of title may be 
obtained with a previously salvaged brand status assigned on the certificate of title.
1. A reconstructed vehicle must be inspected by a business that is registered with the Secretary of State 

and in good standing. The business should offer motor vehicle repair to the public. (Certificate of Vehicle 
Inspection, SFN 2486). The business completing the inspection may not be the same business that 
reconstructed the vehicle. Application must be accompanied by a Certificate of Vehicle Inspection (SFN 
2486).

2. Salvage certificate must be surrendered.
3. Certificate of title fee is $5.

Snowmobile: 39-24 (NDCC)
A. A snowmobiles is required to be titled and licensed if used on public or private property not owned or 

controlled by the snowmobile owner.
B. License fee is $50 for a two-year period ending September 30 of each odd-numbered year. Two snowmobile 

decals are issued and must be securely affixed on each side of the snowmobile in a position as to provide 
clear legibility for identification.

C. Certificate of title fee is $5.
D. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee is NOT due.
E. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
F. Fee for duplicate decals is $5.
G. A registered snowmobile is required to have liability insurance if it is operated on a state trail. (See Insurance 

Requirements)
H. If a snowmobile is registered in another country or another state, the owner is required to display on the 

snowmobile a decal available from the North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department. The fee for the decal 
is $25 and it is payable yearly.

I. A motor-powered recreational vehicle dealer is required to collect a $5 safety fee on each new or used 
off-highway vehicle sold. This fee must be remitted quarterly to the North Dakota Parks and Recreation 
Department. This fee is NOT payable to the Motor Vehicle Division at the time of registration.

J. COLLECTOR SNOWMOBILE: 39-24-04 Subsection 2(f) (NDCC)
1. A collector snowmobile is a snowmobile that is 25 years old or older, was originally produced as a separate 

identifiable make by a manufacturer, and is owned and operated solely as a collector’s item. 
a. Complete Affidavit of Use for a Collector Snowmobile (SFN 54339).
b. Certificate of title fee is $5.
c. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee is NOT due. 
d. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
e. License fees are NOT due.

Soil Conservation: 39-04-19.1 (NDCC)
A. Only a truck with a gross weight of 26,000 pounds or more and used exclusively in soil conservation work or 

for township road construction shall qualify for license at the soil conservation rate. Contract for work cannot 
exceed $3,000. Owner may register only one truck under this provision.

B. License as a truck using one-half the fee shown on the truck fee schedule.
C. Certificate of title fee is $5.
D. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of 

title. 
E. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02486.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02486.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02486.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn54339.pdf
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Special Mobile Equipment: 39-01-01(84), 39-04-18 Subsection 2(a) (NDCC)
A. A vehicle not designed or used primarily to transport property or haul product and only incidentally operated or 

moved over a highway, shall qualify as Special Mobile Equipment.
B. Refer to the Permit Policies from the North Dakota Highway Patrol Motor Carrier Operations: www.nd.gov/

ndhp/motor-carrier (Permit Policy for Movement of Over-Dimensional Equipment).

Stack Mover: 39-12-04 Subsection 1(d) (NDCC)
A. A stack mover vehicle is not licensed. A commercial mover must obtain a permit for $50 from the North Dakota 

Highway Patrol. No permit may be issued unless proof of insurance showing coverage of $300,000 of liability 
insurance is provided. A farmer hauling their own hay is exempt from buying the permit.

B. Certificate of title fee is $5.
C. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title. 

Staggered Registration: 39-04-14.2 (NDCC)
A. The Motor Vehicle Division uses a system of staggered registration for the following types of vehicles:

 1. A passenger car 
 2. A motor home
 3. A trucks with a registered gross weight of 10,000 pounds or less
 4. A pickup truck with a registered gross weight not exceeding 20,000 pounds

B. Staggered registration does not apply to the following types of vehicles:
 1. off-highway
 2. antique
 3. collector
 4. DAV (Disabled American Veteran)
 5. fleet vehicle 
 6. government vehicle
 7. motorcycle
 8. POW (Prisoner of War)
 9. snowmobile
10. trailer
11. truck with a registered gross weight exceeding 10,000 pounds
12. unconventional

C. A new vehicle, out-of-state vehicle, and North Dakota titled vehicle subject to staggered registration will pay an 
annual (12-month) registration fee from the date of sale or date first used in North Dakota.

Tax: Vehicle Excise 57-40.3 (NDCC)
A. The tax law imposes an excise tax at the rate of (5%) on a vehicle purchased either in or outside the state of 

North Dakota for use in this state. The tax is payable to the Motor Vehicle Division at the time certificate of title 
application for the vehicle is made. The tax is computed on the full purchase price less any trade-in allowance. 
The vehicle traded must be identified by year, make, and vehicle identification number.
 1. Excise tax applies on a vehicle purchased outside the state.
 2. Excise tax applies on a North Dakota vehicle purchased from an individual or any vehicle purchased from 

a licensed North Dakota dealer.
 3. If the vehicle is a gift and does not qualify for an exemption, the value is based on the National 

Automobile Dealers Used Car Guide.

http://www.nd.gov/ndhp/motor-carrier
http://www.nd.gov/ndhp/motor-carrier
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 4. When a vehicle is involuntarily destroyed, the amount of the settlement from the insurance company can be 
used as a trade-in allowance. A notarized affidavit from the insurance company, which states the amount of 
the settlement, must be submitted with the application for certificate of title for the replacement vehicle.

B. TAX EXEMPTIONS:
 1. Transfer of a motor vehicle by way of gift between a husband and wife, parent and child, brother and 

sister, or grandparent and grandchild.
 2. Transfer between joint tenants, provided the vehicle was previously titled or licensed in the name of two 

or more joint tenants and subsequently transferred without monetary consideration to one or more of the 
joint tenants.

 3. Transfer resulting from inheritance from or bequest of a decedent. However, a PURCHASE from an 
estate is subject to tax.

 4. Change of name only because of marriage, adoption, or court order (entire document).
 5. Vehicle acquired through a lease purchase agreement.

a. If tax was paid on the total lease consideration, tax is due on the lease buyout amount.
b. If tax was paid on the full purchase price and you have been in possession of the vehicle over one 

year, no tax is due.
c. If tax was paid on the full purchase price and you have been in possession of the vehicle for less than 

one year, tax is due on the lease buyout amount.
 6. A vehicle which is expressly exempt from North Dakota registration provisions, such as a vehicle 

purchased or leased by the State of North Dakota.
 7. Lien change. Applicable only to a change of a lien on a motor vehicle when the registered owner has not 

changed.
 8. Interstate carrier vehicle. Percent due based on intrastate miles (contact Motor Carrier).
 9. Credit or reciprocity for tax paid to any state which grants a similar credit or reciprocity for tax paid to the 

State of North Dakota. Proof of tax payment must be submitted with the application.
a. Reciprocity cannot be granted for Alaska, Delaware, Georgia, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon.
b. Canada is not part of the United States. Vehicles transferred into this state from Canada are subject to 

5 percent excise tax on the fair market value at the time it is titled and registered. 
c. Imported vehicles from another country are subject to 5 percent excise tax on the purchase price if a new 

vehicle or on the fair market value if a used vehicle, with no credit allowed for tax paid to another country.
10. Public transportation under contract with NDDOT.
11. Dealer resale – USED vehicle
12. Dealer resale – NEW vehicle

a. Vehicles purchased for the sole purpose of resale by licensed dealer.
b. Any motor vehicle with a registered gross vehicle weight of at least a class six, seven, or eight 

chassis, purchased for installation or assembly of heavy duty equipment by a person engaged in the 
business of installing or assembling the equipment, which when completed forms an integral part of 
a vehicle, has limited marketability, and is not normally sold to the general public. This exemption 
applies only when the Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin is reassigned to the installer or assembler 
by a licensed new motor vehicle dealer on a Form 22056 prescribed by the State Tax Commissioner. 
The motor vehicle and installed equipment must be sold as a unit when completed. “Heavy duty 
equipment” includes a fuel delivery tank, refuse body, crane, aerial bucket device, bus body 
regardless of gross vehicle weight, and digger derrick.
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13. The sale of a motor vehicle to an American Indian at any location is exempt from motor vehicle excise 
tax if the Native American purchaser is an enrolled member of a federally recognized Indian tribe and 
the enrolled member lives within the boundaries of a North Dakota Indian reservation. The Tribal Claim 
for Tax Exemption (SFN 18085) must be completed and accompany the application for certificate of title. 
There is NO exemption in the motor vehicle excise tax law for an American Indian leasing a motor vehicle 
because the ownership of the motor vehicle remains with the lease company.

