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•	 Always plan ahead. If you wait until you start drinking to 
figure out how you’ll get home, it’s too late. 

•	 Designate a sober driver, someone who will not drink 
alcohol that night, to drive you home. Next time you can 
return the favor.

•	 Choose alcohol-free versions of your favorite drinks.
•	 Always eat food when you are drinking alcohol. 
•	 Make arrangements to stay at someone’s house within 
walking distance of the place you are drinking.

•	 Take a taxi home or call a friend.
•	 Many people are concerned about leaving their car in a 
parking lot overnight. It is better to arrive home safely than 
risk driving under the influence.

•	 Buzzed driving is drunk driving. However, even if you don’t 
feel buzzed, you may still test over the legal limit.

•	 You may still be under the influence the morning after a 
night of drinking. No kidding! You can be cited for DUI/ APC 
the next morning if you test over the legal limit.

•	 Always drive sober and alert.

Ten Tips to Save Your Life

Buckle up, every trip, every time.
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The North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) provides this booklet solely 
as a reference and as a public service. It is not intended as legal advice or a substitute 
for legal advice. Individual circumstances may vary; it is recommended that interested 
individuals should always consult a professional at NDDOT and seek legal counsel. 
The information in this booklet is subject to change. While every effort is made to 
ensure the accuracy of this information, the NDDOT is not responsible for any errors 
or omission which may occur due to printing or other causes. 

The Price You’ll Pay...DUI in North Dakota

A DUI (Driving Under the Influence) or APC (Actual Physical 
Control) citation is a serious offense. If convicted, one can expect 
that a DUI could cost up to $10,000. This does not account for lost 
opportunity costs, loss of employment, loss of freedom, and the 
potential loss of life.

Every year, 50-60 people die in alcohol-related crashes in North 
Dakota. This is a statistic that should be zero. These deaths are 
100 percent preventable. This booklet has been prepared to 
inform you about the administrative issues you will face if cited for 
a DUI or APC. 

Details regarding Commercial Drivers License privileges are 
beyond the scope of this book. Contact NDDOT Information at 
701.328.4353 with questions.
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Important Definitions

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you drive 
while having an alcohol content of .08% or greater, the law says you 
are driving while under the influence of alcohol. If you are under 21, 
the zero tolerance law puts the alcohol content limit at .02%. If you 
are operating a commercial motor vehicle, the CDL law puts the 
alcohol content limit at .04%.

Actual Physical Control (APC)
Being in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the 
influence of alcohol or drugs. Actual Physical Control means that 
you are in or near a vehicle, and you have the potential of driving 
the vehicle. If you are in actual physical control of a motor vehicle 
while having an alcohol content of .08% or greater, the law says you 
are in actual physical control while under the influence of alcohol. 
If you are under 21, the zero tolerance law puts the alcohol content 
limit at .02%. If you are operating a commercial motor vehicle, the 
CDL law puts the alcohol content limit at .04%.

Report and Notice Under Chapter 39-20 or 39-06.2 Form
This form has your 25-day driving permit on the front, and is on a 
heavy sheet of paper. You will find important information about your 
DUI/APC arrest on both sides. Read all of the information carefully 
on both sides. The Report and Notice form is issued to you by a law 
enforcement officer.  

25-day Driving Permit
About half-way down the front side of the Report and Notice 
Under Chapter 39-20 or 39-06.2 Form, you will see a section titled 
“Temporary Operator’s Permit.” If it is marked “VALID,” you are 
allowed to drive for 25 days from the date it was issued. If it is 
marked “NOT VALID,” you do not have driving privileges.

SR-22 Filing
This is a form filed by your auto insurance company with the North 
Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT). You must contact 
your auto insurer so they file the paperwork. See page 11 for more 
information. 

The Process After a DUI/APC

There are two different processes that take place after a DUI/APC 
arrest: the Administrative Process and the Criminal Court Process. 

Administrative Process
NDDOT process that deals with your driving privileges.

Criminal Court Process
The criminal court process deals with criminal charges. If you are 
convicted of DUI/APC in criminal court, the court can sentence 
you to pay fines and fees, and can sentence you to serve time	
in jail. 

The following pages cover the administrative process which 
involves your license at the North Dakota Department of 
Transportation. 

In addition to the administrative process, you will also need to go 
through the criminal court process, which is outside the scope of 
this booklet. You may want to visit with an attorney about this.  
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Consequences

Situation 1: You took an Alcohol Content (AC) test and were 
over the legal limit.

