Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions - Titling / Registration

Search Criteria

 

1. I have just moved to North Dakota. How do I get a North Dakota title and license plates in my name?

SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Motor Vehicle must be completed in full and signed by the owner.
• Out-of-state title must be submitted with completed application. If vehicle is financed we must have a completed application form, with name and mailing address of lienholder, loan account number, and copy of the out of state registration. Any motor vehicle excise, use, or sales tax paid at the time of purchase will be credited.
• If your vehicle is titled with Alaska, Delaware, Georgia, Montana, New Hampshire, Oregon, or any Canadian Province excise tax will be due on the current market value of the vehicle.
• License fees are based on the year and weight of the vehicle.
• Title transfer fee.
• Abandoned Disposal fee.

2. I am from out-of-state working in North Dakota. How do I get a permit to work in your state?

Temporary license may be purchased by non-residents for a period of 6 or 12 months and must be displayed on the vehicle rear windows on driver's side visible to law enforcement. Permits are available online or from any Motor Vehicle Division office. Vehicle must also display valid registration and license plate from any jurisdiction and be properly insured.

Register online at Licensing & Registration(www.dot.nd.gov), click on 'Licensing & Registration' under Public, more public', under 'Motor Vehicle Services' click on Motor Vehicle Non-Resident Temporary Registration.

3. I’ve lost or mutilated my North Dakota title. How do I get a replacement?

The registered owner or legal owner must complete SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle with the vehicle information. A reason for the duplicate must be stated on the application. Duplicate title fee is $5. The duplicate title will be mailed to the lien holder of record, or the registered owner. If vehicle has a lien and the lien is to be removed from title, the registered owner or legal owner must complete SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle with the vehicle information. A reason for the duplicate must be stated on the application. SFN 2876 Release of Lien by Legal Owner must be completed by the lien holder and submitted with the application. SFN 2475 Part 3 Purchaser's Certification and Application must be completed and submitted along with the current odometer reading, if applicable. Total fees due $10 ($5 for the duplicate title and $5 to remove the lien).

4. How do I prove my legal name?

Your legal name can be verified by providing one of the following:
• A valid state-issued driver’s license
• A valid non-driver state-issued identification card
• A valid Military identification card
• A valid Foreign country driver’s license
• A valid Foreign passport
• A valid tribal identification card (tribal enrollment card not acceptable)
• Other documentary evidence that confirms the true legal identity of the owner

5. Buying a vehicle with North Dakota title.

• Legal name, State law requires all applicants to use their legal name when making an application for certificate of title and registration to a motor vehicle. Legal Name Requirements
• Part 1 (Assignment and warranty of Title) must be signed and dated by owner(s) (seller/Transferor) as shown on the front of the title. Legal name and address of new owner (Applicant/Buyer) must be typed or printed legibly. Buyer’s North Dakota driver’s license number, non-driver photo ID number or Federal Employer tax ID number must be provided.
o Acceptable proof of legal name see Legal Name Requirements
• Odometer information required on all motor vehicles less than ten (10) years old, with buyer’s signature, printed name, and date.
• Part 3 (Purchaser’s Certification and Application) (Buyer(s)/Transferee(s) Certification and application) must be completed and signed by buyer showing purchase price, lienholder information, if applicable, signed and dated.
• If vehicle is less than nine (9) years old SFN 18609 Damage Disclosure Statement must be completed by the seller.
• Tax is due on 5% of the purchase price.
• Title transfer fee.
• License fees are due based on the first year registered and weight of the vehicle.
• Within thirty (30) days of purchase, the transferee/buyer shall deliver the endorsed certificate of title to the Motor Vehicle Division.

6. Buying a vehicle with an out-of-state title or MCO (Manufacturers Certificate of Origin).

• Legal name, State law requires all applicants to use their legal name when making an application for certificate of title and registration to a motor vehicle. Legal Name Requirements
• We will need the original out-of-state title completed by seller and buyer. If new vehicle, we will need the MCO completed by seller and buyer.
• If the vehicle is less than ten (10) years old, the odometer information must be completed within the reassignment on the title or the Odometer Disclosure for Retail Sale on the MCO, with sellers and buyers signatures.
• If vehicle is less than nine (9) years old SFN 18609 Damage Disclosure Statement must be completed by the seller.
SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle must be completed in full and signed by the buyer.
• Tax is due on 5% of the purchase price.
• Title transfer fee.
• Abandoned Vehicle Disposal fee.
• License fees due are based on the first year registered and weight of the vehicle.






7. How do I add/remove a lien on a North Dakota title?

• Part 3 (Purchaser’s Certification and Application) must be completed and signed by the registered owner with # 7 tax exemption marked and new lienholder information, if applicable.
• Odometer disclosures are required when changes are made on vehicles that are less than ten (10) years old.
• Title transfer fee is $5.

8. When does a vehicle need a damage disclosure statement?

Any car, pickup, truck, unconventional vehicle, motor homes and motorcycles less than 9 years old with a North Dakota title must have SFN 18609 Damage Disclosure Statement completed by the seller when the vehicle is transferred.

Year of Purchase / Year Model

2019 / 2012 and newer
2020 / 2013 and newer
2021 / 2014 and newer
2022 / 2015 and newer
2023 / 2016 and newer
2024 / 2017 and newer

9. Do I have to use my legal name when applying for a title?

Yes. State law requires all applicants to use their legal name when making an application for certificate of title and registration to a motor vehicle.