14. A disabled veteran purchasing or leasing a motor vehicle under the provisions of Public Law 663 of the 
79th Congress of the United States, as amended or a 100 percent service-connected disability as verified 
by the Department of Veteran Affairs. A vehicle purchased or leased by former prisoner of war.

15. A vehicles in possession of a nonprofit senior citizen or a mobility-impaired persons’ corporation used 
exclusively to transport a senior citizen or mobility-impaired person and not used for any commercial 
activity. A motor vehicle donated to a qualified nonprofit organization which is 501(c)(3) exempt. The 
vehicle must be transferred from the nonprofit to the new owner within 90 days. The nonprofit organization 
will receive tax exempt status IF the transfer is completed within 90 days. The Tax Commissioner will 
issue a certificate of exemption to the qualified nonprofit organization.

16. Specially equipped vehicle, purchased or leased, to transport a permanently physically disabled 
person(s). Eligibility letter from the North Dakota Driver License Division required (Limited to one vehicle).

17. A vehicle manufactured by a person for their own use.
18. A vehicle owned by an individual and transferred to a newly formed partnership, corporation, or farm 

corporation. Certificate of title transfer must be completed within 180 days from the effective date of the 
reorganization.

19. A vehicle transferred from a partnership to one of the partners when the partnership dissolves. A vehicle 
transferred from a corporation including a farm corporation to one of the stockholders when a corporation 
is dissolved and liquidated. Certificate of title transfer must be completed within 180 days from the 
effective date of the dissolution or liquidation. A vehicle previously transferred under this section may be 
transferred back to original owner.

20. A vehicle purchased or leased by any parochial or private nonprofit school, which are used for the 
transportation of students.

21. An assembled vehicle by a motor vehicle dealer.
22. Transfer into a family trust.
23. A vehicle acquired by military personnel who claim North Dakota as their home state of residence, but 

is stationed outside the state of North Dakota must complete a Military Claim for Tax Exemption (SFN 
17147). A motor vehicle transferred without consideration to or from a person within 30 days prior to the 
person entering into the armed forces of the United States or within 30 days after discharge there from or 
while serving in the armed forces of the United States.

24. Used mobile home.
25. North Dakota political subdivision (purchased or leased).
26. A vehicle acquired through repossession.
27. Non-resident military lease vehicle. Lease must take place, prior to entering North Dakota. Existing 

certificate of title must be in the name of the lessor. 
28. A damaged motor vehicle transferred to an insurance company in a settlement of an insurance claim.
29. Other.
30. A motor vehicle transferred from an individual to a former spouse of the individual if the transfer is the 

result of a divorce decree. A transfer of a motor vehicle is the result of a divorce if the transfer occurs 
within one year after the date of the divorce became final. A divorce decree is required to be submitted to 
receive this tax exemption.

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn18085.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn17147.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn17147.pdf
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Title Transfer: (North Dakota Certificate of Title) 39-04-06 Subsection 9, 39-04-36, 39-05-
16.1, 39-05-17 (NDCC)
A. Seller must deliver certificate of title to purchaser within 15 days. Purchaser must submit certificate of title to 

the division for transfer within 30 days of receipt. 
B. All liens (if any) on front of certificate of title must be released.
C. Certificate of title fee is $5.
D. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when purchase constitutes a sale.
E. Odometer disclosure may be required. (See Odometer Disclosure).
F. Part 1 must be signed by seller(s) or transferor(s). If certificate of title is in the name of a company, it must 

be countersigned. Legal name and address of new owner or applicant must be typed or printed legibly. 
(Definitions of legal name: DL - Driver License; CID - non-driving customer identification; Corpid - Corporate 
identification; FEIN - Federal Employer Identification Number.) Odometer certification must be completed, if 
applicable. New owner(s) must sign and print their name certifying the mileage stated.

G. Part 2 must be completed if vehicle is sold by a dealer. Dealer must sign and show dealer number. Name 
and address of new owner(s) must be typed or printed legibly. Odometer certification must be completed, if 
applicable. New owner(s) must sign and print their name certifying the mileage stated.

H. Part 3 must be completed and signed by new owner(s). (i.e., John and Mary Doe - by John Doe); in 
company name, must be countersigned (i.e., Smith Company by John Smith, President).

Examples: How names appear on the face of a certificate of title and how they must be signed off.
John Jones John Jones must sign.
John Jones or Mary Jones Either John Jones or Mary Jones must sign.
John and Mary Jones Both John and Mary Jones must sign.
John and Mary Jones, as joint 
tenants with rights of survivorship

Both must sign unless one is deceased, in which case the 
survivor must sign and attach a certified copy of the death 
certificate.

Northwest Trucking, Inc. Agent of the company must sign and indicate their title and 
business name. For example: John Jones, President of the 
Northwest Trucking Inc. 

Name changes during ownership Must sign using the name that appears on the title.

NOTE: See ESTATE for requirements of deceased owner(s).
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Trailers: 39-01-01 Subsection 97, 39-04-11, 39-04-19 Subsection 4 and 5,  
39-04-26 (NDCC)

1. A trailer is a vehicle without motor power designed to carry property or passengers wholly on its own 
structure and to be drawn by a motor vehicle.

2. The gross weight of a trailer must be included in the registered gross weight of the towing vehicle when the 
vehicle or combination of vehicles is for hire or commercial use.

3. License fees for trailers are $20.
4. Certificate of title fee is $5. 
5. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee is NOT due.
6. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.

A. BOAT TRAILER: 39-04-18 Subsection 2(m) (NDCC)
1. No certificate of title issued. 
2. Not required to be registered, but may acquire an identification plate upon payment of a $5 fee. 
3. See Boat License.

B. CAR-DOLLIE: 39-04-18 Subsection 2(m) (NDCC)
1. A vehicle designed to transport a motor vehicle by placing either front or rear axle of the motor vehicle on 

the car dollie and towing it behind another motor vehicle. 
2. No certificate of title or registration required.
3. An identification plate may be issued upon request for a fee of $5.

C. COMBINE TRAILER: 39-04-18 Subsection 2 (H), 39-04-19 Subsection 6 (NDCC)
1. If over dimensional, the owner or operator must contact the North Dakota Highway Patrol Motor Carrier 

Operations. Website: www.nd.gov/ndhp/motor-carrier.
2. No certificate of title or registration is required.
3. An identification plate may be issued upon request for a fee of $5.
4. See Permits, Combine Permit.

D. FLEET TRAILER: 39-04-12 Subsection 2 (NDCC)
1. Registration is available to an owner of 100 or more vehicles (includes passenger, truck, and trailer). The 

registrant shall file with the division a corporate surety bond in the amount of $10,000.
2. Certificate of title and registration is required.
3. See Fleet Registration.

E. HOMEMADE TRAILER: 39-04-19 Subsection 4 and 5 (NDCC)
1. A trailer that has been built or reconstructed and used to transport property.
2. The applicant must submit a written request to have a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) number 

assigned. The written request must include: name, address, phone number, and description of trailer.
3. Upon assignment of the VIN, it must be affixed in a designated space and inspected. An inspection must 

be done by a qualified business, registered and in good standing with the N.D. Secretary of State, that 
offers motor vehicle repairs to the public. Certificate of Vehicle Inspection (SFN 2486) must be completed.

4.  Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872) and a Vehicle Statement of 
Ownership (SFN 2903) must be completed in full.

5.  License fee is $20. A trailer plate is issued.
6.  Certificate of title fee is $5.
7.  Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee is NOT due.
8.  Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) is NOT due upon initial certificate of title application.

Rev. 09/13/23

http://www.nd.gov/ndhp/motor-carrier
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02486.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02872.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02903.pdf


41

F. PERMANENT TRAILER: 39-04-18 Subsection 1(b) 39-04-19 Subsection 4(b)(1) (NDCC)
1. Registration is available to an owner of a farm or semi trailer and is non-transferable.
2. Certificate of title and registration is required.
3. Fee is $120.

G. OFFICE (JOB SITE TRAILER): 39-05-02.2 (NDCC)
1. A trailer designed for office use only cannot be used for storage or transporting product or property. It can be moved 

from one job to another.
2. A temporary permit is required to move the trailer from one job site to another. 
3. Not required to be titled or registered.
4. Motor Vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when the purchase constitutes a sale.