Option 1: You do not request a hearing. The suspension period 
will begin after 25 days as stated on the Report and Notice form. 

Option 2: You may request a hearing from the North Dakota 
Department of Transportation within ten days. See the front side 
of your Report and Notice form for details. The hearing will take 
place within 30 days of the date you were issued your 25-day 
permit. That hearing will either dismiss the suspension or suspend 
your license. 

Request Hearing	
Within 10 Days	

No Hearing	
Requested

Driver Notified of	
Hearing Date

Hearing Conducted	
Within 30 days

Dismissed

Driver Retains	
Driving Privileges

License Suspended	

$100	
Reinstatement Fee

Alcohol Content Over Legal Limit

License 
Suspended

$100	
Reinstatement Fee

Report and Notice Form Issued by Law Enforcement
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Consequences

Suspension Periods for DUI

   1st offense	
91 days suspended if alcohol content is .08%* - .17%.	
180 days suspended if .18% or greater.

   2nd offense within 5 years	
365 days suspended if alcohol content is .08%* - .17%.	
2 years if alcohol content is .18% or greater.

   3rd offense or greater within 5 years	
2 years suspended if alcohol content is .08%* - .17%.	
3 years if alcohol content is .18% or greater. 

  See page 7 for additional consequences.

*	The lower limit of AC is .02% for those under 21 years.
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Consequences

Situation 2: You refused to take an Alcohol Content (AC) test 
or drug screening. 

Option 1: You do not request a hearing. Your license will be 
revoked after 25 days as stated on the Report and Notice form.     

Option 2: You may request a hearing from the North Dakota 
Department of Transportation within ten days. See the front side 
of Report and Notice form for details. Your hearing will take place 
within 30 days of your request. That hearing will either dismiss the 
revocation or revoke your license.

Driver Refuses Test for AC

Request Hearing	
Within 10 Days	

No Hearing	
Requested

Driver Notified of	
Hearing Date

Hearing Conducted	
Within 30 days

Dismissed

Driver Retains	
Driving Privileges

$100 Reinstatement Fee	

License Revoked

Report and Notice Form Issued by Law Enforcement

Retake Drivers Exams

SR-22 High-Risk 
Insurance Filing	

$100 Reinstatement Fee	

Retake Drivers Exams

SR-22 High-Risk 
Insurance Filing	

License	
Revoked
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Consequences

Revocation Periods for Refusing

   1st offense	
1 year license revoked

   2nd offense within 5 years	
3 years license revoked

   3rd offense or greater within 5 years	
4 years license revoked

Additional Consequences for Suspension or Revocation

Reinstatement Fee: You will be required to pay $100 
reinstatement fee if your license is suspended or revoked. 

Retaking examinations: If your license if revoked, you must 
complete a new license 
application, retake and 
pass your written driver’s 
test and the behind the 
wheel road test. 

Alcohol evaluation and 
treatment: If you are 
convicted in court, you will 
be required to undergo 
an alcohol evaluation. If 
your evaluator states that you require treatment, you will need to 
complete treatment in order to get your license back. See page 10 
for more information.

SR22 Filing: If you are convicted in court, you will be required to 
have your insurance company file an SR22 form. See Insurance 
Filing on page 11.

  See additional consequences below.
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Suspension and Revocation 

What is the difference between being suspended and being 
revoked?

If your license is suspended, you will get it back after the 
suspension period and after paying the $100 reinstatement fee.  If 
you are convicted in criminal court of DUI or APC, then you must 
meet additional requirements before getting your license back. 
You will not be required to take the written test and driving test to 
get your license back unless there are other reasons that require 
you to take the tests.

If your license is revoked, 
your license is lost until the 
revocation period is over, 
and you meet all other 
requirements. You must 
take and pass the written 
exam and behind the wheel 
driving exam as though you 
never had a license.

What do I need to do to have my license reinstated?

Your driving privileges will be reinstated after the end of the 
suspension or revocation period and after you complete all 
requirements for reinstatement. At a minimum:

1.	 You must pay a $100 reinstatement fee.
2.	 If your license was revoked for refusal, you must take and pass 

the written and driving tests. 
3.	 If convicted in court, you must have your insurance company 

file the SR22 form and you must complete the court-ordered 
alcohol evaluation and treatment. See page 11 for more 
information on the SR22 form.

Can I drive any type of motor vehicle while my license is 
suspended?

No.  
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Suspension and Revocation

Can my child who has a driving permit drive me around?

If your child is driving on an instruction permit and your license is 
suspended or revoked, you cannot be the supervising adult in the 
vehicle with him or her. The supervising adult must be a licensed 
driver.

