APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF TITLE & REGISTRATION OF A VEHICLE

North Dakota Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle SFN 2872 (11-2023)

Federal or State Motor Carrier and Hazardous Materials Safety Regulations.

MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION ND DEPT OF TRANSPORTATION 608 E BOULEVARD AVE BISMARCK ND 58505-0780 Telephone (701) 328-2725 Website: https://dot.nd.gov

I This Application is fo

I. This Application is to												
(Check only one) SEE INSTR						olen, mutilated)						
IRP/Prorate - Account Number:						Duplicate plates, tabs & registration card						
Title Process					☐ Duplicate tabs & registration card							
Vehicle Registration Registration Change - Reason:						Duplicate title\$5.00						
Utility Trailer License \$5	DO NOT SEND CASH											
Permanent Trailer Plate -	Check one: Farm	Semi	i									
II. Applicant Information	on											
Applicant's Legal Name						☐ Driver's License ☐ FEIN			Telephone Number			
☐ Individual (first, middle, last) ☐ Business ☐ Lessor ☐ Tr				st Govt.								
Mailing Address			City			State	ZIP Code		County			
Co-Applicant's Legal Name					Driver's License FEIN			FEIN	Telephone Number			
Individual (first, middle, last) Business Lessee Trust Govt.												
Mailing Address			ty			State	ZIP Code		County			
Must Check One (If Co-Applicant is included on application)												
	Or And	And/Joi	int T	enants with	n Right of	Survivorship	venic	cle is Leas	sea			
					North Dakota Title Number							
III. Vehicle Information												
rear Make				Model		Body Style						
Vehicle Identification Number				Fuel Type	Color							
						Plug-In Hybrid Other Other						
Weight Previous Weight N			Motor Home/Trailer Length			ND License Pla	te Number		Credit Plate Number			
Date 1st used on ND Highways ATV/UTV Only ☐Straddle ☐Side by Side			Odometer Reading			Odometer Indicator (Check One) Actual Mileage Exceeds Mechanical Limits Not Actual						
IV. Motor Vehicle Purcha		V. Dealer and Lienholder Information										
Full Purchase Price (less Reb)no	New Vehicle		
Less Trade-In Allowance					Date Acquired Check One					Used Vehicle		
Less Total Loss Allowance					Acquired From			ND Dealer No.				
Difference / Subtotal					-							
Tax (5% of Difference / Subtotal)					First Lienholder							
Abandoned Vehicle Disposal Fee (\$1.50)					-							
Title Fee (\$5.00)					Mailing Address							
Vehicle License Fee					1							
SRP	(\$25.00)				City			State		ZIP Code		
License Plate Credit Amount	(/											
Plate or Credit Transfer Fee	(\$5.00)									n this application for provided is quilty of a		
Branch Fee					license or title for which another penalty is not specifically provided is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.							
Duplicate Plate Fee (\$5.00)				NDCC Chapters 39-04 and 39-05. Applicant certifies this vehicle will be insured								
TOTAL FEES DUE: DO NOT SEND CASH					as required by law. The applicant, under penalties of law and as rightful owner of the vehicle described on this application declares that the information set							
Year and Make of Trade-In					forth is correct.							
VIN of Trade-In					If vehicle is company owned, company name and title of authorized agent signing the application must be noted.							
					NDCC Chapter 57-40.3-08. Submitting this application presumes this vehicle is being driven on North Dakota streets and highways.							
					Signature Date							
ATTENTION TRUCK OWNERS HAULING HAZARDOUS MATERIALS: I declare, with my signature on this application that I am knowledgeable of the					Printed Name or Business Name							

CONTINUATION OF MOTOR VEHICLE PURCHASER'S CER	TIFICATE)							
f vehicle is exempt from tax, enter number corresponding to exe	emption in Section IV. (front of this form)							
1. Gift from: Spouse Parent(s) Child Sibling(s) Grandparent(s) Grandchild	14. Disabled American Veteran or Former Prisoner of War - Letter of Eligibility from the Department of Veteran's Affairs is required							
Gift to (Specify relationship between ALL NEW owners	15. Nonprofit senior citizens' or mobility impaired persons' corporation owned vehicle used for the transportation of the elderly or disabled16. Mobility impaired person(s) purchasing specially equipped vehicle17. Homemade vehicle							
 Joint Tenants with Right of Survivorship and now vehicle is being put in one name only Inheritance 								
4. Change of name by: Marriage Adoption Court Order5. Vehicle acquired through a lease purchase agreement (Check one)	18. Newly formed Partnership Corporation (Check One) Date formed:							
A. If tax was paid on the total lease consideration, tax is due on the lease buyout amount.	19. Dissolved Partnership Corporation (Check One) Date dissolved:							
B. If tax was paid on the full purchase price and you have been in possession of the vehicle over one year, no tax is due.C. If tax was paid on the full purchase price and you have been in possession of the vehicle for less than one year, tax is due on the lease buyout amount.	20. Parochial or private non-profit school buses 21. Assembled vehicles by motor vehicle dealer (SFN 21859 required) 22. Transfer into family trust 23. Military home of record: Entry Discharge (SFN 17147 required)							
6. State Fleet	24. Mobile Home (SFN 3004 required) or Manufactured Home (SFN 53658							
7. Lien change CURRENT ODOMETER READING	required)							
8. Interstate carriers Account Number:	25. North Dakota political subdivisions							
9. Tax paid to state that grants reciprocity to North Dakota (Proof required)	26. Repossession (SFN 2880 required)27. Non-resident military lease28. Total loss settlement or Salvaged							
10. Public Transportation provided under contract with NDDOT								
11. Dealer resale - USED vehicle								
12. Dealer resale - NEW vehicle	29. Other - Specify							
13. Tribal (SFN 18085 required)	30. Spousal Transfer due to Divorce (copy of divorce decree required)							
/III. Damage Disclosure NDCC 39-05-17.2								

The damage disclosure law includes passenger cars, trucks, pickup trucks, motorcycles, and motor homes that are less than nine years old. It EXCLUDES all trailers, off-highway vehicles, and snowmobiles. A Damage/Salvage Disclosure Statement (SFN 18609) must be completed. Motor vehicle body damage disclosure requirements apply only to the transfer of certificate of title on vehicles less than nine (9) model years old.

If applicable, please submit SFN 18609 Damage Disclosure Statement with this application.

Any person who makes a false statement on this form is guilty of a Class A Misdemeanor.

Instructions:

SECTION NO.

- I. Check the type of application you are submitting (check only one).
- Complete applicant information in **FULL** for each owner.
- Complete ALL applicable vehicle information. Odometer reading required on all vehicles 2011 and newer.
- IV. Complete **ALL** applicable purchaser's certificate information.
 - Abandoned vehicle disposal fee of \$1.50 is due on all new and out-of-state passengers, trucks, buses, and motorhomes when first titled in North Dakota.
 - Title fee is \$5.00.
 - Enter license fee and pay applicable plate credit using the appropriate fee schedule.
 - If applying plate credit, enter \$5.00 plate transfer fee.
 - If a trade allowance, year, make, and VIN are required.
 - Enter the appropriate tax exemption number if an exemption for tax is claimed (see tax exemptions Section VII).
- V. Complete ALL applicable dealer and lienholder information. If needing to add a second lienholder complete SFN 2475 Part 3: Purchaser's Certification and Application to include all lienholders.
- VI. Application must be signed with applicant's legal signature and dated.
- VII. Applicable tax exemptions.
- VIII. Damage Disclosure statement SFN 18609 must be completed for all vehicles less than nine (9) model years old.