H. TRAVEL (CAMPER) TRAILER: 39-18-03, 39-01-01 Subsection 98 (NDCC)
1. A vehicular unit mounted on wheels, designed to provide temporary living quarters for recreation, camping, or travel 

use, and not required to obtain a special highway movement permit when towed.
2. License fee is $20. A trailer plate is issued. Plates must be transferred to a replacement trailer and any unused license 

fees may be used as a credit.
3. Certificate of title fee is $5.
4. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee is NOT due.
5. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
6. A premium portable fish house is required to be titled and registered as a travel (camper) trailer. A premium fish house 

would be a trailer with a bed or bunk, stove or cook top, refrigerator, heat, etc.

NOTE: A travel trailer must be titled and licensed regardless of weight. 

I. UTILITY (PRIVATE) OR RECREATIONAL TRAILER: 39-04-18 Subsection 2(m) (NDCC)
1. A trailer not exceeding 1,500 pounds gross weight and not for hire or commercial use, but used to transport 

recreational vehicle(s) or boat is not required to be licensed.
2. A trailer used to transport a recreational vehicle may include off-highway, snowmobile, vessel, personal watercraft, or a 

motorcycle not required to be registered.
3. Utility (private) trailer plate may be issued when the trailer is going out-of-state. 
4. Utility (private) trailer plate fee is $5.
5. No certificate of title is issued.

NOTE: 

• A trailer transporting a race car must be titled and registered.
• A trailer manufactured as a basic fish house is not required to be titled and registered. A basic fish house would be 

a trailer that has four walls and holes in the floor for fishing.

Rev. 09/13/23
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TRAILER REQUIREMENTS
NORTH DAKOTA HIGHWAY PATROL 
MOTOR CARRIER DIVISION 
NDHP 943 (Rev. 1/2016) 

Trailers less than 80 inches in width:

 Two red reflectors on rear, one on each side (mounted 15 to 60 inches above ground) (39-21-05, 
10).

 One stop light (unless stoplight on towing vehicle may be seen from the rear) (39-21-06, 08). 
 One taillight on the rear (mounted 15 to 72 inches above the ground).  Trailers manufactured or 

assembled after January 1, 1964, shall be equipped with at least two tail lamps mounted on the 
rear (39-21-04). 

Trailers over 80 inches wide require:

 Two red reflectors on rear, one on each side (mounted 15 to 60 inches above ground) (39-21-05, 
10).

 Two red clearance lamps on rear, one on each side (39-21-08). 
 Two amber clearance lights on front, one on each side (39-21-09). 
 One stop light on the rear (39-21-06, 08). 
 One taillight on the rear (mounted 15 to 72 inches above ground).  Trailers manufactured or 

assembled after January 1, 1964, shall be equipped with at least two tail lamps mounted on the 
rear (39-21-04). 

Turn signal lights:

 Trailers over 3,000 pounds gross weight are required to have turn signal lights (39-21-06). 
 Trailers less than 3,000 pounds gross weight are not required to have signal or stop lamps, if 

such lamps are visible from the rear of the towing vehicle (39-21-06, 08). 

Pulling two trailers:

 A motor vehicle may draw two trailers.  This would allow the towing of a boat behind a gooseneck 
or bumper hitch camping trailer. 

Safety chains or brakes:

 Every trailer or semitrailer when operated upon a highway at a speed in excess of 25 miles per 
hour shall be equipped with safety chains or brakes (39-21-32). 

 If a second trailer is pulled behind a gooseneck or fifth wheel trailer, the first trailer must be 
equipped with brakes; the second trailer must be equipped with safety chains.  If the first trailer is 
a bumper hitch design, the trailer must be equipped with brakes and safety chains.  If the gross 
weight of the second trailer exceeds 3,000 pounds, brakes are also required.  The brakes must 
be so designed as to be applied by the driver of the truck from the cab.  The brakes must be so 
designed and connected that in case of an accidental breakaway, the brakes will be 
automatically applied on the trailer that breaks loose (37-06-03-02, NDAC). 

Mirrors:

 Every motor vehicle, operated singly or when towing any other vehicle (trailers, etc.), shall be 
equipped with a mirror so located as to reflect to the driver a view of the highway for a distance of 
at least 200 feet to the rear of such motor vehicle (39-21-38). 
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Trailer Requirements, NDHP 943 
1/2016
Page 2 

Trailer hitches, drawbar, or connections between vehicles:

 When a second trailer is pulled, the hitch on the first trailer must be attached to the frame.  The 
hitch must be a ball and socket type with a locking device or a pintle hook (37-06-03-02, NDAC). 

 The drawbar or other connection between any two vehicles, one of which is towing or drawing 
the other on a highway, shall be of such design, strength, and construction so as to prevent the 
unintentional uncoupling of the vehicles (39-21-44.2). 

Lamp or flag on projecting load:

 Whenever the load upon any vehicle extends to the rear four feet or more, a red light or lantern or 
a red flag is required (39-21-13). 

Registration:

 All trailers and semitrailers for hire or commercial use and all trailers, semitrailers, and farm 
trailers exceeding 1,500 pounds, not including the weight of the towing vehicle, must be 
registered.

 Any trailer, semitrailer, or farm trailer used to transport recreational vehicles or boats does not 
have to be registered unless it is for hire or commercial use.  The registration fee is $20. 

 Trailers not required to be registered, such as privately-owned utility trailers, may be furnished an 
identification plate for a fee of $5. 
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Truck: 39 -01-01 Subsection 81 and 99, 39-04-19 Subsection 2(b), 39-04-26, 39-12-05,  
39-04-23 (NDCC)
A. License fees are based on registered gross weight of vehicle and year first registered. A truck with a registered 

gross weight exceeding 10,000 pounds is subject to a calendar registration. A pickup truck with a registered 
gross weight not exceeding 20,000 pounds is subject to an annual registration.

B. Minimum registered weight for a truck is double the unloaded weight. A super cab, club cab, crew cab, etc., 
are registered as pickup trucks.

C. A single axle truck may not exceed 20,000 pounds on the rear axle.
D. A tandem axle truck may not exceed 17,000 pounds per axle on rear axles.
E. A fixed load truck, that cannot be used to transport other property, is licensed at actual weight. Examples: a 

wrecker, a truck with special mounted equipment, etc.
F. A four-axle straight truck, issued an “equipment approval” certificate from the North Dakota Highway Patrol, 

must be registered for the weight authorized on the certificate. Website: www.nd.gov/ndhp/motor-carrier
G. Tire size and wheel base determine the legal gross weight—maximum allowable is 550 pounds per inch width 

of tire. Maximum registered gross weight is 105,500 pounds.
H. Certificate of title fee is $5.
I. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of 

title. 
J. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
K. A weight increase requires a minimum fee of $5. Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872) 

must be completed.

NOTE: Heavy vehicle use tax due on a truck with a gross weight of 55,000 pounds and greater. (See Heavy 
Vehicle Use Tax and North Dakota Axle and Weight Limitation Chart) 

http://www.nd.gov/ndhp/motor-carrier
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
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NORTH DAKOTA WEIGHT LIMITATIONS CHART 11/2013 
NORTH DAKOTA HIGHWAY PATROL  
 
Computed to nearest foot by the weight formula in Section 39-12-05 and Section 39-12-05.3 of the North Dakota Century Code. 

 W = Maximum weight in pounds on any group of two or more axles. 
 L  = Distance in feet between extremes of any group of two or more consecutive axles. 
 N = Number of axles in group under consideration. 