10. Why is an odometer disclosure required?

The Truth in Mileage Act (TIMA) is a federal law that requires the seller of a motor vehicle to provide an odometer disclosure to the buyer at the time of sale or transfer of ownership. The buyer must sign in acknowledgment of the mileage disclosure given.

At least one owner shown on the title must make their disclosure on the actual title. The buyer must sign acknowledging that disclosure on the same title. Other buyers must make disclosures on state issued secure forms, which are controlled and contain security features that meet federal requirements. Vehicles with “not readable” odometer readings are still subject to federal odometer requirements.

Under federal law, the Motor Vehicle Division is required to refuse the transfer of ownership unless the odometer disclosure is completed.

11. What vehicles are exempt from odometer disclosures?

• Vehicles 10 years old or older.
• Vehicles with a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating over 16,000 pounds.
• Snowmobiles.
• All-terrain vehicles.
• Vehicles that are not self-propelled.
• Title transfers when at least one of the registered owners is staying the same, except when the title is submitted from out of state.
• Duplicate title only.

12. How is the expiration date of my vehicle registration determined?

The Motor Vehicle Division uses a system of staggered registration for cars, house cars, and pickups (39-04-14.1 NDCC). The expiration month is based on the date of sale or the date first used on ND Highways.

With the exception of Snowmobiles and Off Highway vehicles, registrations for all other vehicle types – service vehicles, large trucks, farm trucks, motorcycles, and trailers would expire December 31. Initial registration fees upon purchase would be prorated from the date of purchase.

13. What is the procedure when an owner is deceased?

• If your title is held in JTWROS (joint tenants with rights of survivorship), a copy of the death certificate is required and the survivor signs as Seller/Transferor.
• If the title is held in the deceased persons name only, a certified copy of the Personal Representative papers are required.
• If the title is held in the deceased person’s name only and no Personal Representative is being appointed, if the value of the entire estate less liens and encumbrances does not exceed $50,000, and thirty days has lapsed since the death of the decedent; SFN 2916 Affidavit for Collection of Personal Property is required.

14. When I sell my vehicle am I required to keep my license plate(s)?

Yes. Vehicle owners must remove the license plate(s) from their vehicle whenever the vehicle is sold or transferred. The vehicle will be considered unlicensed, and subject to a full year license fee when re-titled.

15. Do I need to title and license my trailer?

Yes. ALL trailers, semi-trailers, and farm trailers are required to be titled and licensed except:
• Trailers with a gross weight of 1,500 pounds or less and not for hire or commercial use.
• Trailers used to haul recreational vehicles such as a motorcycle not qualified for registration, ATVs, snowmobiles, boats, and personal watercraft. Trailers used to haul recreational vehicles used in competitive events ARE required to be titled and licensed in spite of the weight.
• Single-axle two-wheel car dollies.
• Pup trailers
• Trailers pulled behind motorcycles provided they do not contain sleeping quarters.
• Trailers over the legal width (i.e. combine trailer). Electronic Permits Registration

16. When is an IRS Form 2290 required?

Owners of all trucks with a gross weight of 55,000 pounds or more, must file each year with the Internal Revenue Service an IRS Form 2290. A 2290 stamped by the IRS is required at the time of renewal. The Motor Vehicle Division is not responsible for the collection of the Heavy Vehicle Use Tax. Contact the Internal Revenue Service for the forms and any further questions. Telephone 1-800-829-1040

17. What are the fees for a temporary license?

1. Passenger, pickups, vans, and trucks not exceeding 20,000 lbs are furnished a permit upon payment of the following fees: $60 for 6 months or $120 for 12 months, plus a $10 permit fee.

2. Trucks or combinations of trucks and trailers requiring a registered gross weight of 22,000 lbs or greater are furnished a permit upon payment of the following fees, plus a $10 permit fee:
20,001 - 42,000: $220 (6 month fee), $440 (12 month fee).
42,001 - 62,000: $380 (6 month fee), $760 (12 month fee).
62,001 - 82,000: $530 (6 month fee), $1,060 (12 month fee).
82,001 - 105,500: $900 (6 month fee), $1,800 (12 month fee).

3. Motorcycles are furnished a permit upon payment of $30 for 6 months, or $60 for 12 months, plus a $10 permit fee.

4. Out-of-state snowmobiles may be registered online through Parks & Rec for $25. Go to Register Snowmobile.

18. If I have purchased a vehicle and paid the taxes on my new vehicle in another state will I need to pay them again in North Dakota?

If you have recently purchased a vehicle in another state, and taxes were paid to that state, we would require proof of tax paid to exempt you from North Dakota excise tax. If the vehicle was purchased outside of the United States there is no tax reciprocity. Taxes would be due on the purchase price (based on exchange) at a rate of 5%.

19. How do I transfer ownership of a vehicle as a gift from (wife, husband, parent, child, brother, sister)?

• Part 1 (Seller’s Assignment & Warranty of Title) must be signed and dated by owner(s) as shown on the front of the title. Legal name and address of new owner (buyer) must be typed or printed legibly. Odometer information required on all motor vehicles less than ten (10) years old, with buyer’s signature, printed name, and date.
• Part 3 (Purchaser’s Certification and Application) must be completed and signed by new owner with tax exemption and lienholder information, if applicable.
• If vehicle is less than nine (9) years old SFN 18609 Damage Disclosure Statement must be completed by the seller.
• Title transfer fee is $5.