I have a Commercial Drivers License. Will I lose that 
privilege?

Yes. If your driving privileges are suspended or revoked, you will 
lose your CDL for at least one year. You may lose your CDL for life.

What is an Order of Suspension?

If you are convicted in criminal court, the Drivers License Division 
will mail an Order of Suspension to the address on your driving 
record. This order states that a conviction is on your record, and 
lists the suspension period and other information.

If you have not updated your address with the North Dakota 
Department of Transportation, you will not receive the Order of 
Suspension. However, by law, your suspension is still in effect and 
you must meet all of the requirements stated in order to reinstate	
your license.	
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Work Permits (Temporary Restricted Licenses)

If your driving privileges are revoked, you will not be eligible for a 
work permit.

If your driving privilege is suspended, you may qualify for a work 
permit if this is your first alcohol offense in five years and you 
have completed the first 30 days of your suspension. 

Your application for a work permit will include a review of your 
driving record. If your driving record shows too many traffic 
violations or convictions, you will not receive a work permit.

An application form for a work permit can be printed from 
www.dot.nd.gov or mailed to you upon request. See the contact 
information at the end of this booklet.

Alcohol Evaluation and Treatment

If you are convicted of Driving Under the Influence or Actual 
Physical Control in criminal court, you will be required to complete 
an alcohol evaluation as part of the requirements for getting 
your license back. If the evaluator recommends treatment, you 
will need to enroll in treatment. If you quit treatment before it 
is completed, you will not meet one of the requirements for 
reinstatement and your license will remain suspended or revoked.

Where can I find a list of alcohol treatment providers?

You may go to www.findtreatment.samhsa.gov or www.nd.gov/
dhs/providers for a list, contact a local human service center, or 
contact your medical doctor for a recommendation. 

How often do I need an alcohol evaluation?

If you have had an alcohol evaluation in the past six months, you 
will not need another evaluation.
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Insurance Filing

If you are convicted in criminal court of Driving Under the Influence 
or Actual Physical Contol, you are required to have an SR-22 
Form on file with the Drivers License Division. Contact your car 
insurance agent to submit the form. Your agent will send the form 
to the Drivers License Division. 

How long do I need to keep the SR-22 Form on file with the 
Drivers License Division?

You must keep the form on file for one year after your driving 
privileges are reinstated, or one year from the date you were 
issued a work permit (temporary restricted license). 

If my car insurance is cancelled, what can I do then?

You must maintain your insurance or provide a $25,000 security 
deposit with the Bank of North 
Dakota. Contact the Drivers 
License Division if you wish to 
do this.

If you cancel your insurance, 
your insurance company will 
notify us of the cancellation. 
If you do not have a security 
deposit at the time of 
cancellation, your driving 
privileges will be suspended 
again for “failure to maintain 
proof of insurance.” You will 
lose your driving privileges 
until you have a new SR-22 
Form on file with the Drivers 
License Division, and pay a 
$50 fee. 

If you choose to place a $25,000 security deposit, it must be kept 
on file at the bank for one year.

www.nd.gov/dhs/providers
www.nd.gov/dhs/providers
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Driving Records

If you would like a copy of your driving record, please mail a 
request that includes your complete name, mailing address, 
and driver’s license number to the address listed under Contact 
Information. You must also include a $3 fee. Or, you may 
fax your information along with a current credit card number, 
expiration date, and credit card verification to 701.328.2435. 

A limited driving record can be obtained online at www.dot.
nd.gov/public/licensing.htm. However, this will not include your 
current point total, violations or convictions that are more than 
three years old, violations that have been assigned less than 
three points, or crash information.

Can my insurance company see my driving record?

Yes, if your insurance 
company does a record 
check, it will see violations 
within the last three years 
with a point total of three 
or more.

How long will my alcohol 
offense stay on my 
driving record?

It will stay on the part of 
your driving record that 
is available to the public 
for three years and it 
will stay on the part of 
the driving record that is 
available to courts and 
law enforcement for	
seven years.

Contact Information
It is important to keep your mailing address updated with 
the Drivers License Division. You may go to	
www.dot.nd.gov and select Drivers License Services to 
change your address online or call 701.328.4353.

The contact information for the Drivers License Division is:

Drivers License Division	
608 East Boulevard Avenue	

Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0700	
Phone: 701.328.2604	
Fax: 701.328.2435	

Web site: www.dot.nd.gov

www.dot.nd.gov/public/licensing.htm
www.dot.nd.gov/public/licensing.htm
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