Distance in feet between the 
extremes of any groups of 2 or 

more consecutive axles 

 
Maximum Load in Pounds Carried on any Group of 2 or More Consecutive Axles 

                   2 Axles                               3 Axles                      4 Axles                       5 Axles                      6 Axles                        7 Axles                       8 Axles                                9 Axles 
4 
5 
6 
7 
8 
9 
10 

34,000 
34,000 
34,000 
34,000 
38,000 
39,000 
40,000* 

 
 
 
34,000 
42,000 
43,000 
43,500 

      

11 
12 
13 
14 
15 

 44,500 
45,000 
46,000 
46,500 
47,500 

 
50,000 
50,500 
51,500 
52,000 

 
 
 
  57,000 
  57,500 

    

16 
17 
18 
19 
20 

 48,000 
49,000 
49,500 
50,500 
51,000 

52,500 
53,500 
54,000 
54,500 
55,500 

  58,000 
  58,500 
  59,500 
  60,000 
  60,500 

 
 
 
 
  66,000 

   

21 
22 
23 
24 
25 

 52,000 
52,500 
53,500 
54,000 
55,000 

56,000 
56,500 
57,500 
58,000 
58,500 

  61,000 
  62,000 
  62,500 
  63,000 
  63,500 

  66,500 
  67,000 
  68,000 
  68,500 
  69,000 

 
 
 
  74,000 
  74,500 

  

26 
27 
28 
29 
30 

 55,500 
56,500 
57,000 
58,000 
58,500 

59,500 
60,000 
60,500 
61,500 
62,000 

  64,500 
  65,000 
  65,500 
  66,000 
  67,000 

  69,500 
  70,000 
  71,000 
  71,500 
  72,000 

  75,000 
  76,000 
  76,500 
  77,000 
  77,500 

 
 
  82,000 
  82,500 
  83,000 

 

31 
32 
33 
34 
35 

 59,500 
60,000* 

62,500 
63,500 
64,000 
64,500 
65,500 

  67,500 
  68,000 
  68,500 
  69,500 
  70,000 

  72,500 
  73,000 
  74,000 
  74,500 
  75,000 

  78,000 
  78,500 
  79,500 
  80,000 
  80,500 

  84,000 
  84,500 
  85,000 
  85,500 
  86,000 

 
  90,000 
  90,500 
  91,000 
  91,500 

36 
37 
38 
39 
40 

Two consecutive sets of tandem axles may carry a 
gross load of 34,000 pounds each provided the 
overall distance between the first and last axles of 
such consecutive sets of tandem axles is 36 feet or 
more. 

66,000 
66,500 
67,500 
68,000 
68,500 

  70,500 
  71,000 
  72,000 
  72,500 
  73,000 

  75,500 
  76,000 
  77,000 
  77,500 
  78,000 

  81,000 
  81,500 
  82,000 
  83,000 
  83,500 

  86,500 
  87,000 
  87,500 
  88,500 
  89,000 

  92,500 
  93,000 
  93,500 
  94,000 
  94,500 

41 
42 
43 
44 
45 

  69,500 
70,000 
70,500 
71,500 
72,000 

  73,500 
  74,500 
  75,000 
  75,500 
  76,000 

  78,500 
  79,000 
  80,000 
  80,500 
  81,000 

  84,000 
  84,500 
  85,000 
  85,500 
  86,500 

  89,500 
  90,000 
  90,500 
  91,000 
  91,500 

  95,000 
  95,500 
  96,000 
  97,000 
  97,500 

46 
47 
48 
49 
50 

  72,500 
73,500 
74,000 
74,500 
75,500 

  77,000 
  77,500 
  78,000 
  78,500 
  79,500 

  81,500 
  82,000 
  83,000 
  83,500 
  84,000 

  87,000 
  87,500 
  88,000 
  88,500 
  89,000 

  92,500 
  93,000 
  93,500 
  94,000 
  94,500 

  98,000 
  98,500 
  99,000 
  99,500 
100,000 

51 
52 
53 
54 
55 

  76,000 
76,500 
77,500 
78,000 
78,500 

  80,000 
  80,500 
  81,000 
  82,000 
  82,500 

  84,500 
  85,000 
  86,000 
  86,500 
  87,000 

  90,000 
  90,500 
  91,000 
  91,500 
  92,000 

  95,000 
  95,500 
  96,500 
  97,000 
  97,500 

100,500 
101,500 
102,000 
102,500 
103,000 

56 
57 
58 
59 
60 

Gross weight limit on interstate. Gross weight limit 
on county and other local highways unless 
designated for more. 

79,500 
80,000* 

  83,000 
  83,500 
  84,500 
  85,000 
  85,500 

  87,500 
  88,000 
  89,000 
  89,500 
  90,000 

  92,500 
  93,500 
  94,000 
  94,500 
  95,000 

  98,000 
  98,500 
  99,000 
  99,500 
100,500 

103,500 
104,000 
104,500 
105,000 
105,500* 

61 
62 
63 
64 
65 

     86,000 
  87,000 
  87,500 
  88,000 
  88,500 

  90,500 
  91,000 
  92,000 
  92,500 
  93,000 

  95,500 
  96,000 
  97,000 
  97,500 
  98,000 

101,000 
101,500 
102,000 
102,500 
103,000 

 

66 
67 
68 
69 
70 

     89,500 
  90,000 
  90,500 
  91,000 
  92,000 

  93,500 
  94,000 
  95,000 
  95,500 
  96,000 

  98,500 
  99,000 
  99,500 
100,500 
101,000 

103,500 
104,500 
105,000 
105,500* 

 

71 
72 
73 
74 
75 

     92,500 
  93,000 
  93,500 
  94,500 
  95,000 

  96,500 
  97,000 
  98,000 
  98,500 
  99,000 

101,500 
102,000 
102,500 
103,000 
104,000 

  

76 
77 
78 
79 
80 

     95,500 
  96,000 
  97,000 
  97,500 
  98,000 

  99,500 
100,000 
101,000 
101,500 
102,000 

104,500 
105,000 
105,500* 

  

81 
82 
83 
84 
85 
86 

     98,500 
  99,500 
100,000* 

102,500 
103,000 
104,000 
104,500 
105,000 
105,500* 

 
 
 
       *Maximum Gross Weight 

Note: On highways other than the Interstate System, only the exterior bridge measurement shall be used to determine the gross vehicle weight of a vehicle or combination of vehicles. 
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NORTH DAKOTA AXLE WEIGHT LIMITATIONS     11/2013 
 
No single axle shall carry a gross weight in excess of 20,000 pounds.  Axles spaced 40 inches or less apart are considered one axle.  Axles spaced 
eight (8) feet apart or over are considered as individual axles.  The gross weight of two individual axles may be restricted by the weight formula 
except that on highways other than the interstate, two axles spaced eight (8) feet apart or more may have a combined gross weight not to exceed 
40,000 pounds.  Spacing between axles shall be measured from axle center to axle center. 
Axles spaced over 40 inches apart and less than eight (8) feet apart shall not carry a gross weight in excess of 19,000 pounds per axle.  The gross 
weight on a tandem axle shall not exceed 34,000 pounds. The gross weight of three or more axles in a grouping is determined by the measurement 
between the extreme axle centers except that on highways other than the interstate, groupings of three or more axles may have a gross weight not 
to exceed 48,000 pounds.  
The weight per inch width of tire shall not exceed 550 pounds.  Metric tire sizes are converted to inches by dividing millimeters by 25.4.  The width of 
tire for solid tires shall be the rim width.  For pneumatic tires the width of tire shall be the manufacturer’s width.  The weight in pounds on any one 
wheel shall not exceed one-half the allowable axle weight.  Dual tires are considered one (1) wheel. 
The weight on the steering axle shall be determined by the manufacturer’s axle rating and shall not exceed 20,000 pounds when travel is on the 
interstate system or on Defense Highways. When travel is on Defense Highways, the load shall be for the US Department of Defense. 
 

Tire 
Width 

Single Axle 
(2 Tires) 

Single Axle 
(4 Tires) 

Tandem Axle 
(4 Tires) 

Tandem Axle 
(8 Tires) 

Triple Axle 
(6 Tires) 

Triple Axle 
(12 Tires) 

7:00 7,700 15,400 15,400 30,800 23,100 

   
De

ter
mi

ne
d b

y W
eig

ht 
Fo

rm
ula

 7:50 8,250 16,500 16,500 33,000 24,750 
8:00 8,800 17,600 17,600 34,000 26,400 
8:25 9,075 18,150 18,150 34,000 27,225 
9:00 9,900 19,800 19,800 34,000 29,700 

10:00 11,000 20,000 22,000 34,000 33,000 
11:00 12,100 20,000 24,200 34,000 

 
De

ter
mi

ne
d b

y 
W

eig
ht 

Fo
rm

ula
 12:00 13,200 20,000 26,400 34,000 

13:00 14,300 20,000 28,600 34,000 
14:00 15,400 20,000 30,800 34,000 
15:00 16,500 20,000 33,000 34,000 
16:50 18,150 20,000 34,000 34,000 
17:50 19,250 20,000 34,000 34,000 
18:00 19,800 20,000 34,000 34,000 

NOTE:    Axle weights may be reduced during the spring breakup season or on otherwise posted highways.  
               Axle weights may be reduced by Bridge Load Limitations Map.  