20. I have recently inherited a vehicle, how do I change names on the title?

• Part 1 (Seller’s Assignment & Warranty of Title) must be signed and dated by Personal Representative for the deceased as shown on the front of the title. Complete legal name and address how new title is to read as buyer. Odometer information required on all motor vehicles less than ten (10) years old, with buyer’s signature, printed name, and date.
• We must have a copy of the Personal Representative papers to allow that individual to sign for the deceased.
• Part 3 (Purchaser’s Certification and Application) must be completed and signed by new owner with tax exemption and lienholder information, if applicable. However, PURCHASES from an estate are subject to tax.
• If vehicle is less than nine (9) years old SFN 18609 Damage Disclosure Statement must be completed by the seller.
• Title transfer fee is $5.

21. My vehicle was awarded to me through a divorce. How can I obtain a title?

• If the North Dakota title is in both names with the “or” conjunction the individual that is awarded the vehicle must complete Part 1 (Seller’s Assignment & Warranty of Title). If the North Dakota title is in only one name, or in two names with the “and” conjunction and that individual did not sign off the title as seller, a copy of the divorce decree is required to complete this transfer.
• Part 1 (Seller’s Assignment & Warranty of Title) must be signed and dated by owner as shown on face of title, legal name and address of individual awarded the vehicle must be typed or printed legibly, odometer information required on all motor vehicles less than ten (10) years old, with buyer’s signature, printed name and date.
• Part 3 (Purchaser’s Certification and Application) must be completed and signed by new owner with lienholder information, if applicable.
• Title fee will apply.
• Taxes and registration may be due.

22. I have recently bought out my lease how do I change the title to my name?

• Part 1 (Seller’s Assignment & Warranty of Title) must be signed and dated by owner(s) as shown on the front of the title. Legal name and address of new owner (buyer) must be typed or printed legibly. Odometer information required on all motor vehicles less than ten (10) years old, with buyer’s signature, printed name, and date.
• Part 3 (Purchaser’s Certification and Application) must be completed and signed by new owner with tax exemption, if lease was started prior to July 1, 2001, and lienholder information, if applicable.
• If lease was started after July 1, 2001, 5% taxes are due on the lease buyout amount. The buyout amount must be shown in this section along with the signature of the buyer.
• If vehicle is less than nine (9) years old SFN 18609 Damage Disclosure Statement must be completed by the seller.
• Title transfer fee is $5.

23. I am a North Dakota dealer and have a title that is completely full. How can I get a title in my dealership name?

• If you have a full North Dakota title with last transfer to the dealership we will require the Part 3 (Purchaser’s Certification and Application) completed with tax exemption # 11 or # 12 and signature by agent for dealership.
• If you have a full out-of-state title with the last transfer assigned to the dealership, we will require an SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Motor Vehicle completed in full, signed by an agent for the dealership, and submitted with the title fee of $5.
• If vehicle is less than nine (9) years old SFN 18609 Damage Disclosure Statement must be completed by the seller.

24. I am an enrolled tribal member. Do I have to pay taxes when I purchase a vehicle?

• The sale of a motor vehicle to an American Indian is not subject to motor vehicle excise tax when the purchase occurs on the Indian reservation or when the vehicle is DELIVERED to the Indian reservation on which the American Indian is an enrolled member.
• The sale of a motor vehicle at any location within this state to an American Indian who resides within the boundaries of any reservation in this state and who is an enrolled member of a federally recognized Indian tribe.
• There is NO exception in the Motor Vehicle excise tax law for an American Indian leasing a motor vehicle. All motor vehicles leased to an American Indian are subject to motor vehicle excise tax. Leased motor vehicles are owned and titled in the name of the leasing company and not the American Indian.
SFN 18085 Tribal Claim for Tax Exemption must be completed in full and signed.

25. I am a disabled veteran what will I need to obtain the DAV license plates and tax exemption?

A signed letter from The Department of Veteran Affairs office certifying the applicant is 100 percent service related disabled, or unemployability, or attesting eligibility under Public Law 663 of the 79th Congress.

26. How old does my vehicle have to be to qualify for Antique or Collector plates?

27. How many license plates do I have to display on my vehicle?

• The registered owner must display two (2) license plates for each passenger car, house care (motor home), or pickup. The plates must be displayed horizontally and in an upright position, one in the front and one on the rear of the vehicle, each securely fastened. The bottom of each license plate must be at a height of not less than twelve (12) inches (30.48 centimeter) above the level surface upon which the vehicle stands. (39-04-11 NDCC)
• Plates assigned to Motorcycle and trailers must be attached to the rear of the motorcycle or trailer and may be displayed vertically.
• Travel trailer, off-highway vehicle, or unconventional vehicle must display one (1) plate.
• All plates must be mounted in a visible manner that clearly displays the distinctive number assigned to that vehicle.
• Plates must be kept free and clear of mud, ice, or snow.

28. What is “body damage”?

“Motor vehicle body damage” means a change in the body or structure of the motor vehicle usually resulting from a crash or accident, fire, vandalism weather (not including hail damage) or submersion in water.

