
Temporary License & Drive-Out Permits 
 
 
I am from out-of-state working in North Dakota.  How do I get a permit to work in your 
state? 
Temporary license may be purchased by non-residents for a period of 6 or 12 months and must be 
displayed on the vehicle rear window on driver’s side visible to law enforcement. Permits are 
available online, from law enforcement, or any Motor Vehicle Division office. Vehicle must also 
display valid registration and license plate from any jurisdiction and be properly insured.  
 
Register on-line at: www.dot.nd.gov and click on the Non-Resident Temporary Registration link or click 
on: https://secure.apps.state.nd.us/dot/mv/mvrenewal/tempRegWelcome.htm 
 
 
What are the fees for a temporary license? 

1.   Passenger, pickups, vans, and trucks not exceeding 20,000 lbs are furnished a permit 
upon payment of the following fees: $60 for 6 months or $120 for 12 months, plus a $10 
permit fee. 

 
2.   Trucks or combinations of trucks and trailers requiring a registered gross weight of 
22,000 lbs or greater are furnished a permit upon payment of the following fees, plus a 
$10 permit fee: 

 
Weight                              Six - Month Fee      Twelve - Month Fee 
20,001 - 42,000                         $220                            $440 
42,001 - 62,000                         $380                            $760 
62,001 - 82,000                         $530                            $1,060 
82,001 - 105,500                       $900                            $1,800 

 
3.   Motorcycles are furnished a permit upon payment of $30 for 6 months, or $60 for 12 
months, plus a $10 permit fee. 

 
4.   Out-of-state snowmobiles may be registered online through Parks & Rec for $15. Click on 
one of the following links: 

a.   http://www.parkrec.nd.gov/  or 
b.    https://secure.apps.nd.gov/PNR/Snowmobile/ 

 
 
I purchased a vehicle in North Dakota.  How do I get it to my home state to register? 
An out-of-state resident who purchases a vehicle in our state can obtain a Drive Out permit from 
any Motor Vehicle Division office.  The permit is valid for 30 days from date of issue, must be 
displayed in the window of the vehicle, and allows the individual to drive the vehicle from our 
state to their home of record state. The fee is $5. 
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