Examples of Bridge Formula Application on the Interstate System 

 
Note: On the Interstate System, the interior and exterior bridge measurement shall be used to determine the gross vehicle weight of a vehicle or combination of vehicles. 
Maximum legal gross vehicle weight on the interstate system is 80,000 pounds without a permit. 

Examples of Bridge Formula Application on the State Highway System 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Note: On highways other than the Interstate System, only the exterior bridge measurement shall be used to determine the gross vehicle weight of a vehicle or combination of vehicles. 
Groupings of three or more axles may have a gross weight not to exceed 48,000 pounds. 
See Highway Patrol for additional information on 4-axle straight trucks. 

Examples of Metric Tire Conversion 
Metric Tire Size Tire Width in Inches Metric Tire Size Tire Width in Inches 
245/75R22.5 9.6 inches 315/75R22.5 12.4 inches 
255/70R22.5 10.0 inches 385/65R22.5 15.1 inches 
265/75R22.5 10.4 inches 425/65R22.5 16.7 inches 
275/80R22.5 10.8 inches 445/65R22.5 17.5 inches 
285/75R24.5 11.2 inches 455/65R22.5 17.9 inches 
295/75R22.5 11.6 inches 465/65R22.5 18.3 inches 

Tire Size and Dimensional Definitions 
13/80R20 
13    = Tire width (inches) 
80    =  Ratio of tire width to tire height 
R     =  Radial 
20    = Rim diameter (inches) 
295/75R22.5 
295   = Tire width (millimeters) 
75     = Ratio of tire width to tire height 
R      =  Radial 
22.5  = Rim diameter (inches) 
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Trust: (North Dakota Certificate of Title) 39-05-17, 57-40.3-04 Subsection 5 (NDCC)
A. A transfer of a vehicle into a trust by an individual who created the trust or is a beneficiary of the trust is 

exempt from motor vehicle excise tax.
B. Certificate of title fee is $5.
C. A license fee credit can be transferred from the transferor (seller) to the transferee (buyer/applicant).
D. A vehicles transferred without monetary consideration from a Revocable Living Trust to a trustor or to the 

spouse, child, or sibling of the trustor, is exempt of motor vehicle excise tax.
E. A transfers from an Irrevocable Living Trust continues to be taxable unless the trust is dissolved or the vehicle 

is acquired by inheritance from the trust.

Unconventional Vehicle: 39-29.2-01, 39-29.2-03, 39-05-05 (NDCC)
A. “Unconventional vehicle” means a motor vehicle that is designed to travel on at least three wheels in contact 

with the ground, has an unladen weight of at least 300 pounds [136.08 kilograms] but less than 8,000 pounds 
[3628.7 kilograms], has a permanent upright seat that does not require the operator to straddle or sit astride 
it, has a steering device for front-wheel steering control, is capable of speeds in excess of 65 miles [104.61 
kilometers] per hour, complies with equipment listed in Chapter 39-21 or 39-27, as appropriate, and has an 
identifying number. This term does not include a motor vehicle that otherwise may be registered under this 
title.

B. To operate an unconventional vehicle on the highway, the operator must be a Class D licensed driver. 
C.  An operator and passengers in an unconventional vehicle shall comply with seat belt use laws.
D. An operator may operate an unconventional vehicle on any highway.
E. License fee is $50. A set of unconventional plates is issued. Registration expires in December of the current 

year. 
F. A personalized plate may be issued. An annual fee of $25 is due. (See Personalized Plate)
G. Certificate of title fee is $5.
H. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title.
I. Motor Vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
J. Odometer certification and damage disclosure certification are required.

Untitled Vehicle: ND Admin. Rule Ch. 37-12-04-01
An untitled vehicle will be reviewed by the Bismarck Central Office. The title will be mailed once the 
review process is complete.

If a North Dakota resident owns a vehicle for which the resident is unable to obtain a proper certificate of title, the 
Motor Vehicle Division will use the following forms and procedures to determine ownership of a vehicle and issue 
a certificate of title.

A. Complete a NMVTIS Vehicle History Check to verify no certificate of title or ownership record exists in exists in 
this database.
1. A NMVTIS Vehicle History Check may be purchased through an approved provider at www.vehiclehistory.gov.
2. If a certificate of title or ownership record is found in any state, the Untitled Vehicle process cannot be 

completed. 
** A record search is also conducted by the Motor Vehicle Division during processing of an untitled vehicle 
application; an additional record may be found at that time. ***

3. If a North Dakota record exists and information to obtain a duplicate title or title transfer is needed, 
a Request for Vehicle Information form SFN 51269 will need to be filled out, with the number eleven 
exception initialed, and submitted with payment of the $3 fee. The Administrative Rules Chapter 37-12- 
04-01 Subsection 4 is the law that allows the release of this information. This should be notated on the 
required document with detailed explanation outlining the qualifications for access under this exception that 
must be attached to the SFN 51269 form.

http://www.vehiclehistory.gov
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn51269.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn51269.pdf
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B. Upon receipt of the following, North Dakota Motor Vehicle will start the title process. An untitled vehicle will 
be reviewed. A record check of all states will be conducted to verify no certificate of title or ownership record 
exists, as well as a check of the National Crime Information Center, before issuing a North Dakota Certificate 
of Title.

All forms must be completed in full, printed or typed, with legible information and signed as indicated. Fillable PDF 
forms are available online at dot.nd.gov under Forms.

1. Results of the NMVTIS Vehicle History Check.
2. Photo of the VIN plate. 
3. A notarized Seller’s Certificate and Vehicle Bill of Sale (SFN 2888).

a. Seller should provide the reason why a title cannot be furnished.
4. A Notarized Vehicle Statement of Ownership (SFN 2903).

a. You must be detailed in your explanation regarding how you came into possession of this vehicle 
without a title.

5. A VIN inspection utilizing Certificate of Vehicle Inspection (SFN 2486).
a. Inspection must be completed by a Qualified Business registered with the North Dakota Secretary of 

State, which offers motor vehicle repairs to the public, per NDCC 39-05-20.2 Subsection 3.
b. You must include a copy of the current North Dakota Secretary of State filing for the inspection facility, 

which can be obtained directly from the Secretary of State’s website.
6. Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872).
7. $5 title fee, $1.50 Abandoned Vehicle Disposal Fee and 5% Motor Vehicle Excise Tax.

a. Tax is calculated based on the current Fair Market Value of the Vehicle.  Dealer appraisal may be 
requested. 

8. Registration fee.
a. Statement of Fact (SFN 60689) is required if the vehicle will not be registered.
b. A vehicle inspection utilizing Certificate of Vehicle Inspection (SFN 2486) may be required prior to 

registration if the vehicle is rebuilt, modified, antique or homemade.
9. Current photos of the front, side, and rear of the vehicle.

10. Proof of North Dakota residency.
a. An individual must provide a North Dakota Driver’s License/State ID number.
b. A business must provide a current North Dakota Secretary of State filing indicating the State of Origin 

as North Dakota which can be obtained directly from the Secretary of State’s website.
11. Any other information required by the department per NDCC 39-05-05 Subsection 1(h).

ALL DOCUMENTS REQUIRE ORIGINAL SIGNATURES

http://dot.nd.gov
https://www.dot.nd.gov/dotnet2/view/forms.aspx
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02888.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02903.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02486.pdf
https://firststop.sos.nd.gov/search/business
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60689.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02486.pdf
https://firststop.sos.nd.gov/search/business
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Untitled Off-Highway & Low-Speed Vehicle: ND Admin. Code 37-12-04-01
An untitled vehicle will be reviewed by the Bismarck Central Office. The title will be mailed once the re-
view process is complete.

If a North Dakota resident owns a vehicle for which the resident is unable to obtain a proper certificate of title, the 
Motor Vehicle Division will use the following forms and procedures to determine ownership of a vehicle and issue 
a certificate of title.