29. How much damage does there have to be before it is required to be disclosed?

Damage that equals or exceeds the greater of $10,000 or 25% of the pre-damage retail value of the motor vehicle as determined by the National Automobile Dealers Association Official Used Car Guide must be disclosed. This does not include body or structural modifications, normal wear and tear, glass damage, hail damage, or items of normal maintenance and repair. If the damage is more than 75% of the pre-damage retail value, a Salvage Certificate of Title will be issued.

30. How is the dollar amount of the damage determined?

The amount of damage to a motor vehicle is determined by adding the retail value of all labor parts and material used in repairing the damage. When the retail value of labor has not been determined it is presumed to be the repair time as provided in a generally accepted auto body repair flat rate manual multiplied by $35.

31. Are there exceptions to the damage disclosure law?

Yes. A damage disclosure is not required for hail damage on the following transactions:
• A title transfer into North Dakota from out-of-state when there is no ownership change.
• A title transfer when one existing owner is retained.
• A repossession if the ownership is being transferred to the lienholder.
• A change of name by marriage or divorce.

32. Can a “previously damaged” brand be removed from the title?

Yes. If the vehicle is more than 9 years old a “previously damaged” brand can be removed if you can prove there is no prior “salvage” history. If the North Dakota title was issued from an out-of-state title that had been previously branded, North Dakota will not remove the brand. Title fee will apply.

33. If my vehicle has a brand from another state will I receive a branded title from North Dakota?

Yes.

34. Are there any branded titles that North Dakota will not accept?

Yes. North Dakota will not accept titles for vehicles from any state or foreign country that are branded “junk”, “un-repairable”, “non-re-buildable” , “a dismantler”, “Crush”, “Parts only” or any other similar notations. These vehicles will not be titled or registered in North Dakota.

35. What forms are used for a damage disclosure?

A SFN 18609 Damage Disclosure Statement can be used to disclose damage.

36. When is a vehicle branded as “salvage”?

A vehicle must be branded as “salvage” when it has had damage that is in excess of 75% of the pre-damaged retail value according to the National Automobile Dealers Association Official Used Car Guide.

37. If my insurance company has declared my vehicle to be a “total loss” or “salvage” what happens?

The original title for that vehicle must be returned to the Motor Vehicle Division within 10 days and the division will issue a salvage title for a fee.

• If you are still operating the vehicle you must have it inspected by a business registered and in good standing with the secretary of state and that offers motor vehicle repair to the public. Submit the completed SFN 2486 Certificate of Vehicle Inspection with your original title and title fee. We will issue a title branded “Previously Salvaged” and you may continue to use the same plates and registration card that were previously issued.
• If you are no longer operating the vehicle you may complete SFN 2889 Affidavit of Refund on a Permanently Destroyed Vehicle. Return the completed affidavit along with the original title, plates, decals, and registration card to obtain a partial refund of license fees and a salvage title. The refund will consist of the remaining unused portion of your license fee less the title fee.

38. What are your fees?

Abandoned Vehicle Disposal Fee: $1.50
Drive Out Permit: $5
Duplicate Plate: $5
Duplicate Receipt: $3
Duplicate Registration Card: $2
Duplicate Registration Card with Decals/Tabs: $3
Electric Motorcycle Road Use Fee: $20
Electric Vehicle Road Use Fee: $120
Mobility Impaired Placard - Temporary: $3
Mobility Impaired Placard - Permanent – Duplicate: $3
Mobility Impaired Plates: $5
Plug-In Hybrid Vehicle Road Use Fee: $50
Request for Vehicle Information: $3
Special Request Plates: $25
State Issued Permit: $5
Title: $5
Title – Duplicate: $5
Vehicle Verification: $3

NOTE: Branch Office fees will apply at all locations except for the Bismarck Central Office location.

39. Does North Dakota allow registration only without titling my vehicle?

No.

40. What is the law concerning tinted windows on vehicles?

An individual may not operate a motor vehicle with any object, material, or tinting displayed, affixed, or applied on the front windshield or any window unless the object, material, or tinting in conjunction with the windshield upon which it is displayed, affixed, or applied has a light transmittance of at least seventy percent (70%). This does not apply to windows behind the operator if the vehicle is equipped with outside mirrors on both sides that meet the requirements (39-21-38 & 39-21-39 NDCC).

NOTE: A physician can no longer authorize darker window tinting for medical purposes.

41. What documents are required to title and register imported vehicles?

1. The original registration, a copy of the registration, or a letter of verification from the foreign government agency.
2. Proper chain of ownership from the registered owner to the purchaser. A Bill of Sale that transfers ownership from each seller to the next buyer must be provided.
3. US Customs documentation is required to meet Federal Government Regulations covering the vehicle being imported. Acceptable forms include: 368, 7523, 3299, 3311, 7501, 7533, 6059B or 3461. If documents are written in a language other than English, documents translated to English must be included. Rev. 02/16 I-12
4. If the odometer has been converted from kilometers to miles, certification is required from the business and from the individual responsible for the change.
5. Secure Odometer Disclosure form, if applicable.
6. A completed and signed Indemnifying Affidavit (SFN 60662) must be completed by the owner releasing the State of North Dakota and its agencies from any and all liability.
7. If you need to know if a document is acceptable, please call the Motor Vehicle Division.

