Seasonal CDL License or Agri-Business License
All areas on the application must be fully completed including applicant signature, employer signature and notary signature/stamp.
At any ND Drivers License Site you may pick up an application for a North Dakota Seasonal License.
- Be 18 years or older
- Have a valid North Dakota driver’s license for the entire duration of the 90 or 180-Day Seasonal License. If the applicant’s license will expire they will need to renew the license before a 90 or 180-Day Seasonal License can be processed.
- Be currently licensed in North Dakota for one or more years
- Have a current status of D or DM. It is okay for the applicant to have a CDL permit
- Have a clean driving record for the past 24 months.
- Not be suspended, revoked or cancelled in any other State
- Not have had multiple licenses
- Not have been convicted of any serious traffic violations or any disqualifying offenses
- Not have been convicted for any accident related traffic law violations and no record of at-fault accidents
Applicant must meet all Federal Medical Requirements in 49 CFR 391. Some of the medical conditions which may disqualify an individual are:
- Heart condition
- Hearing impairment
- Worse than 20/40 visual acuity in either eye
- Diabetes controlled with insulin
- Loss of or loss of use of a limb
- Seizure disorder requiring anti-seizure medication
- Other existing medical conditions may require clearance by a Medical Examiner prior to issuance of a Seasonal License
Applicant must meet full Commercial Visual Requirements:
- Visual Acuity must be corrected to 20/40 or better in each eye and both eyes together
- Field of Vision must be at least 70 degrees Temporal in each eye.
- Must have the ability to distinguish the colors red, green, and amber
The fee for a Seasonal License is $15.
Seasonal CDL Restrictions
- May operate Class B or C vehicle groups within 150 miles from place of business or farm being served
- May transport farm agricultural products, farm machinery, and supplies
- Limited to transporting the following placarded hazardous materials
- Diesel fuel of 1,000 gallons or less
- Liquid fertilizer in vehicles with a total capacity of 3,000 gallons or less
- Solid fertilizers that are not mixed with any organic substance
- Only one 180-day or two 90-day licenses will be issued in a 12 month period