A. Complete a NMVTIS Vehicle History Check to verify no certificate of title or ownership record exists in this 
database.
1. A NMVTIS Vehicle History Check may be purchased through an approved provider at www.vehiclehistory.gov.
2. If a certificate of title or ownership record is found in any state, the untitled vehicle process cannot be 

completed. 
** A record search is also conducted by the Motor Vehicle Division during processing of untitled vehicle 
applications; an additional record may be found at that time. ***

3. If a North Dakota record exists and information to obtain a duplicate title or title transfer is needed, a 
Request for Vehicle Information (SFN 51269) will need to be filled out, with the number eleven exception 
initialed, and submitted with payment of the $3 fee. The Administrative Rules Chapter 37-12-04-01 
Subsection 4 is the law that allows the release of this information. This should be notated on the required 
document with detailed explanation outlining the qualifications for access under this exception that must be 
attached to the Request for Vehicle Information (SFN 51269) form.

B. Upon receipt of the following, North Dakota Motor Vehicle will start the title process. An untitled vehicles will 
be reviewed. A record check of all states will be conducted to verify no certificate of title or ownership record 
exists, as well as a check of the National Crime Information Center, before issuing a North Dakota Certificate 
of Title.

All forms must be completed in full, printed or typed, with legible information and signed as indicated. Fillable PDF 
forms are available online at dot.nd.gov under Forms.

1. Results of the NMVTIS Vehicle History Check.
2. Photo of the VIN plate.
3. A notarized Seller’s Certificate and Vehicle Bill of Sale (SFN 2888).

a. Seller should provide the reason why a title cannot be furnished.
4. A notarized Vehicle Statement of Ownership (SFN 2903).

a. You must be detailed in your explanation regarding how you came into possession of this vehicle 
without a title.

5. A VIN inspection utilizing Certificate of Vehicle Inspection Off-Highway/Low-Speed Vehicle (SFN 58953).
a. Inspection must be completed by a qualified business registered with the North Dakota Secretary of 

State, which offers motor vehicle repairs to the public, per NDCC 39-05-20.2 Subsection 3.
b. You must include a copy of the current North Dakota Secretary of State filing for the inspection facility 

which can be obtained directly from the Secretary of State’s website.
6. Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872).
7. $5 title fee and 5% Motor Vehicle Excise Tax.

a. Tax is calculated based on the current fair market value of the vehicle. Dealer appraisal may be 
requested.

8. Registration Fees.
a. Statement of Fact (SFN 60689) is required if the vehicle will not be registered.
b. A vehicle inspection utilizing Certificate of Vehicle Inspection Off-Highway/Low-Speed Vehicle (SFN 

58953) is required prior to registration.
 1. If the vehicle does not pass inspection additional information may be required.
 2. A golf cart requires additional documentation to register as low-speed.

http://www.vehiclehistory.gov
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn51269.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn51269.pdf
http://dot.nd.gov
https://www.dot.nd.gov/dotnet2/view/forms.aspx
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02888.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02903.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn58953.pdf

https://firststop.sos.nd.gov/search/business
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf

https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60689.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn58953.pdf

https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn58953.pdf



50

9. Current photos of the front, side and rear of the vehicle.
10. Proof of North Dakota residency.

a. An individual must provide a North Dakota Driver’s License/State ID number.
b. A business must provide a current North Dakota Secretary of State filing indicating the State of Origin 

as North Dakota which can be obtained directly from the Secretary of State’s website.
11. Any other information required by the department per NDCC 39-05-05 Subsection 1(h).

ALL DOCUMENTS REQUIRE ORIGINAL SIGNATURES

Veterans’ Number Plate: 39-04-10.10 (NDCC)
A. A veterans’ number plate is issued to an individual eligible for interment in the North Dakota Veteran’s 

Cemetery. Application for North Dakota Veterans’ Number Plate (SFN 51628) must be completed. 
B. A veterans’ number plate may be issued with a distinctive insignia of the Air Force, Army, Coast Guard, Marine, 

Navy, or Purple Heart. (See Purple Heart Plate for specific fees and information regarding this plate type)
C. License fee, plus $15 is due upon initial plate request. License fee, plus $10 thereafter.
D. A personalized plate may be issued. An annual fee of $25 is due. (See Personalized Plate)
E. Certificate of title fee is $5.
F. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title.
G. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.

Volunteer Emergency Responder: 39-04-10.16 (NDCC)
A. A set of plates is issued to a volunteer emergency responder at no initial or annual cost to the volunteer. 

Volunteer Emergency Responder Plate (SFN 61572) must be completed including all necessary signatures. 
B.  A volunteer shall include a fire fighter, an emergency medical responder and search and rescue personnel.

1. Types of emergency medical responders eligible include an Emergency Medical Responder (EMR), 
an Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), an Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT), a 
Paramedic, a Nurse, and a driver who meets the definition of a volunteer defined by the North Dakota 
Department of Health, Division of Emergency Medical Systems.

2. Volunteer search and rescue personnel includes an active water and dive rescue personnel member.
C. For a volunteer to qualify for this plate, they must have volunteered for a continuous period exceeding 2 years. 

A volunteer will need to recertify annually to continue being eligible for the plates. 
D. A qualified applicant is eligible to receive one set of plates. 
E. Plate registration will expire December 31 of each year. 
F. The set of plates may not be displayed on a vehicle with a registered gross weight exceeding 20,000 pounds. 
G. The first three digits of the plate are the last three digits of the zip code where the volunteer’s department is 

located. The last three characters are of the volunteer’s choosing. 
H. When a volunteer no longer qualifies for the volunteer emergency responder license plate, a plate recall 

letter will be issued to the customer and the volunteer emergency responder set of plates must be returned to 
NDDOT. 

https://firststop.sos.nd.gov/search/business
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn51628.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn61572.pdf
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Well Driller: 39-04-18 Subsection 2 (L) (NDCC)
A. Eligibility: A vehicle used only for drilling water wells or moving water well drilling equipment.
B. License fees are based on the number of axles.

1. $25 for a single axle truck
2. $50 for a single axle tractor and tandem axle truck
3. $75 for a tandem axle tractor

C. Certificate of title fee is $5.
D. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate of title. 
E. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title.
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Certificate of Origin for a Vehicle (page 1)
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Certificate of Origin for a Vehicle (page 2)
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SECTION II 
COMPLIANCE & DEALER SERVICES
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Dealer’s License Requirements
A. LOW SPEED VEHICLE DEALER: 39-29.1 (NDCC)

1. A dealer license is not required.
2. Dealer license fee is $20, which includes one plate and registration card. Each additional plate is $20.
3. No bond is required.
4. Issued for the sale of a four-wheeled low-speed vehicle that is able to attain a speed, upon a paved 

surface, of more than 20 miles per hour (32 kilometers per hour) and not more than 25 miles per hour (40 
kilometers per hour) in one mile and may not exceed 3,000 pounds in unloaded weight.

B. MOBILE HOME AND MANUFACTURED HOME DEALER: 39-18 (NDCC) 
1. Dealer license fee is $35, which includes one dealer plate and registration card. Each additional plate is 

$10.
2. $50,000 surety bond is required.
3. A dealer certificate issued for the sale of mobile homes, manufactured homes, travel trailers, and motor 

homes; must be displayed at place of business.
4. The dealer must have an office, place of business and an adequate service department.

C. MOTOR-POWERED RECREATIONAL (MPR) VEHICLE DEALER: 39-22.3 (NDCC)
1. Dealer license fee is $25, which includes one dealer plate and registration card. Each additional plate is 

$10.
2. $50 inspection fee is due on initial application.
3. $10,000 surety bond is required.
4. A dealer certificate issued for the sale of licensable motor-powered recreational vehicles (motorcycles, 

ATVs, snowmobiles, off-highway); must be displayed at the place of business.
5. The dealer must have an established place of business with an office and repair facility; place of business 

may not be a residence.
6. The dealer must collect a $5 safety fee from the buyer of a new or used snowmobile. The dealer must file 

a quarterly report of sales with the State Parks and Recreation Department and include the fees collected 
from those buyers. Failure to collect and timely transmit the fees can be grounds for a dealer suspension 
or revocation.

D. NEW MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER: 39-22 (NDCC)
 1. Dealer license fee is $100, which includes one dealer plate and registration card. Each additional dealer 

plate is $20.
 2. $100 inspection fee is due on initial application for license.
 3. The dealer must have an established place of business with an office; place of business may not be 

a residence. The office space must be 250 square feet, heated and lighted as to be comfortable for 
customers and have a public restroom available. The facility must be 2,500 square feet including office 
and display lot. 

 4. The established place of business must have a business sign that measures at least 32 square feet in 
size with 10-inch letters identifying the business as an auto dealer and must be clearly visible from the 
road. 