42. I am registering a vehicle for the first time in North Dakota. Is automobile insurance mandatory?

Yes, but this is not enforced through vehicle registration. State law requires that each motor vehicle carry a minimum of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and $25,000 per accident for property damage. A person may not drive, or the owner may not cause or knowingly permit to be driven, a motor vehicle in this state without a valid policy of liability insurance to include the no-fault, in effect. Upon stopping a motor vehicle for any other statutory violation, a law enforcement officer, who is authorized to issue traffic citations, shall verify that the insurance card is in the motor vehicle.

43. Can I maintain my current policy issued in my previous state of residence?

No. The minimum required insurance must be issued through a North Dakota agent with an insurance company licensed to transact business in the state of North Dakota. Ask your agent to transfer your current insurance to North Dakota when you register a vehicle in North Dakota. This is required to assure that your policy is properly rated due to the different rate system amongst the states.

44. I am a Canadian resident, temporarily residing in North Dakota as a student, completing my education. Will my current policy contain the requirements necessary for North Dakota?

Most Canadian insurance policies do not include the no-fault coverage. You would need to contact your agent and make certain the no-fault requirement is included within your current policy for the time you are in North Dakota as a student.

45. What if I fail to keep insurance on my vehicle(s) that I have registered in North Dakota?

The Motor Vehicle Division is authorized to suspend or revoke your vehicle tags and registration until proof of North Dakota insurance is provided.

46. I live outside North Dakota for six months a year. When I am not in North Dakota, my vehicle is in storage and is not used. Must I maintain automobile insurance?

Any vehicle holding a valid North Dakota tag and registration must be covered by a North Dakota insurance policy throughout the entire registration period. No insurer may exercise its right to cancel a policy unless a written notice of cancellation is mailed or delivered to the named insured at least twenty days prior to the cancellation if the period of cancellation is for more than thirty days. The insured is held personally responsible if they allow someone to operate the vehicle during the cancellation period.

47. If I have an appointed guardian or conservator responsible for my affairs, how do I sell my vehicle?

• The appointed guardian or conservator is required to sign on behalf of the title owner.
• Certified copies of the guardianship or conservator papers are required to be submitted with the transfer of title.

48. When do I need a Power of Attorney?

• If you have been granted Power of Attorney to legally sign papers and documents on behalf of another,
• a copy of that Power of Attorney form is required to be submitted with the application. The name of the individual or company that has been granted power of attorney must be designated in the Power of Attorney form.
• The form must be signed by the individual or company granting Power of Attorney and must be notarized.

49. Do I have to send in a copy of my driver’s license or ID card?

Applicants with an out-of-state driver’s license or non-driver identification must provide a legible copy of the front of the out of state Driver’s License or ID card.

50. I don’t have a driver’s license or identification card, what do I need?

A paper copy of any other documentary evidence that confirms your legal name will be required.
• A valid federal-issued Resident Alien or Permanent Resident Card
• A valid federal-issued Employment authorization Card
• A valid federal-issued N560 Certificate of Citizenship
• A valid federal-issued N550 Certificate of Naturalization

51. Does a business, trust, or corporation need to provide legal proof?

Yes. Documentary evidence is required to confirm the legal name. The owner can provide one of the following documents including but not limited to:
• Active Secretary of State Business Record
• Income Tax Return (1065, 1120)
• Schedule C (Sole Proprietorship)
• Schedule F (Farm Corporation)
• Appropriate pate within a trust agreement confirming legal name.

52. How many license plates are issued for each vehicle?

• The division will issue two license plates bearing all numeric or a combination of alpha and numeric characters for each passenger car, house car (motor home), or pickup - one license plate for each motorcycle, trailer, travel trailer, off-highway vehicle, or unconventional vehicle (39-04-11 NDCC).
• The division may, in its discretion, furnish only one number plate for each registered apportioned vehicle licensed under the International Regulation Plan for interstate carriers. (ex. Truck tractors) https://secure.apps.state.nd.us/dot/cvisn/login.htm

53. How do I get replacement plates?

SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle must be completed in full stating the reason for the replacements (lost, stolen, or mutilated), signed by the registered owner.
• Duplicate plate fee will apply.
• The same plate number can be re-issued upon request, unless reported as stolen. Special Request plate fee will apply.

54. How do I get a Permanent Trailer plate?

SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle must be completed in full indicating you are requesting the Permanent Trailer plate.
• The plate can only be issued for farm and semi-trailers.
• There is a one-time $120 license fee for the Permanent Trailer plate.

55. Amateur Radio Operator License Plates

• Any registered owner of a motor vehicle, who holds a current official amateur radio station license issued by the Federal Communication Commission (FCC) in Washington DC, may receive amateur radio license plates bearing the owner’s call letters.
SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle must be completed, signed, and returned with a copy of the current FCC license in the registered owner’s name and appropriate fees.

56. Antique (Pioneer) License Plates

• Any motor vehicle that is 40 years old or older may be licensed as an antique vehicle.
• Vehicles registered as an Antique may not be used in the routine functions of a business or farming operation.
• License plate(s) from the year of manufacture of the vehicle or in the case of military vehicles, military identification numbers may be displayed in lieu of the antique plate. The license plate(s) or military identification numbers must be clean, legible and approved by the division for display. The license number or military identification numbers must be greater than 10,000.
• There is a one-time $10 license fee for antique plate(s) or
• A one-time fee of $100 is due if requesting personalized antique plates. A maximum of seven (7) characters (to include spaces) are allowed on these plates. https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/plateSearch.htm
SFN 53612 Personalized/Special Plate Request must be completed when requesting personalized plates.

