
UNTITLED VEHICLES 
37-12-04-01 (NDAC) 

ALL DOCUMENTS REQUIRE ORIGINAL SIGNATURES 
10/1/2020 

 

 

Untitled Vehicles will be reviewed by the Bismarck Central Office, the title will be mailed once the review 
process is complete. 

 
If a North Dakota resident owns a vehicle for which the resident is unable to obtain a proper certificate of title, 
the Motor Vehicle Division will use the following forms and procedures to determine ownership of a vehicle 
and issue a certificate of title. 

 
1) Complete a NMVTIS Vehicle History Check to verify no certificate of title or ownership record exists in 

exists in this database. 
 

a. A NMVTIS Vehicle History Check may be purchased through an approved provider at 
www.vehiclehistory.gov. 

 

b. If a certificate of title or ownership record is found in any state, the Untitled Vehicle process cannot 
be completed. 
 ** A records search is also conducted by the Motor Vehicle Division during 
processing of Untitled Vehicle applications; additional records may be found at that 
time. *** 

 
c.   If a North Dakota record exists and information to obtain a duplicate title or title transfer is needed, a 

Request for Vehicle Information form SFN 51269 will need to be filled out, with the number eleven 
exception initialed, and submitted with payment of the $3 fee.  The Administrative Rules Chapter 37-
12-04-01(4) is the law that allows the release of this information.  This should be notated on the 
required document with detailed explanation outlining the qualifications for access under this exception 
that must be attached to the SFN 51269 form.   

 
2) Upon receipt of the following, North Dakota Motor Vehicle will start the title process. All Untitled Vehicles 

will be reviewed. A record check of all states will be conducted to verify no certificate of title or ownership 
record exists, as well as a check of the National Crime Information Center, before issuing a North Dakota 
Certificate of Title. 

 
All forms must be completed in full, printed or typed, with legible information and signed as 
indicated. Fillable PDF forms are available online at dot.nd.gov under Forms. 

 

a. Results of the NMVTIS Vehicle History Check. 
 

b. Photo of the VIN plate.  
 

c. A notarized SFN 2888 Seller’s Certificate and Vehicle Bill of Sale. 
 

i. Seller should provide the reason why a title cannot be furnished. 
 

d. A Notarized SFN 2903 Vehicle Statement of Ownership. 
 

i. You must be detailed in your explanation regarding how you came into possession of this vehicle 
without a title. 

http://www.vehiclehistory.gov/
http://www.vehiclehistory.gov/
https://www.dot.nd.gov/
http://www.dot.nd.gov/dotnet2/view/forms.aspx?category=yes%23title&registration
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN02888.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02903.pdf
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e. A VIN inspection utilizing SFN 2486 Certificate of Vehicle Inspection. 

 

i. Inspection must be completed by a Qualified Business registered with the North Dakota Secretary 
of State, which offers motor vehicle repairs to the public, per NDCC 39-05-20.2. 

 
ii. You must include a copy of the current North Dakota Secretary of State filing for the 

inspection facility, which can be obtained directly from the Secretary of State’s website. 
 

f. SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Vehicle. 
 

g. $5 title fee, $1.50 Abandoned Vehicle Disposal Fee and 5% Motor Vehicle Excise Tax. 
 

i. Tax is calculated based on the current Fair Market Value of the Vehicle.  Dealer appraisal may be 
requested.  

 
h. Registration Fees. 

 
i. SFN 60689 Statement of Fact is required if the vehicle will not be registered. 

 

ii. A vehicle inspection utilizing SFN 2486 Certificate of Vehicle Inspection may be required prior 
to registration if the vehicle is rebuilt, modified, antique or homemade. 

 
i. Current photos of the front, side, and rear of the vehicle. 

 
j. Proof of North Dakota residency. 

 
i. Individuals must provide a North Dakota Driver’s License/State ID number. 

 
ii. Businesses must provide a current North Dakota Secretary of State filing indicating the State of 

Origin as North Dakota which can be obtained directly from the Secretary of State’s website. 
 

k. Any other information required by the department per NDCC 39-05-05. 

https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02486.pdf
https://firststop.sos.nd.gov/search/business
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02872.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn60689.pdf
https://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn02486.pdf
https://firststop.sos.nd.gov/search/business