 5. $25,000 surety bond is required.
 6. A franchise agreement with a manufacturer is required.
 7. Continuous garage liability insurance is required. Certificate of liability insurance must be submitted.
 8. A dealer certificate issued for the sale of new and used motor vehicles must be displayed at the place of 

business.
 9. The dealer must maintain normal business hours.
10. The dealer must have eight retail sales in a calendar year to qualify for a dealer’s license the following 

year. 
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11. A new motor vehicle dealer is inspected annually. 
E. TRAILER DEALER: 39-22.1 (NDCC)

1. Dealer license fee is $30, which includes one dealer plate and registration card. Each additional dealer 
plate is $10 each.

2. $10,000 surety bond is required.
3. A dealer’s certificate issued for the sale of all trailers required to be registered; must be displayed at the 

place of business.
4. The dealer must have an established place of business with an office; place of business may not be a 

residence.
F. USED MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER: 39-22 (NDCC)

 1. Dealer license fee is $100, which includes one dealer plate and registration card. Each additional dealer 
plate is $20.

 2. $100 inspection fee is due on initial application for license.
 3. The dealer must have an established place of business with an office; place of business may not be a 

residence. The office must be 250 square feet, heated and lighted as to be comfortable for customers and 
have a public restroom available. The facility must be 2,500 square feet including an office and a display 
lot.

 4. The established place of business must have a business sign clearly visible from the road that measures 
at least 32 square feet in size with 10- inch letters identifying the business as an auto dealer.

 5. A $25,000 Surety Bond is required.
 6. Continuous garage liability insurance is required.
 7. A dealer certificate issued for the sale of used motor vehicle; must be displayed at the place of business.
 8. A dealer must maintain normal business hours.
 9. A dealer must have eight retail sales in a calendar year to qualify for a dealer’s license the following year. 
10. A used motor vehicle dealer is inspected annually.

Dealer Plate Usage: 39-22-17 (NDCC)
A. PERMITTED USAGE—new or used dealer plate may be used:

1. By the dealership owner, the spouse of the dealership owner, and family members of the dealership owner 
who reside at the dealer’s residence.

2. By sales personnel and other employees of the dealership who are authorized the use of the dealership 
vehicle by the dealership owner.

NOTE: Permitted dealer plate use includes incidental personal use including, but not limited to transporting 
family members, personal (non-business) travel, and other uses authorized by the dealership owner and 
not otherwise prohibited in these guidelines.

B. PROHIBITED USAGE—dealer plate may not be used:
1. On a service vehicle including:

a. A tow truck used for customer service
b. A vehicle used for service or delivery
c. A vehicle used for farming or other business purposes
d. A courtesy vehicle

2. On a sold unit in a customer’s possession.
3. By a family member not residing at the dealer’s residence, including a child attending college away from 

home.



61

4. On a vehicle used by an individual not directly involved in the daily operation of the dealership including:
a. A family member, other than the spouse of the dealership owner, residing at the dealer’s residence but 

employed elsewhere.
b. A silent partner not involved in the daily operation of the dealership.

5. A vehicle being leased or rented.
6. A vehicle used to tow a trailer that is transporting a vehicle that is part of another business or commercial 

operation, including transporting a race car or another vehicle used for paid competitive purposes.

Manufacturer’s Plate: 39-04-10.1 (NDCC)
A. A factory representative license fee is $150 per calendar year. For a new application received during the 

calendar year, the fee is prorated by the month. The fee includes one license plate and registration card.
B. A manufacturer’s license plate is issued to authorized representatives of a motor vehicle manufacturer.
C. A manufacturer’s license plate is not assigned to a specific vehicle and may be transferred to a replacement 

vehicle at any time.

Rental Motor Vehicle
A. North Dakota sales tax (5%) and rental surcharge (3%) are imposed on rentals of a motor vehicle for a period 

of less than 30 days. These are separate charges, with each applying to the rental charges. 
B. 5 PERCENT SALES TAX

1. Applies on the rental charges of a licensed motor vehicle, including a trailer or semi trailer, for periods less 
than 30 days in this state. 

2. Collected at the time you collect payment for the rental of the vehicle and must be listed separately on the 
invoice. 

3. City and county sales taxes do not apply to the motor vehicle rental charges. 
4. The sales tax is computed and collected on the total rental charge excluding:

a. Taxes
b. Fuel collections
c. Collision damage waiver charges
d. Supplemental liability protection
e. Personal accident insurance
f. Personal effects coverage 
g. Airport authority fees

C. 3 PERCENT RENTAL SURCHARGE
1. Must be collected on the rental charges of a motor vehicle for a period of less than 30 days in this state 

provided the motor vehicle has a gross vehicle weight of ten thousand pounds [4535.92 kilograms] or less 
and is required to be titled.

2. A trailer rental under 30 days is not subject to the 3 percent rental surcharge. A trailer rental is subject to 
the 5 percent sales tax.

3. Collected at the time you collect payment for the rental of the vehicle and must be listed separately on the 
invoice.

4. The rental surcharge collected during the prior year is to be reported on an annual special surcharge return 
to be filed with the State Tax Commissioner on or before February 15th of each year.
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5. The rental surcharge is computed and collected on the total rental charge excluding:
a. Taxes
b. Fuel collections
c. Collision damage waiver charge
d. Supplemental liability protection
e. Personal accident insurance
f. Personal effects coverage
g. Airport authority fees

D. RENTAL OR LOANER VEHICLE
1. If a licensed dealer or repair business is charging a customer for use of a motor vehicle, the 5 percent 

sales tax and 3 percent rental surcharge must be collected from the customer. If no charge is being made 
to the customer, no sales tax or rental surcharge is due. 

2. If a third party is being billed for the vehicle rental, such as a vehicle being provided under an extended 
warranty or service contract, 5 percent sales tax and 3 percent rental surcharge must be included in the 
billing to the third party. 

3. Sales tax and rental surcharge will not apply on charges for a vehicle rental being provided under the 
manufacturer’s original warranty.

Sale of a Motor Vehicle
A. ENROLLED MEMBER OF AN INDIAN RESERVATION

1. The sale of a motor vehicle to an American Indian is not subject to motor vehicle excise tax when the 
purchaser is an enrolled member of a federally recognized Indian Tribe and the enrolled member lives 
within the boundaries of a North Dakota Indian reservation. 

2. A Tribal Claim for Tax Exemption (SFN 18085) must be completed and accompany the application for 
certificate of title.

3. See Tax (Exemptions) subsection 13.
B. NON-FRANCHISED VEHICLE SALE

1. A licensed motor vehicle dealer must pay motor vehicle excise tax on a new motor vehicle entering the 
dealer’s resale inventory if the dealer does not hold a new motor vehicle dealer’s license that would entitle 
that dealer to deal in new motor vehicles as provided by a franchise agreement with a manufacturer or 
distributor.

2. A used motor vehicle dealer’s license allows the dealer to sell used motor vehicles only.
C. PHYSICALLY DISABLED PERSON

1. The sale or lease of a motor vehicle to a physically disabled, licensed driver who is restricted to operating a 
motor vehicle equipped with special controls to compensate for the disability is exempt from motor vehicle 
excise tax. 

2. An application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872) must be accompanied by 
a statement from the North Dakota Department of Transportation, Driver License Division, regarding the 
need for a restricted driver’s license. 

3. The driver is allowed this exemption for only one vehicle at any one time.
D. PROMOTIONAL PURPOSES

1. When a dealer sells a vehicle to a charitable organization to be awarded as a prize in a promotional 
giveaway, the charitable organization is not subject to motor vehicle excise tax provided the vehicle will be 
subject to excise tax by the eventual prize winner. 

2. A vehicle purchased by a business or group, other than a charitable organization, must be registered and 
motor vehicle excise tax must be paid on the purchase price. The eventual prize winner also would have to 
report and pay excise tax on the fair market value of the vehicle when taking possession of the prize. 

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn18085.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
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E. SERVICE VEHICLE
1. A service vehicle owned by a licensed dealer must be titled and licensed when the unit is put into service. 

Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be paid. 
2. The vehicle cannot be titled for resale.
3. The vehicle should not display a dealer plate
4. The vehicle can include the following:

a. Parts trucks
b. Wreckers
c. Courtesy cars and vans
d. Similar vehicles

NOTE: Further information regarding excise, sales, or use tax requirements can be obtained from the North 
Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505-0599; 
phone: 701-328-3470; Web site: www.nd.gov/tax

http://www.nd.gov/tax/
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SECTION III 
MOTOR CARRIER SERVICES
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Motor Carrier Vehicle 
A. UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION (UCR): 39-19-06 (NDCC)

1. In September 2007, a federal law took effect: If you operate a commercial motor vehicle as defined, you 
are required to participate in the UCR program. 
a. A commercial motor vehicle is defined as any self-propelled or towed vehicle used on the highways 

in interstate commerce to transport passengers or property, if the vehicle has a gross vehicle 
weight rating or gross vehicle weight of at least 10,000 pounds; is designed to transport more than 
8 passengers including the driver for compensation; or used to transport more that 15 passengers 
including the driver without compensation; or is used in transporting material deemed hazardous and 
transported in a quantity requiring placarding.

2. The UCR program is administered through the www.ucr.gov. The fees for this program vary according to 
the number of self-propelled or towed commercial motor vehicle(s) operated in interstate commerce.

3. No credentials are required; however, a motor carrier safety officer can access this information 
electronically. After the completion of the UCR registration online, a paid receipt to carry will be provided. 

B. INTERNATIONAL FUEL TAX AGREEMENT (IFTA) LICENSE: 57-43.1-44 (NDCC) 
1. This license is for a motor carrier (weighing 26,001 pounds) who travel across state lines. The carrier is 

required to distribute the fuel taxes due to the state or province in which the fuel is burned. 
2. A new fuel tax license, additional licenses, and renewals are available from the central office in Bismarck; 

however, branch offices in Dickinson, Fargo, Grand Forks, Minot, and Williston can only issue additional 
licenses.

3. A new fuel tax license fee is $25. Additional licenses added during the year are $3. The yearly fuel tax 
renewal fee is $5.

4. A vehicle covered by the fuel tax license is required to have a decal. The decal fee is $1.
C. PRORATED VEHICLE (Tractor, Truck, & Bus): 39-04-18 Subsection 2(m), 39-19, 57-40.3-04 Subsection 3 

(NDCC)
1. License fees are computed and collected for each state or province in which a prorated vehicle operates. 

The Motor Carrier section of the Motor Vehicle Division in Bismarck processes all renewals. The Central 
Office in Bismarck and branch offices in Dickinson, Fargo, Grand Forks, Minot, and Williston can open 
a new account, add or delete a vehicle, raise a registered weight, add a state or province, and/or issue 
duplicate credential.

2. Motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a certificate of title. An interstate tax 
exemption may apply. This exemption is based off accrued actual mileage from your established IFTA and 
IRP account(s).

3. Certificate of title fee is $5.
4. Abandoned motor vehicle disposal fee of $1.50 applies upon initial application for North Dakota certificate 

of title. 
5. One apportioned plate will be issued for a truck or tractor. An additional apportioned plate can be 

purchased for $5 if the vehicle does not pull a trailer. Two plates will be issued for a bus.
6. This exemption is based off accrued actual mileage from your established IFTA and IRP account(s).

http://www.ucr.gov
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D. COMMON HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIER (INTRASTATE): 39-31 (NDCC)
1. Complete an Application for Household Goods Carrier Permit (SFN 10539) 
2. A nonrefundable $100 fee must be submitted with the application.
3. Upon initial application, a party must also submit proof of registration with the Secretary of State, either 

proof of workers compensation insurance coverage or an affidavit of nonemployment, and proof of public 
liability insurance.

4. A party must renew annually upon the renewal application form available from the Motor Carrier section of 
the Motor Vehicle Division in Bismarck.

5. A $35 annual filing fee and proof of public liability insurance must be submitted with the renewal 
application.

6. A permit issued under this chapter remains in force subject to this chapter. A permit is transferable only 
upon approval by the department.

Transporter Certificate: 39-04-44.1 (NDCC)
A.  A vehicle otherwise properly registered may be used to transport another vehicle not registered provided 

the transported vehicle has displayed a transporter’s license plate and the transporting vehicle carries a 
transporter’s registration card.

B.  Fee for the license plate and transporter certificate is $65 per year.
C.  Complete Application for Transporter Registration (SFN 52111).
D.  Contact the Motor Carrier section of the Motor Vehicle Division in Bismarck for details.

https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn10539.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn52111.pdf
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FORMS LIST
Title and Registration Forms
SFN 2475 - Purchaser’s Certification and Application (Part 3)
SFN 2486 - Certificate of Vehicle Inspection
SFN 2872 - Application Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (page 1)
SFN 2872 - Tax Exemption/Damage Disclosure Statement (page 2)
SFN 2876 - Release of Lien by Legal Owner
SFN 2877 - Assignment and Warranty of Certificate of Title (Part 1)
SFN 2878 - Dealer Reassignment and Warranty (Part 2)
SFN 2880 - Repossession Affidavit
SFN 2883 - Application and Claim for Motor Vehicle Tax Refund
SFN 2886 - Application for Mobility Impaired Parking Permit
SFN 2888 - Seller’s Certificate and Vehicle Bill of Sale
SFN 2889 - Affidavit for Refund of License Fee of a Permanently Destroyed Vehicle
SFN 2903 - Vehicle Statement of Ownership
SFN 2916 - Affidavit for Collection of Personal Property of the Decedent NDCC 30.1-23-001
SFN 2964 - Statement of Error, Correction, or Alteration
SFN 3004 - ND State Board of Equalization Statement of Mobile Home Full Consideration
SFN 16782 - Affidavit of Non-Receipt
SFN 16783 - Affidavit of Use for a Collector Motor Vehicle
SFN 17147 - Military Claim for Tax Exemption
SFN 18085 - Tribal Claim for Tax Exemption
SFN 18609 - Damage/Salvage Disclosure Statement
SFN 51269 - Request for Vehicle Information
SFN 51628 - Application for North Dakota Veteran’s Number Plate
SFN 52908 - Application for North Dakota Firefighter’s Plate
SFN 53386 - Total Loss Statement
SFN 53612 - Special Plate Request
SFN 53658 - Affidavit of Use for a Manufactured Home
SFN 54306 - Application for Care Providers Mobility – Impaired Parking Permit(s)
SFN 54339 - Affidavit of Use for a Collector Snowmobile
SFN 54340 - Organization Plate Program Application
SFN 54397 - Application for Organization Plate
SFN 58953 - Certificate of Vehicle Inspection Off-Highway/Low Speed Vehicles
SFN 59183 - Application for North Dakota Gold Star Plate 
SFN 60399 - Lease Tax Worksheet
SFN 60467 - Application for North Dakota Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
SFN 60662 – Indemnifying Affidavit
SFN 60689 – Statement of Fact
SFN 60806 – Odometer Correction
SFN 61572 – Volunteer Emergency Responder Plate  

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02475.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02486.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02872.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02872.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02876.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02877.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02878.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02880.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02883.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02886.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02888.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02889.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02903.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02916.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02964.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN03004.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn16782.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn16783.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn17147.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN18085.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn18609.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN51269.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN51628.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN52908.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn53386.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN53612.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN53658.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN54306.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn54339.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN54340.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn54397.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN58953.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn59183.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60399.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60467.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60662.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60689.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60806.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn61572.pdf
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Compliance and Dealer Services Forms
SFN 2898 - Trailer Dealer Bond
SFN 2932 - Application for Dealer’s License
SFN 2933 - Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
SFN 2935 - Mobile Home and Manufactured Home Dealer Bond
SFN 3003 - Motor-Powered Recreational (MPR) Vehicle Dealer Bond

Motor Carrier Services Forms
SFN 2479 - International Registration Plan Supplemental Application (Schedule C)
SFN 10539 - Application for Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity
SFN 16921 - International Vehicle Mileage and Fuel Report
SFN 19156 - IFTA Decal Application
SFN 52111 - Application for Transporter Registration 
SFN 53330 - IRP Weight Increase
SFN 60450 - Agreement to Maintain Records for IRP and IFTA
SFN 61272 - Motor Carrier Affidavit of Non-Receipt
SFN 61273 - Application for Duplicate Motor Carrier Credentials
SFN 61274 - Lease Change Notification

http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02898.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02932.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02933.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02935.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN03003.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02479.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN10539.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn16921.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN19156.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN52111.pdf
https://eforms.nd.gov/lfserver/x16b7cc3az1194d23f8c9zx5c5c10x2x17x199?DFS__Action=FormsGT&448d92e5:14652d9046b:22ef
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60450.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn61272.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn61273.pdf
http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn61274.pdf
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