57. Collector License Plates

• Any motor vehicle that is 25 years old or older may be licensed as a collector vehicle.
• When registering a collector vehicle the applicant shall file a SFN 16783 Affidavit of Use for a Collector Motor Vehicle with the motor vehicle division. The affidavit states the vehicle will be operated solely as a collector item and not for general transportation purposes.
o To and from active entry and participation in parades
o Car shows
o Car rallies
o Other public gatherings held for the purpose of displaying or selling the vehicle
o To and from service or storage facilities.
• License plates from the year in which the motor vehicle was manufactured may be displayed in lieu of distinctive number collector plates.
o Plates must be clean, legible and approved by the division.
o Plate number must be greater than 10,000.
• A onetime fee of $60 for the standard number collector license plates.
o To apply for standard collector license plates complete SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle.; to be submitted with the SFN 16783 Affidavit of Use for a Collector Motor Vehicle.
• A onetime fee of $160 for special request/personalized collector license plates.
SFN 53612 Personalized/Special Plate Request must be completed when requesting personalized plates.
o https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/plateSearch.htm

58. Disabled American Veteran (DAV) Plates

• To be eligible the Department of Veteran Affairs office must sign a letter stating the applicant is 100 percent service related disabled or attesting eligibility under Public Law 663 of the 79th Congress, or a resident disabled veteran who has an extra-scheduler rating to include individual un-employability that brings the veteran's total disability rating to 100 percent.
SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle must be completed, signed, and returned with the certification letter.
• Qualified veterans are eligible for two (excise tax) exempt vehicles licensed with the DAV license plate at a time. Plates may not be displayed on a vehicle with a registered gross weight exceeding 26,000 lbs.
• An un-remarried surviving spouse who is receiving department of veterans affairs dependency and indemnity compensation retains the exemption of the deceased veteran who qualified. The surviving spouse may retain the DAV plates for their own used until they remarry.
• A disabled veteran may choose to receive standard plates instead of DAV plates. They receive the DAV tax and registration exemptions.

59. Disabled American Veteran Mobility Impaired Plates

• To be eligible an applicant must qualify under both the DAV and Mobility Impaired qualifications.
SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle must be completed, signed, and returned.

60. Farm Plates

• Trucks with a gross weight of 22,000 pounds through 105,500, owned or leased by a resident farmer who uses the vehicles exclusively for transporting the farmer’s own property or other property on a farm work exchange basis with other farmers between farms and the usual local trading places but not in connection with any commercial retail or wholesale business being conducted from those farms, are eligible for farm license.
• Resident beekeepers qualify for farm license.
• License fees are calculated by the year and registered weight of the truck.

61. Future Farmers of America Plates (FFA)

• $10 one-time fee.
• If requesting personalized plates with a maximum of five (5) characters (to include spaces) the fees due will be the $10 one-time fee plus the annual personalized plate fee will apply. https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/plateSearch.htm
• Plates may not be displayed on a vehicle with a registered gross weight exceeding 20,000 lbs.
• There are no restrictions on who may apply for or display FFA license plates.
SFN 53612 Personalized/Special Plate Request must be completed when requesting personalized plates.

62. Firefighter’s Association License Plates

• You must be a member of the North Dakota Firefighter’s Association to be eligible for these plates.
SFN 52908 Application for North Dakota Firefighter Plate must be completed and signed by the applicant, fire chief, and the executive director of the North Dakota Firefighter’s Association.
• The fees due will be an annual $15 fee
• Personalized plates with a maximum of five (5) characters (to include spaces) the fees due will be an annual $15 plus the annual personalized plate fee will apply. https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/plateSearch.htm
• Plates may not be displayed on a vehicle with a registered gross weight exceeding 20,000 lbs.
• Upon termination of eligibility, the owner shall return the plates to the Motor Vehicle Division, along with a replacement plate fee.
SFN 53612 Personalized/Special Plate Request must be completed when requesting personalized plates.

63. Gold Star Number Plates

• Gold Star Number plates are issued to a surviving spouse, parent, including stepmother, stepfather, parent through adoption, and foster parent who stands to stood in loco parentis (in the place of a parent), grandparents, child, including stepchild, and child through adoption, and sibling, including half-brother and half-sister, of a member of the armed forces of the United States who died while serving on active duty during a time of military conflict.
SFN 59183 Application for North Dakota Gold Star Plate must be completed by the North Dakota State Veteran Affairs office. www.nd.gov/veterans.
• There is no initial fee to receive the Gold Star Number plates. Personalized Gold Star Number plates are available with a maximum of five (5) characters (to include spaces). https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/plateSearch.htm
SFN 53612 Personalized/Special Plate Request must be completed when requesting personalized plates.
• Qualified applicants are eligible for one set of license plates. Plates may not be displayed on a vehicle with a registered gross weight exceeding 20,000 lbs.

64. Mobility Impaired License Plates

• An applicant must have one (1) current mobility impaired parking placard assigned to them by this division before mobility impaired license plates can be issued.
• If an applicant has two (2) mobility impaired parking placards one placard must be surrendered with the signed request for the mobility impaired license plates and $5 fee for processing. The vehicle (car, truck, or motorcycle) must be owned or leased to a mobility impaired applicant.
SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle or https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02886.pdf can be completed to request the Mobility Impaired Plates.
• Personalized plates are available with a maximum of five (5) characters (to include spaces). The personalized plate and annual registration fees will apply. https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/plateSearch.htm
SFN 53612 Personalized/Special Plate Request must be completed when requesting personalized plates.

65. National Guard License Plates

• You must be a member of the National Guard or retired after 20 years or more of service to be eligible for these plates.
• A registrant must contact the Adjutant General’s office to obtain a National Guard license plate approval letter. They will issue a memorandum that the individual is eligible.
• Plates may not be displayed on a vehicle with a registered gross weight exceeding 20,000 lbs.
SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle must be completed, signed and returned with the form from the National Guard and the onetime $5 fee.
• Personalized plates are available with a maximum of four (4) characters (to include spaces) the fees due would be the onetime $5 plus the annual personalized plate fee. https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/plateSearch.htm
SFN 53612 Personalized/Special Plate Request must be completed when requesting personalized plates.
• Upon termination of the registrant’s eligibility, the registrant shall return the distinctive number plates to the Motor Vehicle Division, who shall issue a replacement plate for a fee.

66. Organization Plates NDCC 39-04-10.13

SFN 54340 Organization Plate Program Application must be completed and submitted showing logo and design for Director Approval.
• Plates may not be displayed on a vehicle with a registered gross weight exceeding 20,000 lbs.
• The following organizations do not qualify for an organization number plate:
o Out of state colleges and universities, groups within high schools, junior colleges, universities, and technical schools; including individual boosters, athletic boosters and similar groups, union, political organizations, religious organizations groups that promote racial or social disharmony, and public offices.
• Upon approval the organization must submit a signed application form SFN 54397 Application for Organization Plate for each vehicle requesting to display the distinctive plate, with a minimum of fifty (50) applicants and a one-time payment of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) from the organization.
• There is an annual fee of $25 due for the Organization plate.
• The plate will be limited to only five (5) characters (to include spaces) if requesting a Special Request Plate. Special Request plate fee will apply. https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/plateSearch.htm
SFN 53612 Personalized/Special Plate Request must be completed when requesting personalized plates.

67. Patriotic Number Plates

• Flag of the United States
• Bald Eagle
• Boonie Stomper
• Fees due will be an annual fee of $25
• The plate will be limited to only five (5) characters (to include spaces) if requesting a Special Request Plate. Special Request plate fee will apply. https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/plateSearch.htm
SFN 53612 Personalized/Special Plate Request must be completed when requesting personalized plates.

68. Personalized Plate (Special Request Plates)

• Personalized plates are available for motor vehicles registered under NDCC 39-04-10.6 cars, trucks, house cars, motorcycles, trailers, travel trailers, unconventional and off highway vehicles. https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/plateSearch.htm
• Available characters include numerals, letters, or ampersands.
SFN 53612 Personalized/Special Plate Request must be completed and returned with the appropriate fees.
• All applications submitted must be approved by the Motor Vehicle Division.
Annual fee will be due.
• Duplicate personalized plates with the same characters may be obtained for a fee.

69. Prisoner of War License Plates (POW)

• To be eligible the Veteran’s Affairs Office must certify the applicant was a Prisoner of War.
SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle must be completed, signed, and returned with the certification letter.
• Qualified veterans are eligible for two (excise tax) exempt vehicle licensed with a POW license plate at a time. Plates may not be displayed on a vehicle with a registered gross weight exceeding 20,000 lbs.
• Personalized Prisoner of War plates are available with a maximum of seven (7) characters (to include spaces). https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/plateSearch.htm
SFN 53612 Personalized/Special Plate Request must be completed when requesting personalized plates.
• A surviving spouse of a former prisoner of war who has not remarried retains the exemption of the deceased veteran who qualified under this subdivision for one vehicle. If requested, a free commemorative plaque will be issued by the division as a keepsake for the family.

70. Purple Heart License Plate

• Individuals eligible for interment in the North Dakota Veterans’ Cemetery and who have been awarded the Purple Heart.
• A passenger, truck, or any motor home not exceeding 26,000 lbs (11793.40 kilograms) registered gross weight may be registered with Purple Heart plates.
• The SFN 51628 Application for North Dakota Veterans’ Number Plate must be completed, signed and returned with appropriate fees. To qualify for a Purple Heart plate the application must also be signed by the County Veterans’ Service Officer verifying eligibility.
• Qualified veterans who have received a Purple Heart and display a Purple Heart plate are exempt from paying registration fees for one motor vehicle owned by that veteran.
• Any additional vehicles, full registration fees are due. There is an initial fee of $15 to receive the Purple Heart Plate, with an annual fee thereafter of $10.
• The plate will be limited to only five (5) characters (to include spaces) if requesting a Special Request Plate. Special Request plate fee will apply. https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/plateSearch.htm
SFN 53612 Personalized/Special Plate Request must be completed when requesting personalized plates.

71. Veterans’ Number Plates

• Individuals eligible for interment in the North Dakota Veterans’ Cemetery qualify for these plates.
• The SFN 51628 Application for North Dakota Veterans’ Number Plate must be completed, signed and returned with appropriate fees.
• There is an initial fee of $15 to receive the Veterans’ Number plates, with an annual fee thereafter of $10.
• The plate will be limited to only five (5) characters (to include spaces) if requesting a Special Request Plate. Special Request plate fee will apply. https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/plateSearch.htm
SFN 53612 Personalized/Special Plate Request must be completed when requesting personalized plates.

72. Volunteer Emergency Responder License Plate

• Plate effective date December 6, 2018
• For a volunteer to qualify for this plate, they must have volunteered for a continuous period exceeding 2 years and who receives an annual compensation of less than ten thousand dollars.
• The plate is red with white lettering.
• The first three numbers must be the last three digits of the zip code where the individual volunteers. The last three characters are of the volunteer’s choosing. The volunteer can choose up to three characters.
• The registration for these plates will expire December 31 of each year.
SFN 61572 Application for Volunteer Emergency Responder Plate must be completed for the applicant to be eligible for these plates.
a. Applicant must provide signatures from their fire chief or emergency responder squad leader plus approval from ND Firefighters Association or the Department of Health, Division of Emergency Medical Systems
SFN 61572 Application for Volunteer Emergency Responder Plate will be required annually at renewal for recertification.

73. How are the registration fees determined for each vehicle?

Registration fees are based on the year the vehicle is first registered and the weight of the vehicle.

74. Where do my vehicle registration fees go?

• 61.3% of the fees are distributed to the State Highway Fund.
• 22% of the fees are distributed to the Counties.
• 12.5% of the fees are distributed to the Cities.
• 2.7% of the fees are distributed to Townships.
• 1.5% of the fees are distributed to Public Transportation

75. How do I get replacement decals?

SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Motor Vehicle must be completed in full stating the reason for the replacements (lost, stolen, or mutilated), signed by the registered owner.
• Duplicate decal fee will apply.

76. What do I need in order to use the online registration renewal system?

You must have either your renewal invoice or your old registration card and a valid credit or debit card (Visa, MasterCard, or Discover).

77. I purchased a vehicle in North Dakota. How do I get it to my home state to register?

An out-of-state resident who purchases a vehicle in our state can obtain a Drive Out permit online at www.dot.nd.gov. The permit is valid for 30 days from date of issue, must be displayed in the window of the vehicle, and allows the individual to drive the vehicle from our state to their home of record state. Permit fee applies.

78. What vehicles are required to carry a liability insurance policy?

All vehicles with a current registration tag used on any public street, road, highway or off-highway are required to have a liability insurance policy in effect.

79. I was recently married. How do I change my name on my North Dakota title?

• Part 1 (Seller’s Assignment & Warranty of Title) must be signed and dated with owner(s) name as shown on the front of the title. Complete legal name and address of “buyer(s)” as it is to appear on the new title. Odometer information required on all motor vehicles less than ten (10) years old, with signature of “buyer(s)” and date.
• Part 3 (Purchaser’s Certification and Application) must be completed and signed by the new “buyer(s)” with the tax exemption and lienholder information, if applicable.
• Title transfer fee is $5.

80. I have recently formed a partnership or corporation how do I transfer my titles into that company name?

• Title transfers must be completed within 180 days from the effective date formed or incorporated. Title transfers submitted after the 180 days would be taxable on the fair market value of the vehicle. Vehicles transferred back to previous owner are exempt from tax.

• Part 1 (Seller’s Assignment & Warranty of Title) must be signed and dated by owner(s) as shown on the front of the title. Legal name and address of new owner (partnership or corporation) must be typed or printed legibly. Odometer information required on all motor vehicles less than ten (10) years old, with buyer's signature, printed name, and date.

• Part 3 (Purchaser’s Certification and Application) must be completed and signed by new owner with tax exemption and lienholder information, if applicable and date formed or incorporated.

• If vehicle is less than nine (9) years old SFN 18609 Damage Disclosure Statement must be completed by the seller.
• Title transfer fee $5.

81. I recently registered my vehicle in North Dakota and then moved out of state. Can I get a refund on the unused portion of my registration?

If you have moved out-of-state there is no refund on the unused portion of registration paid to North Dakota.

82. I moved out of state and just received my renewal. What should I do?

If you have moved out of state and have titled and licensed your vehicle in that state you may disregard and destroy the renewal notice received from our office.

83. I have recently dissolved my partnership or corporation. How do I transfer my titles out of that company name?

• Title transfers must be completed within 180 days from the effective date of the dissolution of the partnership or corporation. Title transfers submitted after the 180 days would be taxable on the fair market value of the vehicle.
• Part 1 (Seller’s Assignment & Warranty of Title) must be signed and dated by owner(s) as shown on the front of the title. Legal name and address of new owner (buyer) must be typed or printed legibly. Odometer information required on all motor vehicles less than ten (10) years old, with buyer’s signature, printed name, and date.
• Part 3 (Purchaser’s Certification and Application) must be completed and signed by new owner with tax exemption and lienholder information, if applicable and date of dissolution.
• If vehicle is less than nine (9) years old SFN 18609 Damage Disclosure Statement must be completed by the seller.
• Title transfer fee $5.

84. How do I obtain a North Dakota title for a homemade trailer?

85. Didn't find your question?

Click for more answers at Vehicle Questions and Answers

86. How do I title a vehicle I own that does not have a title?

Please see linked PDF for full instructions: Untitled Vehicle Instructions.